Index to journal articles, books, articles in collections, and conference papers on multiple aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilization. Publications in European and other languages on multiple aspects of Greek and Roman antiquity, including literature and linguistics, history, philosophy, art, religion, music, and science, from the second millennium B.C.E. to the early Middle Ages (ca. 500-800 C.E.). Indexing from 1924-2015
Provides coverage of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. International coverage of political science, international relations, law, and public administration and policy. 1975 to the present.
A full-text database that provides comprehensive coverage of the African American experience. Updated quarterly, the online collection contains scholarly articles, biographies, commentaries, primary sources, subject entries, film clips, images, maps, charts, tables, web sites, and timelines. The core content of the electronic file consists of reference works including Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America, Second Edition; and African American National Biography. Additional reference titles include the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature; Oxford Companion to Black British History; and selected articles from other major reference titles.
Six English-language journals published during the nineteenth century by missionaries and early sinologists. They pertain mostly to China but Japan and Southeast Asia are also covered. They include articles on a wide range of religious, economic, political, and cultural subjects.
The AAD System provides online access to material from more than 30 series of electronic records at the National Archives, including biographical, geographical, and organizational records.
This is a comprehensive database for searching and discovering African materials from 1500 to today. It indexes African organizations, collections, and documents from archives around the world. Find books, magazines, newspapers, historical journals, government documents, oral history, photographs, art, music, videos, and more.
Primary source resource containing information focusing on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arena. Highlights include the Chicago Urban League papers c.1916-1985, material on the legal battles for the desegregation of public schools and buses from the papers of Thomas J. Pearsall, James B. McMillan and Algernon Lee Butler, the complete run of The messenger, 1925-1928, a popular civil rights magazine published by activist A . Philip Randolph, family papers of prominent African American families in Atlanta, c.1870-1965, and oral histories of individuals in the civil rights movement in Atlanta and personal accounts from members of the Weeksville community.
This collection of African-American newspapers contains information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, and contains first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day pertaining to African Americans.
Digitized and fully searchable collections of more than 40 nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
FBI reports of activities of the American Indian Movement and other activist Native American groups in the late 1960s and 1970s, including the occupation of Wounded Knee (1973).
Digital collection of newspapers focusing on American prisons and the lives of people inside them, from titles produced by citizens who have been incarcerated.
Derived from the archives of the Central Intelligence Agency. Searchable digital archive of primary source documents covering foreign perspectives of American racial issues in the mid-20th century. Also covers race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa and Asia.
Essential resource for the study of the apartheid era in Southern Africa, sourced exclusively from The National Archives, UK. Provides analysis of South African politics, trade relations, international opinion, and humanitarian dilemmas against a backdrop of waning colonialism and mounting world condemnation.
Provides coverage of the Vienna, Geneva, Warsaw, Bern, Berlin and Prague AP bureaus-as well as a special cross-bureau collection that covers conflicts and crises that affected the entire continent. Includes coverage of WWII and post-war reconstruction, Nazism and its aftermath, the Cold War, espionage, the arms and space races and the fall of the Soviet Union
Provides access to the records fromAssociated Press bureau in Jerusalem, Ankara, Beruit, and surrounding areas. Include news stories in the form of typescript carbons or wire copy . Provides exclusive coverage between 1967 and 2008.
Tells the story of the Associated Press. Contains news features, including news analysis, human interest stories and entertainment and sports reporting.
Includes records from the AP's Atlanta, Austin, Birmingham, Chicago, Dallas, Miami, New Orleans, Philadelphia and Pittsburgh bureaus dating from 1931 to 2004. Contains news stories in various stages of production, covering major social movements, natural disasters, crime, disease, politics and other regional and national topics.
This collection of news dispatches from the Washington, D.C., Bureau of the Associated Press (1915-1930) contain an unbroken chronology of world and national events as reported by the news agency. The news dispatches included in this archive were given to the Library of Congress by the bureau in 1944.
Provides access to bureau records documenting the administrations of eleven U.S. presidents, including an assortment of wire copy and coverage of press conferences, travel, speeches, campaigns and messages to Congress. Reflects major events of each presidency, including the Kennedy assassination, Watergate, the Nixon and Clinton impeachment hearings and the Cold War.
Executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil's national government during the period between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the Empire. Collection includes: Provincial Presidential Reports (1830-1930); Almanack Laemmert (1844-1889); and Ministerial Reports (1821-1960).
