Pompeii Resources in University of Maryland Libraries

Some examples of subject headings for this topic are: 

• Herculaneum (Extinct city)
• House of the Faun (Pompeii)
• Inscriptions, Latin -- Italy -- Pompeii (Extinct city)
• Pompeii (Extinct city)
• Pompeii (Extinct city) -- Antiquities
• Pompeii (Extinct city) -- Description and Travel
• Pompeii (Extinct city) -- Pictorial works
• Tombs -- Italy -- Pompeii
• Villa of the Mysteries (Pompeii)
  

Enter a search term below to find an item in the catalog:

English Language Books

20th Century Publications

• Pompeii and Herculaneum, the glory and the grief. Text by Marcel Brion. Photos by Edwin Smith. Translated by John Rosenberg. - Brion, Marcel, 1895-1984 
  Call Number: DG70.P7 B74
  This book focuses on what life was like in Pompeii and Herculaneum before the eruption in 79 A.D. This book has many full page color photographs of the art and artifacts that have been found at these ancient cities. There is also a fold out map of the site of Pompeii.

• Pompeii and the region destroyed by Vesuvius in A.D.79 [by] Stanley A. Jashemski. Text and notes by Wilhelmina F. Jashemski. - Jashemski, Stanley A. 
  Call Number: DG70.P7 J28
  This book contains text by Wilhelmina Jashemski and photographs by her husband Stanley Jashemski. Photographs include 30 images of the Pompeii area, including geography, art, architecture, remains of the city, and the modern city of Pompeii. Inscription inside of book states: "To the Maryland Room University of Maryland Library with much appreciation Wilhelmina Jashemski."
•  
• Letters from Pompeii - Jashemski, Whilhelmina Mary Femster, 1910- 
  Call Number: DG70.P7 J3
  This book's intended audience is set towards a more juvenile crowd, but young and old alike will find this book interesting and informative. Written in an epistolary style, the book is comprised of the letters Wilhelmina and Stanley Jashemski wrote to their nieces and nephews about their travels and their stay in Pompeii. The book is filled with lovely illustrations by M. Sasek, as well as building plans and photographic prints. Inscription in book reads: "To the University of Maryland Library From Wilhelmina F. Jashemski."

• A companion to the study of Pompeii and Herculaneum, by A.W. Van Buren. - Van Buren, Albert W. (Albert William), b. 1878 
  Call Number: DG70.P7 V3
  This pamphlet was published in 1933 by the American Academy in Rome and was intended to give their students a portable compendium of the documentary evidence for the interpretation of the monuments for their use while on the ground. This guide also references to further documentation and recent publications (at the time). Much of this work is in Greek and Latin, with descriptions of events by scholars such as Cicero, Seneca, Livy, and Tacitus.

• Pompeii, its life and art, tr. into English by Francis W. Kelsey ... with numerous illustrations from original drawings and photographs. - Mau, August, 1840-1909 
  Call Number: DG70.P7M5 1902
  This 557 page second edition book is divided into six parts, all containing multiple illustrations and photographs of Pompeii. The art of Pompeii is discussed at length, as well as the architecture that houses it. Also included is a fold out map of the excavated site of Pompeii (as of 1902), along with a key for reading it.
•  

