Index to journal articles, books, articles in collections, and conference papers on multiple aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilization. Publications in European and other languages on multiple aspects of Greek and Roman antiquity, including literature and linguistics, history, philosophy, art, religion, music, and science, from the second millennium B.C.E. to the early Middle Ages (ca. 500-800 C.E.). Indexing from 1924-2015
The AAD System provides online access to material from more than 30 series of electronic records at the National Archives, including biographical, geographical, and organizational records.
This collection of African-American newspapers contains information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, and contains first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day pertaining to African Americans.
American military and civilian involvement in all major theatres of operations is represented. Covers operations in the Pacific, the D-Day landings in Europe, and the post-war occupation of Germany, through personal letters, diaries, photographs, artifacts and military records. 300 people share their memories of military life, prisoner of war camps, and the Home Front.
Based on the American Antiquarian Society's landmark collection, this full-color digital edition offers fully searchable facsimile images of approx. 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
This collection of digitized manuscripts, works of art, recent American Indian newspapers, rare books, photographs, and maps, drawn from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago, documents American Indian life over four centuries.
Derived from the archives of the Central Intelligence Agency. Searchable digital archive of primary source documents covering foreign perspectives of American racial issues in the mid-20th century. Also covers race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa and Asia.
Comprised of original manuscripts, rare printed books, maps, and ephemeral material from the Everett D Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library in Chicago. Allows scholars to explore tales of frontier life, Indigenous Peoples, vigilantes, and outlaws.
Provides access to bureau records documenting the administrations of eleven U.S. presidents, including an assortment of wire copy and coverage of press conferences, travel, speeches, campaigns and messages to Congress. Reflects major events of each presidency, including the Kennedy assassination, Watergate, the Nixon and Clinton impeachment hearings and the Cold War.
Provides coverage of the Vienna, Geneva, Warsaw, Bern, Berlin and Prague AP bureaus-as well as a special cross-bureau collection that covers conflicts and crises that affected the entire continent. Includes coverage of WWII and post-war reconstruction, Nazism and its aftermath, the Cold War, espionage, the arms and space races and the fall of the Soviet Union
Provides access to the records fromAssociated Press bureau in Jerusalem, Ankara, Beruit, and surrounding areas. Include news stories in the form of typescript carbons or wire copy . Provides exclusive coverage between 1967 and 2008.
Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 African American publications. Series 1: 1704-1877 Arrival in American through Reconstruction contains original reporting and contemporary perspectives on the lives of enslaved and newly freed people, Nat Turner’s revolt, Harriet Tubman’s heroism, the Underground Railroad, the Civil War and Reconstruction, and more. Includes editorials, obituaries, illustrations, and advertisements. Series 2:1878-1975 Jim Crow through the Civil Rights Movement provides insight into the efforts of civil rights leaders, as well as daily life during the Jim Crow era and the lasting contributions of African Americans in nearly every field imaginable. Includes reporting on the court decisions and policy changes that profoundly shaped the African American experience.Series 1-2: 1976-present.
British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
Correspondence and eyewitness accounts from the region’s key players documenting the Anglo-Afghan Wars. Includes the perspectives of Afghan and Persian rulers on foreign activities in the region, the interplay between China and Russia, and the expansion and fall of the Russian Empire.
Contains documents encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic. Collects resources from nine archives to give insight into the changes in China during this period. Includes key documents relating to the Chinese Maritime Customs service, original reports of the Amherst and Macartney embassies, letters relating to the first Opium War, survivors’ descriptions of the Boxer War, and collected diaries and personal photographs of the Bowra family.
For almost fifty years, the United States and the Soviet Union were engaged in the Cold War. This global stalemate emerged after both nations had been allies against Hitler during World War II. This collection of oral histories from the "behind-the-scenes" decision and policy makers answers a wide range of popular and academic questions surrounding this long period of political and military tension.
A collection of thousands of scanned documents and bibliographic records relating to English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the 16th and 18th centuries. The earliest English settlements in North America, encounters with Native Americans, piracy in the Atlantic and Caribbean, the trade in slaves and English conflicts with the Spanish and French are all covered in this database.
This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865. These newspapers "recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war. In their columns is to be found the only really correct and indicative 'map of busy life, its fluctuations and its vast concerns' in the South, during her days of darkness and of trial.
Complete volumes of all British Government Confidential Print for Africa, from the Colonial, Dominion, Foreign, and War Offices. Covers the modern period of European colonization of the continent, from coastal trading in the early nineteenth century through the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa, to the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy's defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa, and colonial moves towards independence.
This collection consists of papers related to Latin America issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970. The material ranges from single-page letters and telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports, and texts of treaties. All items marked Confidential Print' were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.
Complete volumes of all British Colonial Office and Foreign Office Confidential Print for the Middle East. Taking in the countries of the Arabian Peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey, and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt, and Sudan. Includes materials from the various committees on Mesopotamia and Palestine, on Transjordan and the military base at Aden, on Syria and Lebanon, and on the Passfield Report of 1930 and the early phases of the Arab League after 1945.