Correspondence and eyewitness accounts from the region’s key players documenting the Anglo-Afghan Wars. Includes the perspectives of Afghan and Persian rulers on foreign activities in the region, the interplay between China and Russia, and the expansion and fall of the Russian Empire.
Offers unique insights into the history of North American trade and cultural interactions with China. Coverage also includes Pacific trading centers, such as Hawaii.
Contains documents encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic. Collects resources from nine archives to give insight into the changes in China during this period. Includes key documents relating to the Chinese Maritime Customs service, original reports of the Amherst and Macartney embassies, letters relating to the first Opium War, survivors’ descriptions of the Boxer War, and collected diaries and personal photographs of the Bowra family.
Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
For almost fifty years, the United States and the Soviet Union were engaged in the Cold War. This global stalemate emerged after both nations had been allies against Hitler during World War II. This collection of oral histories from the "behind-the-scenes" decision and policy makers answers a wide range of popular and academic questions surrounding this long period of political and military tension.
A collection of thousands of scanned documents and bibliographic records relating to English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the 16th and 18th centuries. The earliest English settlements in North America, encounters with Native Americans, piracy in the Atlantic and Caribbean, the trade in slaves and English conflicts with the Spanish and French are all covered in this database.
This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865. These newspapers "recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war. In their columns is to be found the only really correct and indicative 'map of busy life, its fluctuations and its vast concerns' in the South, during her days of darkness and of trial.
Complete volumes of all British Government Confidential Print for Africa, from the Colonial, Dominion, Foreign, and War Offices. Covers the modern period of European colonization of the continent, from coastal trading in the early nineteenth century through the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa, to the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy's defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa, and colonial moves towards independence.
This collection consists of papers related to Latin America issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970. The material ranges from single-page letters and telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports, and texts of treaties. All items marked Confidential Print' were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.
Complete volumes of all British Colonial Office and Foreign Office Confidential Print for the Middle East. Taking in the countries of the Arabian Peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey, and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt, and Sudan. Includes materials from the various committees on Mesopotamia and Palestine, on Transjordan and the military base at Aden, on Syria and Lebanon, and on the Passfield Report of 1930 and the early phases of the Arab League after 1945.
This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America, and covers such topics as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism, and the nuclear bomb.
Full-text database of statistics, analyses, definitions, and historical material on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships. Users can customize data on candidate and office history, seat status and competition, party control, split districts, third parties, party switches and special elections. Also includes an encyclopedia, calendar, and chronology. Six main categories: Presidential Elections, Congressional Elections, Gubernatorial Elections, Campaigns and Elections, Political Parties, and Voters and Demographics.
Population, Housing, Economic, and Geographic data from the Census Bureau. Also includes maps, statistics, fact sheets and other publications. Covering data 2010 - Present.
Full-text online of previously classified primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. Comprised of more than 20 topic-specific collections, including Afghanistan, Berlin and Cuban Missile Crises, China, El Salvador, Iran and Iran-Contra, Iraqgate, Japan, Nicaragua, Phillipines, Presidential Directives on National Security, South Africa, Soviet Union, Terrorism, U.S. Espionage and Intelligence, U.S. Military Uses of Space, and U.S. Nuclear History and Non-proliferation Policy. Varies by collection; generally sometime during the Cold War period, 1945 to 1991.
Fire insurance maps are a core resource for documenting the development of neighborhoods over time. Founded in 1867, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years. They show lot numbers, square footage of lots, street addresses, which lots have buildings and their shape and materials. They indicate the type of construction, property lines, and the number of stories. They can narrow the date when a building was constructed. They can be used to track demolition, recent construction and alterations. They identify plot numbers necessary to access deed and other civil records. This digital product provides access to the maps of all United States' states. Users have the ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and layer maps from different years. 1867-1970
Formerly known as Understanding Hate in America .Collection of Klan and other white nationalist newspapers alongside newspapers published by Catholic, African-American and Jewish organizations to counter the narrative of hate and bigotry.The collection contains national Klan publications as well as regional and local Klan produced papers. The collection will also include a set of papers sympathetic to the Klan alongside anti-Klan publications.
Tells the story of trade with the east, politics, and the rise and fall of the British Empire. Consists of the India Office Records, covering classes IOR/A, B and D, and comprises the foundational charters of the East India Company, plus the minutes and memoranda of its various central administrative organs. This is material generated by the East India Company’s London headquarters and top-level material sent back by Company servants overseas, and pertains to the governance of the Company and its territorial possessions.
