History Databases by Subject

Six English-language journals published during the nineteenth century by missionaries and early sinologists. They pertain mostly to China but Japan and Southeast Asia are also covered. They include articles on a wide range of religious, economic, political, and cultural subjects.

Index to journal articles, books, articles in collections, and conference papers on multiple aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilization. Publications in European and other languages on multiple aspects of Greek and Roman antiquity, including literature and linguistics, history, philosophy, art, religion, music, and science, from the second millennium B.C.E. to the early Middle Ages (ca. 500-800 C.E.). Indexing from 1924-2015

Streaming video service of almost 12,000 full length videos of high-quality educational titles. Subject sets featured are: business & economics, humanities & social sciences, science & mathematics, health & medicine. This collection also includes thousands of video clips and a collection of archival films & newsreels. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists; most videos available with closed-captioning and interactive transcripts; may be viewed through most mobile devices.

The International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) is one of three databases that is bundled together in the Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies database. The Library subscribes only to the IMB, which includes information about articles, conference proceedings, and Festschriften on all aspects of medieval studies in the period of 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.

Online bibliographic guide to current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations. Gathers together a large collection of articles addressing themes and topics within Atlantic History.

Online bibliographic guide to current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations. Gathers together a large collection of articles addressing themes and topics within Medieval Studies.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the period of the Renaissance and Reformation, which spans roughly from the 14th through 17th centuries. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Biographies of more than 50,000 noteworthy people, no longer living, who inhabited or were connected with the British Isles. Portraits included for more than 10,000 entries. Biographical essay of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.

PERSEE, the website for scientific journals in social and human sciences, established by the Ministry of State Education, Higher Education and Research. The PERSEE website has as its mission the digitisation and online distribution of back collections of a vast corpus of periodicals. Wider availability of this rich scientific heritage will benefit French research by making it freely and publicly accessible.
Coverage:
- Annales. Histoire, Sciences sociales (éditions de l’EHESS),
- L’Homme (éditions de l’EHESS),
- Revue économique (Presses de sciences Po),
- Revue française de science politique (Presses de sciences Po)
- Bibliothèque de l’école des chartes (Société de l’écoledes chartes)
Revue de l’art (CNRS-périodiques),
Matériaux pour l’histoire de notre temps (Association des amis de la BDIC et du Musée).

The Wiley Digital Archives include papers of the New York Academy of Sciences (NYAS) and The Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI). The NYAS mission is to drive innovative solutions to society's challenges by advancing scientific research, education and policy. RAI is the world's longest-established scholarly association dedicated to the furtherance of anthropology in its broadest and most inclusive sense.NYAS colletion materials include constitutions and bylaws, records of governing bodies, directors and publications and photographs. RAI materials include manuscripts, maps, photographs and scientific papers.
NYAS materials span 1817-2008; RAI materials span 1863-1986..

World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Upon completion, the collection will contain 1,000 hours of streaming video that offers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.

Two of a five-series periodical collection covering British life in the Victorian age. Series 1: New Readerships includes a wide variety of periodicals that reflect the changes and influences in political and rural life, children's literature and leisure. Series II: Empire covers the expansion of the Empire, addressing economic as well as non-mercantile aspects of British expansionism. The two series, which can be searched separately or together, draw from the collections of the British Library, National Library of Scotland, National Library of Australia and National Library of South Africa.

Bringing together material from twelve archives from around the world, this collection includes documents relating to major events in European maritime history, from the voyages of James Cook to the search for John Franklin’s doomed mission to the Northwest Passage. It contains a host of additional features for teaching, such as an interactive map which presents an in-depth visualization of over 50 of these influential voyages.

A cooperative project established in 1981 by the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and the University of Chicago. 2000 texts, from classic works of French literature to non-fiction prose and technical writing: novels, poetry, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, treatises. Subjects: literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. A Provenal database includes texts in original languages. Time Span:13th-20th cent.; selection of 17th cent. texts; some medieval and Renaissance

Provides coverage of the Vienna, Geneva, Warsaw, Bern, Berlin and Prague AP bureaus-as well as a special cross-bureau collection that covers conflicts and crises that affected the entire continent. Includes coverage of WWII and post-war reconstruction, Nazism and its aftermath, the Cold War, espionage, the arms and space races and the fall of the Soviet Union

Correspondence and eyewitness accounts from the region’s key players documenting the Anglo-Afghan Wars. Includes the perspectives of Afghan and Persian rulers on foreign activities in the region, the interplay between China and Russia, and the expansion and fall of the Russian Empire.

