Six English-language journals published during the nineteenth century by missionaries and early sinologists. They pertain mostly to China but Japan and Southeast Asia are also covered. They include articles on a wide range of religious, economic, political, and cultural subjects.
An index to books and journal articles on Mexican-Americans. Records added since 1992 include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Covers materials on Mexican-Americans. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. The Chicano Database also includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature. Art, bilingual education, education, health, labor, language, literature, mental health, politics and more. Coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s.
A full-text database that provides comprehensive coverage of the African American experience. Updated quarterly, the online collection contains scholarly articles, biographies, commentaries, primary sources, subject entries, film clips, images, maps, charts, tables, web sites, and timelines. The core content of the electronic file consists of reference works including Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America, Second Edition; and African American National Biography. Additional reference titles include the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature; Oxford Companion to Black British History; and selected articles from other major reference titles.
Bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi iscompiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages. 1966-present.
The AAD System provides online access to material from more than 30 series of electronic records at the National Archives, including biographical, geographical, and organizational records.
This is a comprehensive database for searching and discovering African materials from 1500 to today. It indexes African organizations, collections, and documents from archives around the world. Find books, magazines, newspapers, historical journals, government documents, oral history, photographs, art, music, videos, and more.
Primary source resource containing information focusing on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arena. Highlights include the Chicago Urban League papers c.1916-1985, material on the legal battles for the desegregation of public schools and buses from the papers of Thomas J. Pearsall, James B. McMillan and Algernon Lee Butler, the complete run of The messenger, 1925-1928, a popular civil rights magazine published by activist A . Philip Randolph, family papers of prominent African American families in Atlanta, c.1870-1965, and oral histories of individuals in the civil rights movement in Atlanta and personal accounts from members of the Weeksville community.
This collection of African-American newspapers contains information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, and contains first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day pertaining to African Americans.
Digitized and fully searchable collections of more than 40 nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
A collection of nearly 14,000 letters by Presbyterian missionaries to American Indians. The missionaries served among many different tribal groups and their letters describe many aspects of Native American society and culture.
This collection of digitized manuscripts, works of art, recent American Indian newspapers, rare books, photographs, and maps, drawn from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago, documents American Indian life over four centuries.
FBI reports of activities of the American Indian Movement and other activist Native American groups in the late 1960s and 1970s, including the occupation of Wounded Knee (1973).
Publications of a range of Native American communities including titles produced in the United States and Canada from 1828 to 2016. Includes national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. Topics covered include the civil rights era and American Indian Movement (AIM), education, environmentalism, land rights and cultural representation.
Digital collection of newspapers focusing on American prisons and the lives of people inside them, from titles produced by citizens who have been incarcerated.
Comprised of original manuscripts, rare printed books, maps, and ephemeral material from the Everett D Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library in Chicago. Allows scholars to explore tales of frontier life, Indigenous Peoples, vigilantes, and outlaws.
Essential resource for the study of the apartheid era in Southern Africa, sourced exclusively from The National Archives, UK. Provides analysis of South African politics, trade relations, international opinion, and humanitarian dilemmas against a backdrop of waning colonialism and mounting world condemnation.
Provides access to the records fromAssociated Press bureau in Jerusalem, Ankara, Beruit, and surrounding areas. Include news stories in the form of typescript carbons or wire copy . Provides exclusive coverage between 1967 and 2008.
Includes records from the AP's Atlanta, Austin, Birmingham, Chicago, Dallas, Miami, New Orleans, Philadelphia and Pittsburgh bureaus dating from 1931 to 2004. Contains news stories in various stages of production, covering major social movements, natural disasters, crime, disease, politics and other regional and national topics.
Online full-text primary source collection is the first to comprehensively detail the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War.
Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 African American publications. Series 1: 1704-1877 Arrival in American through Reconstruction contains original reporting and contemporary perspectives on the lives of enslaved and newly freed people, Nat Turner’s revolt, Harriet Tubman’s heroism, the Underground Railroad, the Civil War and Reconstruction, and more. Includes editorials, obituaries, illustrations, and advertisements. Series 2:1878-1975 Jim Crow through the Civil Rights Movement provides insight into the efforts of civil rights leaders, as well as daily life during the Jim Crow era and the lasting contributions of African Americans in nearly every field imaginable. Includes reporting on the court decisions and policy changes that profoundly shaped the African American experience.Series 1-2: 1976-present.
Correspondence and eyewitness accounts from the region’s key players documenting the Anglo-Afghan Wars. Includes the perspectives of Afghan and Persian rulers on foreign activities in the region, the interplay between China and Russia, and the expansion and fall of the Russian Empire.
Offers unique insights into the history of North American trade and cultural interactions with China. Coverage also includes Pacific trading centers, such as Hawaii.
Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
A collection of thousands of scanned documents and bibliographic records relating to English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the 16th and 18th centuries. The earliest English settlements in North America, encounters with Native Americans, piracy in the Atlantic and Caribbean, the trade in slaves and English conflicts with the Spanish and French are all covered in this database.
This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865. These newspapers "recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war. In their columns is to be found the only really correct and indicative 'map of busy life, its fluctuations and its vast concerns' in the South, during her days of darkness and of trial.
Complete volumes of all British Government Confidential Print for Africa, from the Colonial, Dominion, Foreign, and War Offices. Covers the modern period of European colonization of the continent, from coastal trading in the early nineteenth century through the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa, to the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy's defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa, and colonial moves towards independence.
This collection consists of papers related to Latin America issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970. The material ranges from single-page letters and telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports, and texts of treaties. All items marked Confidential Print' were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.
Complete volumes of all British Colonial Office and Foreign Office Confidential Print for the Middle East. Taking in the countries of the Arabian Peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey, and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt, and Sudan. Includes materials from the various committees on Mesopotamia and Palestine, on Transjordan and the military base at Aden, on Syria and Lebanon, and on the Passfield Report of 1930 and the early phases of the Arab League after 1945.
This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America, and covers such topics as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism, and the nuclear bomb.
This collection consists of items, including letters; receipts for parcels; money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia (including Star of David Badges that Jews were forced to wear), originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II.
Population, Housing, Economic, and Geographic data from the Census Bureau. Also includes maps, statistics, fact sheets and other publications. Covering data 2010 - Present.
Fire insurance maps are a core resource for documenting the development of neighborhoods over time. Founded in 1867, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years. They show lot numbers, square footage of lots, street addresses, which lots have buildings and their shape and materials. They indicate the type of construction, property lines, and the number of stories. They can narrow the date when a building was constructed. They can be used to track demolition, recent construction and alterations. They identify plot numbers necessary to access deed and other civil records. This digital product provides access to the maps of all United States' states. Users have the ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and layer maps from different years. 1867-1970
Formerly known as Understanding Hate in America .Collection of Klan and other white nationalist newspapers alongside newspapers published by Catholic, African-American and Jewish organizations to counter the narrative of hate and bigotry.The collection contains national Klan publications as well as regional and local Klan produced papers. The collection will also include a set of papers sympathetic to the Klan alongside anti-Klan publications.
Tells the story of trade with the east, politics, and the rise and fall of the British Empire. Consists of the India Office Records, covering classes IOR/A, B and D, and comprises the foundational charters of the East India Company, plus the minutes and memoranda of its various central administrative organs. This is material generated by the East India Company’s London headquarters and top-level material sent back by Company servants overseas, and pertains to the governance of the Company and its territorial possessions.
Fully-searchable database of full-text primary resources dating from 1492 to 1969. Includes Exploration journals and logs, correspondence, diaries; official government papers; missionary papers; travel writing; slave papers; maps; marketing posters; photographs; and Illustrations, with many in color.
Enslaved.org is an open-source growing database which contains information on hundreds of thousands of individuals involved in the historical slave trade including enslaved people, slave owners, and slave traders.
This bibliographic database is based on European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered.
Fannie Lou Hamer (1917-1977) was a voting rights activist and civil rights leader. She was instrumental in organizing Mississippi Freedom Summer for the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee and later became the Vice-Chair of the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party. The papers include correspondence, financial records, photographs, and newspaper clippings, and other records documenting her activities with a variety of organizations.
Part of the Foreign Office Files series, representing a constant exchange of information between London and the British embassies and consulates. This module features Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International and includes diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, political pamphlets, reports of court cases, and other materials.
Surveys the high politics of Independence and Partition, social and cultural interchange after 1947, and the ramifications that these changes continue to have throughout South Asia today. Covers the political and social history of India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan in this period, featuring essential content on Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim, and Kashmir, as well as other frontier regions. This module focuses on independence, partition, and the Nehru Era.
This collection provides significant insight into the events between First World War victory and Second World War defeat, crucial to understanding the political journey of Japan during this period.
Covers the Cobbold Commission, the end of the Malayan Emergency, and tensions between Indonesia and Malaysia, as well as rising animosity towards the perceived threat of communism at this time. The material offers insight into the challenges faced by political leaders during this time. Traces the substantial economic and industrial growth experienced by Southeast Asia during this period. This resource contains extensive coverage of authoritarian regimes in the Philippines and Indonesia under Presidents Marcos and Suharto respectively, the establishment of Singapore as a major world port, and political and racial tensions in the region.
U.S. State Department files documenting relations with the states of Latin America and the Caribbean under Roosevelts Good Neighbor policy, with the U.S. giving up direct military intervention in favor of other forms of influence on Latin American affairs.