Founded in 1919, El Mundo (The World) was a respected, conservative newspaper from Puerto Rico and was widely considered a key source for news until it ceased in 1990. The paper strived to live up to its slogan “Verdad y Justicia” (Truth and Justice). Key topics covered by the newspaper include industrialization of Puerto Rican society, the Great Depression, territorial relations with the United States including citizenship and activities of independence movements such as the Macheteros and FALN, the rise of the Popular Democratic Party, the Ponce massacre, the Ley de la Mordaza (Gag Law) and more.
From personal collections and rare printed material to military files, ephemera and artwork, The First World War highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of the conflict and in multiple theatres of war. Covering an array of international perspectives, the resource showcases intimate personal narratives, wartime propaganda and recruitment material, the truly global reach of the conflict, and the role of women in war through various documentary and visual forms.
Part of the Foreign Office Files series, representing a constant exchange of information between London and the British embassies and consulates. This module features Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International and includes diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, political pamphlets, reports of court cases, and other materials.
Surveys the high politics of Independence and Partition, social and cultural interchange after 1947, and the ramifications that these changes continue to have throughout South Asia today. Covers the political and social history of India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan in this period, featuring essential content on Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim, and Kashmir, as well as other frontier regions. This module focuses on independence, partition, and the Nehru Era.
This collection provides significant insight into the events between First World War victory and Second World War defeat, crucial to understanding the political journey of Japan during this period.
Covers the Cobbold Commission, the end of the Malayan Emergency, and tensions between Indonesia and Malaysia, as well as rising animosity towards the perceived threat of communism at this time. The material offers insight into the challenges faced by political leaders during this time. Traces the substantial economic and industrial growth experienced by Southeast Asia during this period. This resource contains extensive coverage of authoritarian regimes in the Philippines and Indonesia under Presidents Marcos and Suharto respectively, the establishment of Singapore as a major world port, and political and racial tensions in the region.
U.S. State Department files documenting relations with the states of Latin America and the Caribbean under Roosevelts Good Neighbor policy, with the U.S. giving up direct military intervention in favor of other forms of influence on Latin American affairs.
A richly varied range of archival sources charts the contradictions of the Gilded Age. This resource includes the personal and business papers of key industrialists, records of rail, steel, and oil corporations, material on labor disputes, politics and progressivism, and rich visual content on fashion, material culture, and architecture.
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our cases go into the 20th century because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery. The collection has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it, or simply analyzing it. Includes English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere. Includes more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century, word-searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880, and modern law reviews.
The Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories Database (1789 -2002) is derived from the looseleaf publication /Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories: A Bibliography of Government Documents, Periodical Articles, and Books/. All compilations for major laws are included in the database with the following exceptions: appropriations measures; ceremonial matters; laws that extend the life of an agency or authority; and laws that affect small numbers of persons or specific regions of the country. The sources for these compilations include congressional documents, legal periodicals, treatises and looseleaf services. The Legislative History Title Collection is a collection of full-text legislative histories on some of the most important and historically significant legislation of our time.
Notes: PDF printing requires Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or later.
Full-text access to a wide variety of Presidential documents, including: /Messages and Papers of the Presidents/ (Washington to McKinley); /Compilation of Messages and Papers of the Presidents/ (Washington to Hoover); /Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States/ (Hoover to George W. Bush); /Inaugural Addresses of Presidents of the United States /(various U.S. Presidents); /Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents/ (1965-2006); /Economic Reports of the President/ (1947-2006); /List and Index of Presidential Executive Orders, 1789 to 1941/; and /Presidential Executive Orders/ (1862-1938).
PDF printing requires Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 or later.
Once in ProQuest click on Databases link at top; click on Select all to de-select the entire list of databases; scroll down to ProQquest Historical Newspapers and select the titles of interest; return to top and click on Use selected databases.
Online full-text of: Chicago Defender (1909-1975); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991); Norfolk Journal & Guide (1921-2003); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001).
A digital collection of more than 300 U.S. Government publications distributed during the course of the war. Government Printing Office publications, like pamphlets, reports, etc.
A module in the ProQuest History Vault - this resource provides documentation on the growth and transformation of four major labor organizations. It includes the papers of Terence V. Powderly and John W. Hayes (Knights of Labor), American Federation of Labor (AFL) records on strikes and boycotts, antitrust laws and AFL membership, and Congress of Industrial Organizations (CIO) Minutes of the Executive Board of the CIO and the papers of Adolph Germer, a longtime member of the United Mine Workers and a leader in the formation of the CIO. Records that document the AFL-CIO in this module also include State Labor Proceedings for 1885-1974 with the 1955-1974 portion of the records pertaining to the AFL-CIO.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 provides access to the entire run of the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper. High-quality color facsimile images bring to life more than 150 years of social, political and cultural history for researchers. Areas covered include politics, social history, fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising and graphic design, as well as genealogy.