Extensive digital resource covering three centuries of Caribbean history, drawn from the archives of the British Colonial Office, National Archives, UK. Stretches from the turbulent years of early British settlement to the rise of the abolition movement, amongst the fierce rivalries with the Spanish, Danish, French, and Dutch in the Caribbean region. Documents the rise of absentee landlords, and traces the rise and decline of the slave trade .Explores a crucial shift in the fight to end slavery. The documents cover the passing of the Slavery Abolition Act and the impact this had on the government of Caribbean islands, including the introduction of apprenticeships and resistance to the changes in legislation.

A collection of thousands of scanned documents and bibliographic records relating to English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the 16th and 18th centuries. The earliest English settlements in North America, encounters with Native Americans, piracy in the Atlantic and Caribbean, the trade in slaves and English conflicts with the Spanish and French are all covered in this database.

This collection consists of items, including letters; receipts for parcels; money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia (including Star of David Badges that Jews were forced to wear), originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II.

Provides access to a vast body of original British source material to enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology, and education from a gendered perspective. Covers the ideals of social conduct, power distribution within the family, consumption and leisure, education of men and women, and gendered perceptions of the body to analyse and challenge the changing views and ideas surrounding traditional gender roles.

The Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker series has been in publication since 1981. It covers the works of major authors spanning eleven centuries and includes historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts. Collections of essays, speeches and other non-literary material add context and background material. As every individual text is edited to the same high standard, you can rely on the quality and accuracy of each edition and the collection as a whole.

Tells the story of trade with the east, politics, and the rise and fall of the British Empire. Consists of the India Office Records, covering classes IOR/A, B and D, and comprises the foundational charters of the East India Company, plus the minutes and memoranda of its various central administrative organs. This is material generated by the East India Company’s London headquarters and top-level material sent back by Company servants overseas, and pertains to the governance of the Company and its territorial possessions.

Fully-searchable database of full-text primary resources dating from 1492 to 1969. Includes Exploration journals and logs, correspondence, diaries; official government papers; missionary papers; travel writing; slave papers; maps; marketing posters; photographs; and Illustrations, with many in color.

Enslaved.org is an open-source growing database which contains information on hundreds of thousands of individuals involved in the historical slave trade including enslaved people, slave owners, and slave traders.

This bibliographic database is based on European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed in Feminae. The project began in 1996, however some coverage goes back to 1992. Interdisciplinary topics dealing with women, sexuality, or gender during the Middle Ages. The geographic area is Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East as well as areas in which Europeans travelled. Subject coverage for gender and sexuality means that articles on masculinity and male homosexuality are included. The time period covered is 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. with Russia extending to 1613.

This is an important interdisciplinary, global resource that provides important knowledge and understanding of global history, business, finance and politics over the last 120 years. It provides information on world issues, activities and events from the height of the Victorian era to the dawn of the 21st century. The archive includes all articles, advertisements, photographs and market listing as shown in the context of the regular full page and issue of the day.

From personal collections and rare printed material to military files, ephemera and artwork, The First World War highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of the conflict and in multiple theatres of war. Covering an array of international perspectives, the resource showcases intimate personal narratives, wartime propaganda and recruitment material, the truly global reach of the conflict, and the role of women in war through various documentary and visual forms.

Some 170 German-language books and pamphlets, dating mostly from the 1930s. The collection also includes tracts against other groups, including Jehovaha's Witnesses, Jesuits, and Freemasons.

Digital collection of manuscript, visual, and printed works exploring the history of travel. Includes the travel writings and works of some of Britain’s greatest artists, writers, and thinkers. Also includes many writings by forgotten or anonymous travelers, including many women, whose daily experiences offer a vivid insight into the experience and practicalities of travel across the centuries.