19th Century Publications

• Pompeii. Its history, buildings, and antiquities. An account of the destruction of the city, with a full description of the remains, and of the recent excavations, and also an itinerary for visitors. Edited by Thomas H. Dyer, LL. D. Illustrated with nearl - Dyer, Thomas Henry, 1804-1888 
  Call Number: DG70.P7 D9 1875
  This book contains multiple illustrations of the art, architecture, and various scenes of Pompeii, as well as complementary text. There are also multiple fold out plans and illustrations.
•  
• Pompeiana: the topography, edifices, and ornaments of Pompeii - Gell, William, Sir 1777-1836 
  Call Number: DG70.P7G3 1819
  There are 23 prints in this book, with large descriptions accompanying them. The illustrated prints (some fold out) include scenes of Pompeii, art, architecture, and plans of buildings.
•  
• Pompeiana: the topography, edifices and ornaments of Pompeii, the result of excavations since 1819 - Gell, William, Sir 1777-1836 
  Call Number: DG70.P7G4 1832
  There are 88 prints in this book, with large descriptions accompanying them. The illustrated prints include scenes of Pompeii, art, architecture, and plans of buildings. Some prints in color.
•  
• Facts about Pompei: its masons’ marks, town walls, houses, and portraits... By H. P. FitzGerald Marriott. - Marriott, H.P. FitzGerald 
  Call Number: DG70.P7M3
  There are 15 photographic prints of art that was recovered from Pompeii, as well as photos of the remains of the city. Large amounts of explanatory text accompany the images. Also included is a section on workmen’s marks in Pompeian stones that have been found, and are illustrated with a short description of where they were found.
•  
• Views of Pompeii drawn on stone by J.D. Harding; after drawings by William Light ... - Light, William, 1785?-1839 
  Call Number: DG70.P7 L48 1828
  25 large prints of various subject matter on Pompeii, as well as descriptions of the prints, are included in this book. There is also a large print of the site of Pompeii.
•  
• Pompeii, its life and art, by August Mau ... Tr. into English by Francis W. Kelsey - Mau, August, 1840-1909 
  Call Number: DG70.P7M48
  This 501 page first edition book is divided into six parts, all containing multiple illustrations and photographs of Pompeii. The art of Pompeii is discussed at length, as well as the architecture that houses it. Also included is a fold out map of the excavated site of Pompeii (as of 1899), along with a key for reading it.
•  

Foreign Language Books

20th Century Publications

• Pompéi, les nouvelles fouilles (maisons et habitants) et l’amphithéâtre. Ouvrage illustré de 72 figures; traduit par mlle. J. Chevalier-Lavaure ... - Della Corte, Matteo 
  Call Number: DG70.P7 D4414 1935
  This French book contains multiple photographic prints of the art, artifacts, and architecture of Pompeii. Also included are plans of the excavated site of Pompeii as of 1935.

• Gebäudeverzeichnis und Stadtplan der antiken Stadt Pompeji / herausgegeben von Liselotte Eschebach ; Stadtplan von Jürgen Müller-Trollius ; unter Verwendung des Nachlasses von Hans Eschebach. 
  Call Number: DG70.P7 G42 1993
  This German book is a building directory of the ancient city of Pompeii. Included is a large fold out 1:1000 scale plan of the buildings of Pompeii.
•  
• Pompei / Efisio giglio-Tos. 
  Call Number: DG70.P7 G5
  This large Italian book contains 87 pages of text, followed by 50 large illustrated color prints depicting the architecture, art, and remains of Pompeii.

• Le insulae 3 E 4 della Regio VI di Pompei : un’analisi storico-urbanistica / Francesco Carocci ... [et al.] 
  Call Number: DG70.P7I5 1990
  The first volume of this French Italian book contains a large amount of text on Pompeii. Separate from the text are 60 pages of photographic prints of the remains of Pompeii, including architecture and art of the site. The second volume includes multiple print illustrations, and plans of buildings and sections of the ancient city.

• Ricerche a Pompei : l’insula 5 della regio VI dalle origini al 79 d.C. 
  Call Number: DG70.P7 R525 1984
  The first volume of this Italian books focuses on the research that has been done on the city of Pompeii, up to 1984. The second volume includes color and black and white photographs of excavated sites, a visual catalog (illustrations and photographs) of artifacts that have been found in Pompeii, and color photographs of broken pieces of art, pottery, and amphora.

• Pompei alla luce degli scavi nuovi di Via dell’Abbondanza (anni 1910-1923) - Spinazzola, Vittorio 
  Call Number: N5770.S65
  The first and second volume of this Italian book is made up of over 1,000 pages on the subject of Pompeii. There are many photographs and illustrations of the art, architecture, and artifacts of this ancient city. Multiple fold out plans of the city and other buildings are found throughout both volumes. 96 20 inch color and black and white prints are included in the portfolio. The prints include photographs and illustrations of art, architecture, excavation, and artifacts of Pompeii.
•  
• La villa dei misteri / Amedeo Maiuri. - Maiuri, Amedeo, 1886-1963. 
  Call Number: N5771 .M48 1947
  This Italian book is made up of text that focuses on the Villa of the Mysteries. There are many illustrations found, including black and white photographs of the remains and artifacts, print illustrations of the art and architecture, and plans of the Villa of the Mysteries.  A separate book contains 19 vivid color plates of some of the frescoes found in the Villa of the Mysteries.
•  
• La Villa dei misteri - Maiuri, Amedeo, 1886-1963 
  Call Number: N5771 .M48 1960
  This book contains 18 large vivid color plates of some of the frescoes found at the Villa of the Mysteries near Pompeii. A paperback book is also included that contains text in Italian on this villa, as well as black and white photographs and illustrations.
•  
• I mosaici della Casa del fauno a Pompei / di Fausto Zevi. - Zevi, Fausto 
  Call Number: NA3770 .Z49 1998
  This book is in Italian in one column with an English translation in a second column on the same page. Images include black and white photographs of art found in the site of Pompeii and architectural remains, illustrative prints of art and architecture, and a plan of the House of the Faun.
•  