Primary source documents derived from reports gathered between the early 1940s and 1996 by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA, including translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government documents. Provides local perspectives and global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century. Covers issues such as ethnic friction and xenophobia, religious movements, border issues, the treatment of refugees and more.
Explores the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947, with an emphasis on the British Indian Empire.
The Committee's purpose was to facilitate involuntary emigration from Germany and Austria of persons who must emigrate on account of their political opinions, religious beliefs, or racial origin, and persons who already have left their country of origin and who have not yet established themselves permanently elsewhere. The discussions represented a historic first on behalf of would-be refugees and are divided into four sections, each containing primary source correspondence, memoranda, reports and government documents. Meeting records, 1943-1947; Country files , 1938-1941; Subject files, 1938-1944; Administration files, 1943-1948.
The Jerusalem Post is a broadsheet newspaper based in Israel, publishing only English and French editions. It is one of the main newspapers of Israel. It is published from Sunday to Friday, with no edition appearing on Saturday (the Jewish Sabbath) and Jewish religious holidays. Regular opinion columnists write on subjects such as religion, foreign affairs and economics. In its earlier form, 1932-1950, it was called The Palestine Post, and was founded in 1932 by Gershon Agron. In 1950, two years after the State of Israel was declared, the paper was renamed The Jerusalem Post.
Drawn from the holdings of the Lilly Library, this collection focuses on issues facing 19th century Victorian London, includng working-class culture, street literature, popular music, urban topography, ‘slumming’, prostitution, the Contagious Diseases Act, the Temperance Movement, social reform, Toynbee Hall, police, and criminality. Includes Tallis' Street views and Swell's Guides.
Provides complete coverage of the Cabinet conclusions (minutes) and memoranda of Harold Macmillan’s government, plus selected minutes and memoranda of policy committees. Includes Macmillan's correspondence with Khrushchev (1957-63), Eisenhower (1957-60), and Kennedy (1961-63).
Full-text online archive of historical legal treatises from the United States and Great Britain. The collection covers nearly every aspect of law, encompassing a range of analytical, theoretical, and practical literature. Gift of Louis M. Riehl, University of Maryland School of Law Class of 1938.
The Making of the Modern World covers the history of European political economy from the 1450s onward. It traces the development of nations, capital, global trade, empire, industrialization, and corporations. It also covers the rise of the modern labor movement, slavery and abolition, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, and gender. It features rare books, monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches, surveys, and other primary source materials. The collection also captures non-mainstream materials including pamphlets, flyers, broadsheets, and other ephemera that are rarely preserved in libraries.
Searching for ISSNs or ISBNs is not supported.
Truncation in author names is not supported.
The Maryland Map Collection is a comprehensive collection of more than 2,500 maps depicting Maryland, the Chesapeake Bay, and the surrounding region from 1590 to the present. The collection contains many rare early maps of Maryland as well as more modern maps produced by state, and local governments.
Iraq 1914-1974, offers a broad range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974, including photographs, colour maps and contemporary film.
The National Farm Worker Ministry dates from 1920 and began as a charity aimed at helping farm workers procure food, clothing, and medical care. Under the influence of Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers, it became more overtly political in seeking more fundamental improvements for farm workers in the 1960s. This collection reproduces correspondence, reports, speeches, and minutes documenting poverty programs, Braceros, labor camps, the United Farm Workers Union, and the Delano Grape Strike (1965-1970).
The Nation is America's oldest weekly magazine and one if its premier journals of opinion since its inception in 1865. The Nation has long bee regarded as one of the country's definitive journalistic voices of writing on politics, culture, books and the arts and continues to stand as the independent voice in American journalism. This database contains indexing & abstracting and full text for the complete archive of The Nation beginning with its first issue in 1865 through to the present.
The New Republic, founded in 1914, presents insights from a variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, foreign policy, culture, current events, the arts, and much more. The New Republic Archive contains more than 4,550 issues, with coverage dating back to 1914. Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First.
The New York Times Historical (1851-2016 ) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is a growing collection of archives which brings together rare primary source materials monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs and more from the long nineteenth century (1789-1914.) UMD has access to archives 1-12.
