Research Guides: Latin American Studies: Newspapers: Current and Historical

Latin American Newspapers

Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Use the CRL Catalog to identify Latin American newspapers held in their collections. Microfilm of these newspapers can be requested through interlibrary loan.

Google News Archive
Granma
Microfilm of the Cuban newspaper Granma, from 1965 to 1998, is held in the Severn Library storage facility. Use the Request button to have the volumes you need brought to McKeldin Library.
Granma Archives Index
A searchable database of articles published from 1965 to 1992 in Granma, the official daily newspaper of the Cuban Communist Party. Provides bibliographic references for the articles, including headlines, author, and date. Full-text of the articles in the archive is not available online but is available on microfilm in the Seven Library offsite storage facility.

Historical newspapers
Full-text of several historical American newspapers.
Latin American Newspapers Series 1
Collection of over 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere.
Latin American Newspapers Series 2
This collection, which is still in development, will add to the newspaper coverage of important countries such as Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, and Mexico; and extend the reach into countries not represented in Latin American Newspapers Series I such as Bolivia, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Belize.
New York Times 1980 - (ProQuest)
Full-text: January, 1999--present
Nexis Uni
Primary source of articles for U.S. national and regional newspapers. Also includes major world (non-English) publications.
Washington Post (1987-)
Full-text: January, 1987--present
World News Connection
Translations of foreign news from non-US media sources. Coverage is from November 1995 - December 31, 2013.