Latin American Studies

A-Z entries describe the myriad topics of Latino folklore.

Provides a concise presentation of key people, places and events that have played a significant role in Hispanic American history, primarily from 1492 to the present.

The Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education is embedded in several disciplines, including applied linguistics, politics, civil rights, historical events, and of course, classroom instruction. This work is a compendium of information on bilingual education and related topics in the United States with select international contributors providing global insight onto the field.

Contains more than 250 entries on important works and writers, movements, topics, and more.

U.S. culture has been profoundly impacted by contributions from Mexico and the rest of Central America, South America, and the Spanish Caribbean. These contributions and their adaptations in the United States are showcased in nearly 500 essay entries on noted people, festivities, items, terms, movements, sports, food, events, places, visual and performing arts, film, institutions, fashion, literature, organizations, the media, and much more.

Surveys the vast landscape of Latino literature from the colonial era to the present. Aiming to be as broad and inclusive as possible, the encyclopedia covers all of native North American Latino literature as well as that created by authors originating in virtually every country of Spanish America and Spain.

Coverage includes political maps and social timelines of present-day Central and South America

A comprehensive, historical encyclopedia that covers the full range of Latina economic, political, and cultural life in the United States.

.All 50 states and the District of Columbia are covered in individual chapters. A chronology starts the chapter, giving the main dates of Latino presence and important events and population figures. The historical overview is the core of the chapter. The cast of Latino presence and how they have made their livelihood along with relations with non-Latinos are discussed. A Notable Latinos section then provides a number of short biographical profiles.

Latinos are the fastest growing population in America today. This two-volume encyclopedia traces the history of Latinos in the United States from colonial times to the present, focusing on their impact on the nation in its historical development and current culture.

Offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information about the fastest growing minority population in the nation. The Encyclopedia draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Over 900 A to Z articles ranging in length from 500 words to 7,500 words address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.