(Content and interface in French)The Great Corpus of French and Francophone literature (from the Middle Ages to the 20th century) provides full-text access to over 14,000 texts and about 300 authors complete works. Four full-text literature databases published by Classiques Garnier Numrique are included:
- Corpus of medieval literature from the origins to the end of the 15th century
narrative prose fiction, chanson de geste, poetry and theatre (religious and profane)
- Corpus of narrative literature, from the Middle Ages to the 20th century
novels, tales, and short stories from Chrtien de Troyes to Alain-Fournier and Marcel Proust
- Corpus of Francophone literature from Black Africa, from the origins to Independence
oral and written French-speaking literature from sub-Saharan Africa from the origins (end of the 18th century) to Independence (1960, as date of authors death)
- Corpus of literature from the Indian Ocean, from the origins to Independence
Francophone written and oral literature from the Indian Ocean, from the origins (18th century) to Independence (1960, or death of authors)

This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our cases go into the 20th century because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery. The collection has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it, or simply analyzing it. Includes English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere. Includes more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century, word-searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880, and modern law reviews.

Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 provides access to the entire run of the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper. High-quality color facsimile images bring to life more than 150 years of social, political and cultural history for researchers. Areas covered include politics, social history, fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising and graphic design, as well as genealogy.

Primary source documents derived from reports gathered between the early 1940s and 1996 by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA, including translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government documents. Provides local perspectives and global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century. Covers issues such as ethnic friction and xenophobia, religious movements, border issues, the treatment of refugees and more.

Explores the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947, with an emphasis on the British Indian Empire.

The Committee's purpose was to facilitate involuntary emigration from Germany and Austria of persons who must emigrate on account of their political opinions, religious beliefs, or racial origin, and persons who already have left their country of origin and who have not yet established themselves permanently elsewhere. The discussions represented a historic first on behalf of would-be refugees and are divided into four sections, each containing primary source correspondence, memoranda, reports and government documents. Meeting records, 1943-1947; Country files , 1938-1941; Subject files, 1938-1944; Administration files, 1943-1948.

More than 50 womens periodicals mostly published in American and Britain with a few German and French titles. Subjects include housekeeping and family, fashion, religion, sex and birth control, eugenics, suffrage, and business

Showcases popular and lesser-known periodicals published during this time period with articles covering arts and culture, fashion, home and family life, travel, world current affairs, class, social and welfare issues as well as a wealth of writing from some of the most prominent literary figures of the era. Module I contents reflect the social, artistic and culture dynamism that characterized the Roaring Twenties in fashion, music, literature, dance and entertainment, as well as post-war intellectual thought and modernism.

This collection consists of original documents, including leaflets and handbill, printed proclamations and resolutions, circular letters and more, collected over a period of approximately 30 years dealing primarily with the Jewish segment of the French underground resistance; many of the documents originate from communist groups, and some deal with Polish groups. Most of the documents are in French, while some are in Yiddish.

A broad range of sources, from journals and memoirs to ships’ logs and court records, offers a unique opportunity to research the lives of seafarers. From ordinary seamen and ships’ captains serving on merchant and naval vessels, to whalers and pirates, this resource offers new insights into the Anglo-American maritime world 1600-1900.

Full-text online archive of historical legal treatises from the United States and Great Britain. The collection covers nearly every aspect of law, encompassing a range of analytical, theoretical, and practical literature. Gift of Louis M. Riehl, University of Maryland School of Law Class of 1938.

Gathers material from multiple conflicts to build a picture of the experience and development of medical practice as influenced by the wars of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Covers developments with a focus on rehabilitation, nursing, and the psychological toll of war. This module covers military, scientific, professional, and personal perspectives on medicine, ranging from the Civil War through World War I.

Contains full color images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise the Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor, and Armburgh letter collections, along with full text searchable transcripts from the printed editions. They are Britain’s first surviving records of private correspondence, describing everyday life in East Anglia during the Wars of the Roses.

Collection of medieval manuscripts from libraries around the world, dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries, with a focus on accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. Provides insights into the attitudes and preconceptions of people across Europe in the medieval period, shedding light on issues of race, economics, trade, militarism, politics, literature, and science.

Iraq 1914-1974, offers a broad range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974, including photographs, colour maps and contemporary film.

Over 200,000 pages of primary source documents from the British Foreign Office, Prime Minister's Office, and the War Office.