This multi-archive collection captures the lives, experiences, and colonial encounters of people living at the edges of the Anglophone world from 1650-1920, covering North America, Africa, Australia, and New Zealand. Includes documents on the creation of new states, trade networks, and movements of people in these regions, alongside the marginalization and decline of Indigenous peoples.
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our cases go into the 20th century because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery. The collection has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it, or simply analyzing it. Includes English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere. Includes more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century, word-searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880, and modern law reviews.
Once in ProQuest click on Databases link at top; click on Select all to de-select the entire list of databases; scroll down to ProQquest Historical Newspapers and select the titles of interest; return to top and click on Use selected databases.
Online full-text of: Chicago Defender (1909-1975); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991); Norfolk Journal & Guide (1921-2003); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001).
Covers the investigations made by the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) during the immigration wave of 1880-1930. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930, and European immigration. Also includes files on the INS’s regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens.
Primary source documents derived from reports gathered between the early 1940s and 1996 by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA, including translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government documents. Provides local perspectives and global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century. Covers issues such as ethnic friction and xenophobia, religious movements, border issues, the treatment of refugees and more.
Index to Jewish Periodicals is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.
Explores the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947, with an emphasis on the British Indian Empire.
The Committee's purpose was to facilitate involuntary emigration from Germany and Austria of persons who must emigrate on account of their political opinions, religious beliefs, or racial origin, and persons who already have left their country of origin and who have not yet established themselves permanently elsewhere. The discussions represented a historic first on behalf of would-be refugees and are divided into four sections, each containing primary source correspondence, memoranda, reports and government documents. Meeting records, 1943-1947; Country files , 1938-1941; Subject files, 1938-1944; Administration files, 1943-1948.
The 25 titles in this collection document the experiences of interned Japanese-Americans from 1942-1945. Many articles are in Japanese but most are in English or appear in both languages.
The Jerusalem Post is a broadsheet newspaper based in Israel, publishing only English and French editions. It is one of the main newspapers of Israel. It is published from Sunday to Friday, with no edition appearing on Saturday (the Jewish Sabbath) and Jewish religious holidays. Regular opinion columnists write on subjects such as religion, foreign affairs and economics. In its earlier form, 1932-1950, it was called The Palestine Post, and was founded in 1932 by Gershon Agron. In 1950, two years after the State of Israel was declared, the paper was renamed The Jerusalem Post.
An Indispensable resource for all those interested in understanding and exploring the history of Jewish communities in America from their first arrival in New York in 1654 to the integral part that they pay today It makes available to scholars some of the American Jewish Historical Society's most important and valuable archival collections.
This collection consists of original documents, including leaflets and handbill, printed proclamations and resolutions, circular letters and more, collected over a period of approximately 30 years dealing primarily with the Jewish segment of the French underground resistance; many of the documents originate from communist groups, and some deal with Polish groups. Most of the documents are in French, while some are in Yiddish.
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
The Making of the Modern World covers the history of European political economy from the 1450s onward. It traces the development of nations, capital, global trade, empire, industrialization, and corporations. It also covers the rise of the modern labor movement, slavery and abolition, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, and gender. It features rare books, monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches, surveys, and other primary source materials. The collection also captures non-mainstream materials including pamphlets, flyers, broadsheets, and other ephemera that are rarely preserved in libraries.
Searching for ISSNs or ISBNs is not supported.
Truncation in author names is not supported.
Collection of medieval manuscripts from libraries around the world, dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries, with a focus on accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. Provides insights into the attitudes and preconceptions of people across Europe in the medieval period, shedding light on issues of race, economics, trade, militarism, politics, literature, and science.
The Meriam Report [The Problem of Indian Administration] was a survey of conditions on Native American reservations in twenty-six states sponsored by the Rockefeller Foundation and published in 1928. Following the report, the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs conducted extensive hearings that were published in 41 parts totaling nearly 20,000 pages and collectively titled Survey of the Conditions of the Indians in the United States.
Iraq 1914-1974, offers a broad range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974, including photographs, colour maps and contemporary film.
Covers all aspects of the migration experience, from motives and departures to arrival and permanent settlement. The collection also includes early material such as the first emigration ‘round robin’ from 1621 and letters from late eighteenth century merchants and travellers in the United States.
Further covers activities of the New Zealand Company during the 1840s and includes resources focusing on the growth of colonization companies during the nineteenth century, the activities of immigration and welfare societies, and the plight of refugees and displaced persons throughout the twentieth century as migrants fled their homelands to escape global conflict.
Fully searchable online editions (both full-page facsimiles and textual transcripts) of the following nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers: Monthly Repository (1806-1837), Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833), Northern Star (1838-1852), Leader (1850-1860), English Woman's Journal (1858-1864), Tomahawk (1867-1870), and Publishers' Circular (1880-1890).