This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America, and covers such topics as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism, and the nuclear bomb.
This collection consists of items, including letters; receipts for parcels; money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia (including Star of David Badges that Jews were forced to wear), originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II.
Full-text online of previously classified primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. Comprised of more than 20 topic-specific collections, including Afghanistan, Berlin and Cuban Missile Crises, China, El Salvador, Iran and Iran-Contra, Iraqgate, Japan, Nicaragua, Phillipines, Presidential Directives on National Security, South Africa, Soviet Union, Terrorism, U.S. Espionage and Intelligence, U.S. Military Uses of Space, and U.S. Nuclear History and Non-proliferation Policy. Varies by collection; generally sometime during the Cold War period, 1945 to 1991.
Covers an array of topics relating to England during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, with a significant focus on the lives of ‘everyday’ people. Volumes of correspondence from more prominent families look at governance, politics, monarchy, relations between landowners and tenants, war, politics, and relations with England’s neighbors.
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of the Economist from 1843 to 2020. With a global circulation of more than 1.2 million, The Economist has consistently delivered a highly intelligent and comprehensive report of international political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments, with dispatches from all over the world. Includes mew full-color images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables, a gallery of front covers, supplements, special reports and surveys.
Founded in 1919, El Mundo (The World) was a respected, conservative newspaper from Puerto Rico and was widely considered a key source for news until it ceased in 1990. The paper strived to live up to its slogan “Verdad y Justicia” (Truth and Justice). Key topics covered by the newspaper include industrialization of Puerto Rican society, the Great Depression, territorial relations with the United States including citizenship and activities of independence movements such as the Macheteros and FALN, the rise of the Popular Democratic Party, the Ponce massacre, the Ley de la Mordaza (Gag Law) and more.
Fully-searchable database of full-text primary resources dating from 1492 to 1969. Includes Exploration journals and logs, correspondence, diaries; official government papers; missionary papers; travel writing; slave papers; maps; marketing posters; photographs; and Illustrations, with many in color.
This bibliographic database is based on European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered.
From personal collections and rare printed material to military files, ephemera and artwork, The First World War highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of the conflict and in multiple theatres of war. Covering an array of international perspectives, the resource showcases intimate personal narratives, wartime propaganda and recruitment material, the truly global reach of the conflict, and the role of women in war through various documentary and visual forms.
Part of the Foreign Office Files series, representing a constant exchange of information between London and the British embassies and consulates. This module features Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International and includes diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, political pamphlets, reports of court cases, and other materials.
Surveys the high politics of Independence and Partition, social and cultural interchange after 1947, and the ramifications that these changes continue to have throughout South Asia today. Covers the political and social history of India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan in this period, featuring essential content on Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim, and Kashmir, as well as other frontier regions. This module focuses on independence, partition, and the Nehru Era.
This collection provides significant insight into the events between First World War victory and Second World War defeat, crucial to understanding the political journey of Japan during this period.
Covers the Cobbold Commission, the end of the Malayan Emergency, and tensions between Indonesia and Malaysia, as well as rising animosity towards the perceived threat of communism at this time. The material offers insight into the challenges faced by political leaders during this time. Traces the substantial economic and industrial growth experienced by Southeast Asia during this period. This resource contains extensive coverage of authoritarian regimes in the Philippines and Indonesia under Presidents Marcos and Suharto respectively, the establishment of Singapore as a major world port, and political and racial tensions in the region.
U.S. State Department files documenting relations with the states of Latin America and the Caribbean under Roosevelts Good Neighbor policy, with the U.S. giving up direct military intervention in favor of other forms of influence on Latin American affairs.
A digital collection of more than 300 U.S. Government publications distributed during the course of the war. Government Printing Office publications, like pamphlets, reports, etc.
Explores the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947, with an emphasis on the British Indian Empire.
The Committee's purpose was to facilitate involuntary emigration from Germany and Austria of persons who must emigrate on account of their political opinions, religious beliefs, or racial origin, and persons who already have left their country of origin and who have not yet established themselves permanently elsewhere. The discussions represented a historic first on behalf of would-be refugees and are divided into four sections, each containing primary source correspondence, memoranda, reports and government documents. Meeting records, 1943-1947; Country files , 1938-1941; Subject files, 1938-1944; Administration files, 1943-1948.
Showcases popular and lesser-known periodicals published during this time period with articles covering arts and culture, fashion, home and family life, travel, world current affairs, class, social and welfare issues as well as a wealth of writing from some of the most prominent literary figures of the era. Module I contents reflect the social, artistic and culture dynamism that characterized the Roaring Twenties in fashion, music, literature, dance and entertainment, as well as post-war intellectual thought and modernism.
The 25 titles in this collection document the experiences of interned Japanese-Americans from 1942-1945. Many articles are in Japanese but most are in English or appear in both languages.