Fully searchable online editions (both full-page facsimiles and textual transcripts) of the following nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers: Monthly Repository (1806-1837), Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833), Northern Star (1838-1852), Leader (1850-1860), English Woman's Journal (1858-1864), Tomahawk (1867-1870), and Publishers' Circular (1880-1890).

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is a growing collection of archives which brings together rare primary source materials monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs and more from the long nineteenth century (1789-1914.) UMD has access to archives 1-12.

This publication collection consists of over 1,000 air dropped and shelled leaflets and periodicals created and disseminated during the Second World War. The majority of items in this collection were printed by the Allies then air or container dropped, or fired by artillery shell over German occupied territory. Many leaflets and periodicals have original publication codes and were printed in over 10 languages. Only shelled leaflets, Germans to Allies (115 items), are in English.

Chronicles the plight of refugees, displaced persons, and immigrants across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950 through immigrant and refugee correspondence, studies, reports, organizational and administrative files, and much more. Covers the global scope of the forced migration and refugee crisis leading up to, during, and after World War II.

Contains a range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa, and the Middle East. Both Allied and Axis publications are included. Module 1 includes Stars and Stripes London Edition, Fauji Akhbar, Springbok, printed in both English and Afrikaans, Die Wehrmacht, and 13 editions of the Union Jack.

Collection of digitized books, pamphlets, manuscripts, court records, maps, and images documenting many aspects of transatlantic slavery and abolition. Subjects include slavery in the early Americas, the middle passage, religion, resistance and revolt, urban slavery, the underground railroad, the abolition movement, freedmen, education, slavery in the Islamic world, and the legacy and persistence of slavery.

Four-part full-text resource consisting of more than five million pages from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, court records, and maps covering slavery and abolition issues from multiple perspectives. In four parts. Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition - focuses on the abolitionist movement. Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World - focuses on the rise of slavery in Africa and its impact on the United States, Caribbean, and Latin America. Part III: The Institution of Slavery - Focuses on slavery from 1492 to 1888, including the Shong Massacre and the Dememara insurrection. Part IV: Age of Emancipation - Focusing on emancipation efforts in the United States, Latin America, and the Caribbean.

The Thesaurus Linguae Latinae is the most authoritative dictionary of ancient Latin. It is the only lexicon to cover all surviving Latin texts from the earliest times down to AD 600. Therefore it not only takes account of classical Latin but also treats in detail the special features of the language of late antiquity and Christian texts.As well as literary works,it examines medical and legal manuals inscriptions and many other types of text.

Records of the dealings of Myron Taylor, the presidents representative to the Vatican, with Pope Pius XII and the Vatican, including cables, reports, and correspondence between Taylor and his staff, the State Department, other U.S. government agencies, the Vatican, and the Italian government. They document, among other subjects, Italian fascism, the Holocaust and the treatment of other minorities in Eastern Europe, and displaced persons in Eastern Europe after World War II.

Focuses on individual women and organizations around the world who have broken new paths in society through business, social reform, popular culture, health care and more. Includes primary sources from 1759 to 2002 including collections from the Amistad Research Center, Library of Congress, London Metropolitan Archives, and Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.

Traces the path of women's issues from past to present, pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. Captures the foundation of women's movements, struggles and triumphs, focusing on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century

A finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives, UK. Provides access to original documents on the Suffrage Question in Britain, the Empire and Colonial Territories.

Primary source material offering insight into the protests and reforms that changed the course of world history. Coverage drawn from television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, newspapers, and government documents translated into English by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA. Covers influential protest and reform movements spanning decades as well as protests covering environmental movements, demands for nutrition and sanitation standards, strikes for workplace safety, demonstrations against nuclear war, and dozens of others that proved that social movements can shape international opinion as effectively as politics or government policy.

17th and 18th Century Nichols Collection Newspapers Part of the British Library Newspapers collection, 17th and 18th Century Nichols Collection Newspapers is full text, fully searchable digital archive of newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom.

Part of the British Library Newspapers collection, 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers is a full-text, fully searchable digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom.