19th Century Publications

• Description des tombeaux qui ont été découverts à Pompei̇ dans l’anée 1812 / par A.L. Millin. - Millin, A.L. (Aubin Louis), 1759-1818 
  Call Number: DG70.P75 M5
  This book from 1813 focuses on some of the tombs located in the Pompeii area. Included are multiple fold-out illustrations of the tombs, as well as the artwork that accompany them.
•  
• Pompeia; traté pittoresque, historique, et géométrique. Ouvrage dessiné sur les lieux dans les années 1824 au 1827. Gravé et publié par P.F. - Fumagalli, Paolo 
  Call Number: DG70.P7 F914
  This Italian book contains mostly large prints of scenes from Pompeii, art, architecture, and artifacts recovered.
•  
• Wanderungen durch Pompeii, von Ludwig Goro von Agyagfalva - Goro von Agyagfalva, Ludwig. 
  Call Number: DG70.P7 G6
  This German book contains mostly text, with some print illustrations at the end.
•  
• Plan de Pompéi, et remarques sur ses édifices, par le chanoine de Jorio. - Jorio, Andrea de, 1769-1851 
  Call Number: DG70.P7 J82
  This French book contains mostly text. There are a few illustrated prints at the end of the book, along with a large color fold out map of the site of Pompeii from 1834.
•  
• Les ruines de Pompéi / par F. Mazois - Mazois, François, 1783-1826 
  Call Number: DG70.P7 M39 1824
  There are four very large volumes, all of which contain French text and black and white illustrations depicting the art, architecture, and remains of Pompeii. Multiple plans of sites are also included.
•  
• Mahlerisch-historisch-geographische Darstellung von Pompeji : ein in den Jahren 1823, 1824 und 1825 aufgenommenes Werk / von Andreas Pizzala. - Pizzala, Andreas 
  Call Number: DG70.P7P5
  This German book contains a small amount of text at the beginning, but the bulk of the book showcases prints of Pompeii. Over 25 large prints exhibit the architecture and art of Pompeii.
•  
• Pompeji. Die neuesten Ausgrabungen von 1874 bis 1881. Für Kunst- und Alterthumsfreunde illustriert herausgegeben - Presuhn, Emil, 1844-1881 
  Call Number: DG70.P7 P7
  This large German book with gilded edges contains text, as well as many color illustrations of the art and architecture of Pompeii.
•  
• Viaggio a Pompei a Pesto e di ritorno ad Ercolano : colla illustrazione di tutti i monumenti finora scoverti, e colle piante delle tre distrutte città ... / dall’Ab. Domenico Romanelli. - Romanelli, Domenico, 1756-1819 
  Call Number: DG70.P7R7 1811
  This Italian book contains 248 pages of text on Pompeii. There is also a fold out illustration at the end of the book showing the topography of Pompeii and the area surrounding it.
•  
• Pompeji vor der Zerstoervng. Reconstrvctionen der Tempel vnd ihrer Vmgebvng entwurfen vnd avsgefvehrt von C. Weichardt. Das Werk enthaelt: zwoelf Foliotafeln nach Aqvarellen in Lichtdrvck. Ferner einhvndertvndfvenfzig Textillvstrationen in Zinko- vnd Avto - Weichardt, C. (Carl), 1846-1906 
  Call Number: DG70.P7 W4
  This large German book contains many black and white photographs and illustrations depicting the art, remains, artifacts, and architecture of Pompeii.