These files allow scholars and researchers the opportunity to assess Nixon’s handling of numerous Cold War crises from a British, European, and Commonwealth perspective, his administration’s notable achievements, as well as his increasingly controversial activities and unorthodox use of executive powers, culminating in Watergate and resignation.
This database integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories (in audio and transcript form), personal writings, photographs from the Bureau of Indian Affairs and other collections, and drawings, documenting native American peoples throughout the country.
Digitized primary source documents from global media sources—including television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, newspapers, and government documents as collected and translated into English by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA. Covers every aspect of nuclear arms and weapons of mass destruction.
Published in Philadelphia 1728-1800, the Gazette provides a first hand-view of colonial America, the American Revolution, and the New Republic. Articles cover events worldwide. The Gazette printed the texts of many important documents, including the Declaration of Independence, and the Constitution.
Documents the interactions between government policy and public philanthropy in Victorian and early twentieth-century society, tracing developments in welfare reform and the social tensions surrounding poverty.
Pravda (or "Truth") was the official voice of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of the USSR between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Pravda originated as an underground, daily workers' newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. From 1912 to 1914, Pravda was subjected to constant persecution, fines, penalties, and prohibitions by the government. When the Bolsheviks seized power during the October Revolution in 1917, Pravda became the official publication, or organ of the Soviet Communist Party. The paper's primary role was to deliver the official line of the Central Committee of the CPSU. Pravda remained the official voice of Soviet communism up until 1991, when Boris Yeltsin signed a decree closing Pravda down.
Access to the entire range of Executive Branch Documents offering a record of federal department and agency activities. Once in the database, to limit the search to just these Executive Documents choose from the Content list. (5 modules available):
EBC 1 (1789-1932) EBD 2 (1933-1939) EBD 3 (1940-1942) EBD 4 (1943-1945) EBD 5 (1946-1948)
Primary source material on the Civil Rights Movement, segregation, discrimination and racial theory in America including surveys and papers from the Amistad Research Center, 1943-1970. Includes audio recordings, case studies and community self-surveys, photographs and posters.
Contains materials related to the diplomatic and military response by the United states (as part of a multi-national force) to the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait in August 1990.
Chronicles the plight of refugees, displaced persons, and immigrants across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950 through immigrant and refugee correspondence, studies, reports, organizational and administrative files, and much more. Covers the global scope of the forced migration and refugee crisis leading up to, during, and after World War II.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, this fully searchable digital archive is an essential tool for the study of the western hemisphere. It provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and events of the times.
Contains a range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa, and the Middle East. Both Allied and Axis publications are included. Module 1 includes Stars and Stripes London Edition, Fauji Akhbar, Springbok, printed in both English and Afrikaans, Die Wehrmacht, and 13 editions of the Union Jack.
Providing a counterpoint to Western perceptions of communist states and their actions, this collection of films illuminates how socialist countries saw themselves and the world around them during the major political and social events of the twentieth century.
The Times Digital Archive provides convenient access to an extraordinary library of back issues of this renowned newspaper online. By taking the microfilm collection of The Times (London) and producing a high-resolution digital format with searchable images, The Times Digital Archive represents unprecedented access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 18th century history and onward.
Includes the complete run of the times literary supplement with over 300,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles. Provides contemporary criticism searchable by article type,date,editor and translator.
Records of the dealings of Myron Taylor, the presidents representative to the Vatican, with Pope Pius XII and the Vatican, including cables, reports, and correspondence between Taylor and his staff, the State Department, other U.S. government agencies, the Vatican, and the Italian government. They document, among other subjects, Italian fascism, the Holocaust and the treatment of other minorities in Eastern Europe, and displaced persons in Eastern Europe after World War II.
This resource documents the founding and economic development of Virginia, as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624. It provides a rich source for the study of trade between Britain and America. There is valuable evidence on the ethnic and gender composition of Virginia and new evidence of tensions among the colonists and of early relations with Native Americans.
This resource provides access to primary source material from hundreds of world's fairs, useful for research in globalization, imperialism, anthropology, mass communication, design, and more.
Primary source material offering insight into the protests and reforms that changed the course of world history. Coverage drawn from television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, newspapers, and government documents translated into English by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA. Covers influential protest and reform movements spanning decades as well as protests covering environmental movements, demands for nutrition and sanitation standards, strikes for workplace safety, demonstrations against nuclear war, and dozens of others that proved that social movements can shape international opinion as effectively as politics or government policy.
