Research Guides: Maryland Law Resources: Electronic Databases

Legal Databases

These databases are available to all at University of Maryland Libraries. Remote access is available to University of Maryland students and staff only, due to licensing agreements.

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides fulltext to news, business and legal information. Newspapers date back to the 1970's. Please Note: The Washington Post is no longer included in Nexis Uni.The National Newspapers Core database includes the Washington Post.
HeinOnline Legal
Full-text access to over 1100 law journals; U.S. treaties; the Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Reports; U.S. Code; U.S. Statutes at Large; U.S. Attorney General Opinions; Public Papers of the President and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents; and hundred of books considered to be legal classics.

Newspaper Databases

Daily Record
A daily Maryland legal newspaper published since 1888. Contains articles on legal topics, a calendar of events, court proceedings, etc.
Available in LexisNexis Academic.
Click Advanced Search > Type "Daily Record" in Source box > Choose "The Daily Record (Baltimore, MD)" > Apply > Enter keywords

Baltimore Sun (1990 to present)
Provides citations, abstracts and full-text articles from the newspaper from 1990 - the present.
Baltimore Sun, the (1837-1994) (Historical Newspapers)
Provides complete issues of The Baltimore Sun from 1837-1992. Search by keyword and more....
Washington Post (1987-)
Provides citations and full-text articles from the newspaper. Coverage of local, national, and international news. Particularly known for its political reporting. Full-text: January, 1987--present
Washington Post (1877-2003) (Historical Newspapers)
The Washington Post (1877-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. There are no ISBNs in this resource. Subjects are searchable, but do not appear in the records.
There are no ISBNs in this resource. Subjects are searchable, but do not appear in the records.