Research Guides: Latin American Studies: Statistics

Statisics from Organizations and Web Resources

Country Statistical Yearbooks
This guide, presented by the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries "provides links to country statistical yearbooks or similar collections (census, "facts and figures," etc.) for 145 countries worldwide."
Data.Census.gov
Population, Housing, Economic, and Geographic data from the Census Bureau. Also includes maps, statistics, fact sheets and other publications. Covering data 2010 - Present.
Directory of National Statistical Offices and Societies
Directory of worldwide international and national official statistical sgencies and national statistical societies
Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) Publications
ECLAC (also known as CEPAL) is one of the five regional commissions of the United Nations. ECLAC produces many statistical publications including the Statistical Yearbook, Economic Survey of Latin America and the Caribbean, and Social Panorama of Latin America
EdStats Education Statistics
Education statistics for countries around the world

EIU ViewPoint
A full-text country news daily that provides analysis and forecast information on worldwide politics, economics, business strategies & conditions and market trends in almost 200 countries.
International Financial Statistics
From the International Monetary Fund, includes full-text statistical data from 1996-present on exchange rates, international liquidity, international interest rates, prices, national accounts, and international transactions (including balance of payments and international investment positions. To download data, authorized users are required to create a free personal account
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR is the world's largest collection of digital social science data and cover topics from sociology, political science, economics, demography, education, child care, health care, crime,minority populations, aging, terrorism, substance abuse, mental health, public policy, and international relations. More information about accessing data in ICPSR can be found here: https://www.lib.umd.edu/data/icpsr.

Latin American Electronic Data Archive (LAEDA)
The LAEDA project seeks to collect, preserve, and provide access to data sets relevant to Latin American research, policy analysis, and teaching. The focus of the collection is on electoral data, household surveys, and data relevant to public policy evaluation.
MoxLAD- Montevideo-Oxford Latin American Economic History Database
Contains statistical series for a wide range of economic and social indicators covering twenty countries in the region for the period 1900-2000.
Online Sources of International Statistics
Many governments and international organizations are putting their statistical data on the Internet. The sources listed here are both UM only databases - noted with (UM) and free-of-charge web sites accessible to anyone.
PewResearch Hispanic Trends Project
The Pew Hispanic Center conducts and commissions studies on a wide range of topics including: demographics, economics, education, identity, immigration, labor, politics, remittances, and public opinion surveys.
World Bank: Publications and Documents
World Bank publishes thousands of free, documents, many which contain statistical data.

World Development Indicators Online
World Bank database provides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 200 countries and 18 country groups from 1960, where data are available. Data export options in Excel or ASCII.