Provides access to a collection of 400 U.S. newspapers, with over 1.7 million pages of content. Coverage includes a cross-section of publications from political party papers, illustrated papers, as well as major papers and African American, Native American, women's rights and labor group publications.
This collection of primary sources, including letters, diaries, autobiographies, and oral histories, documents the experience of immigrants to the United States from 1840 to the present, with special emphasis on the period 1890 to 1920. Immigrants from all over the world are included.
Published in Philadelphia 1728-1800, the Gazette provides a first hand-view of colonial America, the American Revolution, and the New Republic. Articles cover events worldwide. The Gazette printed the texts of many important documents, including the Declaration of Independence, and the Constitution.
Provides access to archival materials related to popular culture in the UK and US from 1950-1975. Includes manuscripts, print materials, photographs, and video clips. Topics covered include politics, fashion, youth culture, the onset of Rock and Roll, campaigns for black power, civil rights, and women’s liberation.
Primary source material on the Civil Rights Movement, segregation, discrimination and racial theory in America including surveys and papers from the Amistad Research Center, 1943-1970. Includes audio recordings, case studies and community self-surveys, photographs and posters.
Part 1:Forced Migration and World War II chronicles the plight of refugees, displaced persons and immigrants across Europe, North Africa and Asia from 1935 to 1950 through immigrant and refugee correspondence, studies, reports, organizational and administrative files, and much more. Covers the global scope of the forced migration and refugee crisis leading up to, during, and after World War II. Part 2: Early Cold War and Decolonization covers the causes of the refugee crisis following World War II from the onset of the Cold War to the decolonization of, and rise of independence movements within the nations of Africa, Asia, and the Middle East.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, this fully searchable digital archive is an essential tool for the study of the western hemisphere. It provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and events of the times.
Contains a range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa, and the Middle East. Both Allied and Axis publications are included. Module 1 includes Stars and Stripes London Edition, Fauji Akhbar, Springbok, printed in both English and Afrikaans, Die Wehrmacht, and 13 editions of the Union Jack.
Collection of digitized books, pamphlets, manuscripts, court records, maps, and images documenting many aspects of transatlantic slavery and abolition. Subjects include slavery in the early Americas, the middle passage, religion, resistance and revolt, urban slavery, the underground railroad, the abolition movement, freedmen, education, slavery in the Islamic world, and the legacy and persistence of slavery.
Four-part full-text resource consisting of more than five million pages from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, court records, and maps covering slavery and abolition issues from multiple perspectives. In four parts. Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition - focuses on the abolitionist movement. Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World - focuses on the rise of slavery in Africa and its impact on the United States, Caribbean, and Latin America. Part III: The Institution of Slavery - Focuses on slavery from 1492 to 1888, including the Shong Massacre and the Dememara insurrection. Part IV: Age of Emancipation - Focusing on emancipation efforts in the United States, Latin America, and the Caribbean.
The Student Activism collection is intended to serve as a scholarly bridge from the extensive history of student protest in the United States to the study of today's vibrant, continually unfolding actions. The collection captures the voices of students across a great range of protests, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. The primary sources are broad-based across time, geography, and political viewpoint — from conservative to anarchist.
Primary sources including legislation, executive orders, Congressional Research Service reports, hearings, Government Accountability Office reports, data from the annual reports and the Statistical Yearbook of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, newspaper articles, and press releases. Resources are organized by topic, with a brief summary of how the issue has developed over time and a timeline showing important events.
Reports by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency and other U.S. intelligence and security agencies on developments in the Middle East and North Africa from World War II to the near present. Some 2733 documents are included, arranged chronologically. The resource is also searchable.
Records of the dealings of Myron Taylor, the presidents representative to the Vatican, with Pope Pius XII and the Vatican, including cables, reports, and correspondence between Taylor and his staff, the State Department, other U.S. government agencies, the Vatican, and the Italian government. They document, among other subjects, Italian fascism, the Holocaust and the treatment of other minorities in Eastern Europe, and displaced persons in Eastern Europe after World War II.
Collection of Klan and other white nationalist newspapers alongside Newspapers published by Catholic, African-American and Jewish organizations to counter the narrative of hate and bigotry. The collection contains national Klan publications as well as regional and local Klan produced papers.The collection will also include a set of papers sympathetic to the Klan alongside anti-Klan publications.
FBI reports documenting the 1961 attempt, organized by the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE), to enforce court and administrative rulings integrating interstate public transportation. Interracial groups of civil rights activists planned to ride buses from Washington, D.C. to New Orleans, but they met with a great deal of violence.
A finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives, UK. Provides access to original documents on the Suffrage Question in Britain, the Empire and Colonial Territories.