The British Library Newspapers collection feature London national newspapers, English regional papers, and newspapers from Scotland, Northern Ireland, and Wales. It includes the following six collections which can be searched separately or together: Part I: 47 publications from 1800-1900; Part II: 22 publications from 1800-1900; Part III: 35 publications from 1741-1950; Part IV: 23 publications from 1732-1950; Part V: 1746-1950 and Part VI: Ireland, 1783-1950..

British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.

Complete volumes of all British Government Confidential Print for Africa, from the Colonial, Dominion, Foreign, and War Offices. Covers the modern period of European colonization of the continent, from coastal trading in the early nineteenth century through the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa, to the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy's defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa, and colonial moves towards independence.

This collection consists of papers related to Latin America issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970. The material ranges from single-page letters and telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports, and texts of treaties. All items marked Confidential Print' were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.

Complete volumes of all British Colonial Office and Foreign Office Confidential Print for the Middle East. Taking in the countries of the Arabian Peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey, and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt, and Sudan. Includes materials from the various committees on Mesopotamia and Palestine, on Transjordan and the military base at Aden, on Syria and Lebanon, and on the Passfield Report of 1930 and the early phases of the Arab League after 1945.

This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America, and covers such topics as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism, and the nuclear bomb.

Database of most imprints (books, pamphlets, and broadsides) published in English anywhere or published in any language in English-speaking countries, appearing from 1473 to 1700. One can search the full ASCII text of selected* documents and view both the text and the corresponding original page images. Useful for research in all subject areas during the early modern period. Also helpful to study the history of books and printing.

Covers an array of topics relating to England during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, with a significant focus on the lives of ‘everyday’ people. Volumes of correspondence from more prominent families look at governance, politics, monarchy, relations between landowners and tenants, war, politics, and relations with England’s neighbors.

Catalog of most imprints (books, pamphlets, and broadsides) published from 1473 to 1800 in English or published in any language in English-speaking countries. Many titles are available on microform in the UM Libraries; most pre-1700 titles are available online in Early English Books Online. Useful for research in all subject areas during the period. Also helpful to study the history of books and printing.

Drawn from the holdings of the Lilly Library, this collection focuses on issues facing 19th century Victorian London, includng working-class culture, street literature, popular music, urban topography, ‘slumming’, prostitution, the Contagious Diseases Act, the Temperance Movement, social reform, Toynbee Hall, police, and criminality. Includes Tallis' Street views and Swell's Guides.

Provides complete coverage of the Cabinet conclusions (minutes) and memoranda of Harold Macmillan’s government, plus selected minutes and memoranda of policy committees. Includes Macmillan's correspondence with Khrushchev (1957-63), Eisenhower (1957-60), and Kennedy (1961-63).

This collection includes the questionnaires and responses from the Mass Observation Project at the University of Sussex, providing a primary source perspective of historical events and their perceptions among British people.

Offers access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.

Provides access to archival materials related to popular culture in the UK and US from 1950-1975. Includes manuscripts, print materials, photographs, and video clips. Topics covered include politics, fashion, youth culture, the onset of Rock and Roll, campaigns for black power, civil rights, and women’s liberation.

Documents the interactions between government policy and public philanthropy in Victorian and early twentieth-century society, tracing developments in welfare reform and the social tensions surrounding poverty.

The Times Digital Archive provides convenient access to an extraordinary library of back issues of this renowned newspaper online. By taking the microfilm collection of The Times (London) and producing a high-resolution digital format with searchable images, The Times Digital Archive represents unprecedented access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 18th century history and onward.

Includes the complete run of the times literary supplement with over 300,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles. Provides contemporary criticism searchable by article type,date,editor and translator.

Digitized visual and rare print primary sources materials in three collections: Spiritualism, Sensation, and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; and Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment.

Capturing a unique view of the lives of Victorians at the dawn of cinema, from workers at the factory gates to royalty and other dignitaries, these films showcase the inventiveness and artistry of the medium's pioneers in its earliest stages, including news, animation, drama, and special effects, as well as providing an invaluable exploration into how Victorians went about their day-to-day activities from their work to their leisure time.

This resource documents the founding and economic development of Virginia, as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624. It provides a rich source for the study of trade between Britain and America. There is valuable evidence on the ethnic and gender composition of Virginia and new evidence of tensions among the colonists and of early relations with Native Americans.