Latin American Studies

Repository of archival documents relating to the history of the Spanish Empire in the Americas.

The Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Histórica is cooperative digital project of the Ministry of Culture and the Autonomous Regions and other memory institutions. The intention is not only to preserve, but also to offer access to bibliographic materials that are denoted for being unique copies and, therefore, not easily accessible.

Digital collection of Spanish-language texts and literature from Spain and Latin America.

The Latin American Microfilm Project (LAMP) at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) has digitized executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil’s national government between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the first Republic in 1930. Includes: Provincial Presidential Reports (1830–1930); Presidential Messages (1889–93); Ministerial Reports (1821–1960); and Almanak Laemmert (1844–89).

An ongoing effort to catalog the printed heritage of Latin America and the Philippines before 1851. As a bibliography, it provides a census of surviving works. As a union catalog, CCILA will list institutional holdings for those works and will endeavor to identify microfilm and digital surrogates.

Mist of the materials currently found in the Digital Archive were originally created around the turn of the 20th century and after, with some originating as recently as within the last year. Includes pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards. Many items were created by a wide array of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities.

Digitized collection of newspapers from the National Library of Spain. Eventually will include newspapers from their first issues through the early 20th century.

Links to major archives and collections in Latin American and Caribbean countries.

The portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web." Typically, this content is published by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies that are not controlled by commercial publishers.

LACLI is a warehouse of open access online resources with Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian content.

Harvard's digitized collections of more than 5,000 scarce and unique 19th century Latin American pamphlets.

An online guide to the Hispanic and Portuguese collections in the Library of Congress.

Houses a rich collection of rare books and manuscripts relating to Brazil, Central America Chile, Mexico, Peru and many other Latin American countries.

Portal to archives in Spain many of which include finding aids and digital content.

Provides access to publications, documents and other materials either produced by UNESCO or pertaining to UNESCO’s fields of competence

A collaborative project of the Library of Congress, UNESCO, and partners throughout the world. Includes significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. These cultural treasures include, but are not limited to, manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings.

Provides access to thousands of cataloged records of archival, manuscript, and special collection materials housed in OCLC member libraries.