Skip to Main Content
University of Maryland Libraries Logo
RESEARCH GUIDES

Maryland Geography

A guide to resources about Maryland Geography.

The Maryland Collection

Based in Hornbake Library North, the Maryland Collection consists of books, maps, government documents, and other resources about the state of Maryland.

  • To find books in the Maryland collection, go to the catalog and click on the "Advanced Search" tab.
    • Under location, scroll down and select "Marylandia and Rare Books." Selecting this location will pull resources from the Maryland Collection only.
  • See more subject and research guides related to the Maryland Collection.
  • See maps in the Maryland collection.
  • See government publications in the Maryland collection, specifically those about geography and related disciplines.
  • See theses and dissertations about geography and related disciplines.

Finding Materials by Subject

One of the best ways to find resources in the catalog is to search by subject. The USMAI catalog allows you to search by subject using "subject beginning with" and "subject word/s." Below are some subject keywords about Maryland geography that will help you find materials:

Maryland -- Geography Maryland -- Census Environmental protection -- Maryland
Maryland -- Geology Maryland -- Population Sustainable development -- Maryland
Maryland -- Description and Travel Chesapeake Bay (Md. and Va.) Potomac River
Maryland -- Guidebooks Physical Geography -- Maryland Potomac River -- Description and Travel
Maryland -- Oceanography Natural Resources -- Maryland Population geography -- Maryland
Maryland -- Maps Forests and forestry -- Maryland Geography -- Maryland
Maryland -- Natural Resources Coastal Ecology -- Maryland Geology -- Maryland
Maryland -- Forestry Land use -- Maryland Geology -- Maryland -- Guidebooks
Maryland -- Mineral Resources  Environmental policy -- Maryland Fisheries -- Maryland

To find documents from MD state agencies whose work involves geography, search the catalog using the "author beginning with"/"author words" option:

Maryland Geological Survey.

Maryland. Dept. of the Environment

Maryland. Dept. of Natural Resources.

Maryland. Dept. of Planning.

Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission.

Search the catalog here (search results open in a new tab):

Books in the Maryland Collection

Below is a listing of books about Maryland geography that can be found in the Maryland Room.