This collection consists of original documents, including leaflets and handbill, printed proclamations and resolutions, circular letters and more, collected over a period of approximately 30 years dealing primarily with the Jewish segment of the French underground resistance; many of the documents originate from communist groups, and some deal with Polish groups. Most of the documents are in French, while some are in Yiddish.
A broad range of sources, from journals and memoirs to ships’ logs and court records, offers a unique opportunity to research the lives of seafarers. From ordinary seamen and ships’ captains serving on merchant and naval vessels, to whalers and pirates, this resource offers new insights into the Anglo-American maritime world 1600-1900.
The Making of the Modern World covers the history of European political economy from the 1450s onward. It traces the development of nations, capital, global trade, empire, industrialization, and corporations. It also covers the rise of the modern labor movement, slavery and abolition, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, and gender. It features rare books, monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches, surveys, and other primary source materials. The collection also captures non-mainstream materials including pamphlets, flyers, broadsheets, and other ephemera that are rarely preserved in libraries.
Searching for ISSNs or ISBNs is not supported.
Truncation in author names is not supported.
Gathers material from multiple conflicts to build a picture of the experience and development of medical practice as influenced by the wars of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Covers developments with a focus on rehabilitation, nursing, and the psychological toll of war. This module covers military, scientific, professional, and personal perspectives on medicine, ranging from the Civil War through World War I.
Contains full color images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise the Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor, and Armburgh letter collections, along with full text searchable transcripts from the printed editions. They are Britain’s first surviving records of private correspondence, describing everyday life in East Anglia during the Wars of the Roses.
Collection of medieval manuscripts from libraries around the world, dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries, with a focus on accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. Provides insights into the attitudes and preconceptions of people across Europe in the medieval period, shedding light on issues of race, economics, trade, militarism, politics, literature, and science.
The Meriam Report [The Problem of Indian Administration] was a survey of conditions on Native American reservations in twenty-six states sponsored by the Rockefeller Foundation and published in 1928. Following the report, the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs conducted extensive hearings that were published in 41 parts totaling nearly 20,000 pages and collectively titled Survey of the Conditions of the Indians in the United States.
Iraq 1914-1974, offers a broad range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974, including photographs, colour maps and contemporary film.
The Nation is America's oldest weekly magazine and one if its premier journals of opinion since its inception in 1865. The Nation has long bee regarded as one of the country's definitive journalistic voices of writing on politics, culture, books and the arts and continues to stand as the independent voice in American journalism. This database contains indexing & abstracting and full text for the complete archive of The Nation beginning with its first issue in 1865 through to the present.
This database integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories (in audio and transcript form), personal writings, photographs from the Bureau of Indian Affairs and other collections, and drawings, documenting native American peoples throughout the country.
Digitized primary source documents from global media sources—including television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, newspapers, and government documents as collected and translated into English by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA. Covers every aspect of nuclear arms and weapons of mass destruction.
Published in Philadelphia 1728-1800, the Gazette provides a first hand-view of colonial America, the American Revolution, and the New Republic. Articles cover events worldwide. The Gazette printed the texts of many important documents, including the Declaration of Independence, and the Constitution.
This publication collection consists of over 1,000 air dropped and shelled leaflets and periodicals created and disseminated during the Second World War. The majority of items in this collection were printed by the Allies then air or container dropped, or fired by artillery shell over German occupied territory. Many leaflets and periodicals have original publication codes and were printed in over 10 languages. Only shelled leaflets, Germans to Allies (115 items), are in English.
Contains materials related to the diplomatic and military response by the United states (as part of a multi-national force) to the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait in August 1990.
Chronicles the plight of refugees, displaced persons, and immigrants across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950 through immigrant and refugee correspondence, studies, reports, organizational and administrative files, and much more. Covers the global scope of the forced migration and refugee crisis leading up to, during, and after World War II.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, this fully searchable digital archive is an essential tool for the study of the western hemisphere. It provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and events of the times.
Contains a range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa, and the Middle East. Both Allied and Axis publications are included. Module 1 includes Stars and Stripes London Edition, Fauji Akhbar, Springbok, printed in both English and Afrikaans, Die Wehrmacht, and 13 editions of the Union Jack.
These files allow scholars and researchers the opportunity to assess Nixon’s handling of numerous Cold War crises from a British, European, and Commonwealth perspective, his administration’s notable achievements, as well as his increasingly controversial activities and unorthodox use of executive powers, culminating in Watergate and resignation.
Reports by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency and other U.S. intelligence and security agencies on developments in the Middle East and North Africa from World War II to the near present. Some 2733 documents are included, arranged chronologically. The resource is also searchable.
Records of the dealings of Myron Taylor, the presidents representative to the Vatican, with Pope Pius XII and the Vatican, including cables, reports, and correspondence between Taylor and his staff, the State Department, other U.S. government agencies, the Vatican, and the Italian government. They document, among other subjects, Italian fascism, the Holocaust and the treatment of other minorities in Eastern Europe, and displaced persons in Eastern Europe after World War II.
