Six English-language journals published during the nineteenth century by missionaries and early sinologists. They pertain mostly to China but Japan and Southeast Asia are also covered. They include articles on a wide range of religious, economic, political, and cultural subjects.
An index to books and journal articles on Mexican-Americans. Records added since 1992 include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Covers materials on Mexican-Americans. Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. The Chicano Database also includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature. Art, bilingual education, education, health, labor, language, literature, mental health, politics and more. Coverage from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s.
The AAD System provides online access to material from more than 30 series of electronic records at the National Archives, including biographical, geographical, and organizational records.
Primary source resource containing information focusing on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arena. Highlights include the Chicago Urban League papers c.1916-1985, material on the legal battles for the desegregation of public schools and buses from the papers of Thomas J. Pearsall, James B. McMillan and Algernon Lee Butler, the complete run of The messenger, 1925-1928, a popular civil rights magazine published by activist A . Philip Randolph, family papers of prominent African American families in Atlanta, c.1870-1965, and oral histories of individuals in the civil rights movement in Atlanta and personal accounts from members of the Weeksville community.
Bringing together material from twelve archives from around the world, this collection includes documents relating to major events in European maritime history, from the voyages of James Cook to the search for John Franklin’s doomed mission to the Northwest Passage. It contains a host of additional features for teaching, such as an interactive map which presents an in-depth visualization of over 50 of these influential voyages.
Full text images of over 1,100 colonial and early American magazines and periodicals spanning from colonial times to the mid 20th century. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal. Useful for the study of American history, literature, culture, sciences and social sciences. Time span: 1740-1900
Digital collection of newspapers focusing on American prisons and the lives of people inside them, from titles produced by citizens who have been incarcerated.
Derived from the archives of the Central Intelligence Agency. Searchable digital archive of primary source documents covering foreign perspectives of American racial issues in the mid-20th century. Also covers race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa and Asia.
Comprised of original manuscripts, rare printed books, maps, and ephemeral material from the Everett D Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library in Chicago. Allows scholars to explore tales of frontier life, Indigenous Peoples, vigilantes, and outlaws.
Includes records from the AP's Atlanta, Austin, Birmingham, Chicago, Dallas, Miami, New Orleans, Philadelphia and Pittsburgh bureaus dating from 1931 to 2004. Contains news stories in various stages of production, covering major social movements, natural disasters, crime, disease, politics and other regional and national topics.
Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 African American publications. Series 1: 1704-1877 Arrival in American through Reconstruction contains original reporting and contemporary perspectives on the lives of enslaved and newly freed people, Nat Turner’s revolt, Harriet Tubman’s heroism, the Underground Railroad, the Civil War and Reconstruction, and more. Includes editorials, obituaries, illustrations, and advertisements. Series 2:1878-1975 Jim Crow through the Civil Rights Movement provides insight into the efforts of civil rights leaders, as well as daily life during the Jim Crow era and the lasting contributions of African Americans in nearly every field imaginable. Includes reporting on the court decisions and policy changes that profoundly shaped the African American experience.Series 1-2: 1976-present.
Primary sources covering the history of twentieth century broadcasting in America through the business decisions and innovations that led media corporations to transform radio from a one-to-one communication tool to a means of broadcasting information and ideas to the masses. Includes pamphlets from Special Collections and University Archives at UMD, covering market research into audience reception and demographics as well as discussions of ethics around depiction of violence and sex, and industry regulations. Coverage: 1920-1980
Offers unique insights into the history of North American trade and cultural interactions with China. Coverage also includes Pacific trading centers, such as Hawaii.
Contains documents encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic. Collects resources from nine archives to give insight into the changes in China during this period. Includes key documents relating to the Chinese Maritime Customs service, original reports of the Amherst and Macartney embassies, letters relating to the first Opium War, survivors’ descriptions of the Boxer War, and collected diaries and personal photographs of the Bowra family.
A collection of thousands of scanned documents and bibliographic records relating to English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the 16th and 18th centuries. The earliest English settlements in North America, encounters with Native Americans, piracy in the Atlantic and Caribbean, the trade in slaves and English conflicts with the Spanish and French are all covered in this database.
Population, Housing, Economic, and Geographic data from the Census Bureau. Also includes maps, statistics, fact sheets and other publications. Covering data 2010 - Present.
Full-text online of previously classified primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. Comprised of more than 20 topic-specific collections, including Afghanistan, Berlin and Cuban Missile Crises, China, El Salvador, Iran and Iran-Contra, Iraqgate, Japan, Nicaragua, Phillipines, Presidential Directives on National Security, South Africa, Soviet Union, Terrorism, U.S. Espionage and Intelligence, U.S. Military Uses of Space, and U.S. Nuclear History and Non-proliferation Policy. Varies by collection; generally sometime during the Cold War period, 1945 to 1991.
Covers an array of topics relating to England during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, with a significant focus on the lives of ‘everyday’ people. Volumes of correspondence from more prominent families look at governance, politics, monarchy, relations between landowners and tenants, war, politics, and relations with England’s neighbors.
Tells the story of trade with the east, politics, and the rise and fall of the British Empire. Consists of the India Office Records, covering classes IOR/A, B and D, and comprises the foundational charters of the East India Company, plus the minutes and memoranda of its various central administrative organs. This is material generated by the East India Company’s London headquarters and top-level material sent back by Company servants overseas, and pertains to the governance of the Company and its territorial possessions.
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of the Economist from 1843 to 2020. With a global circulation of more than 1.2 million, The Economist has consistently delivered a highly intelligent and comprehensive report of international political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments, with dispatches from all over the world. Includes mew full-color images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables, a gallery of front covers, supplements, special reports and surveys.
Founded in 1919, El Mundo (The World) was a respected, conservative newspaper from Puerto Rico and was widely considered a key source for news until it ceased in 1990. The paper strived to live up to its slogan “Verdad y Justicia” (Truth and Justice). Key topics covered by the newspaper include industrialization of Puerto Rican society, the Great Depression, territorial relations with the United States including citizenship and activities of independence movements such as the Macheteros and FALN, the rise of the Popular Democratic Party, the Ponce massacre, the Ley de la Mordaza (Gag Law) and more.
Fully-searchable database of full-text primary resources dating from 1492 to 1969. Includes Exploration journals and logs, correspondence, diaries; official government papers; missionary papers; travel writing; slave papers; maps; marketing posters; photographs; and Illustrations, with many in color.
Enslaved.org is an open-source growing database which contains information on hundreds of thousands of individuals involved in the historical slave trade including enslaved people, slave owners, and slave traders.
Especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, it comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
This is an important interdisciplinary, global resource that provides important knowledge and understanding of global history, business, finance and politics over the last 120 years. It provides information on world issues, activities and events from the height of the Victorian era to the dawn of the 21st century. The archive includes all articles, advertisements, photographs and market listing as shown in the context of the regular full page and issue of the day.
This multi-archive collection captures the lives, experiences, and colonial encounters of people living at the edges of the Anglophone world from 1650-1920, covering North America, Africa, Australia, and New Zealand. Includes documents on the creation of new states, trade networks, and movements of people in these regions, alongside the marginalization and decline of Indigenous peoples.
A richly varied range of archival sources charts the contradictions of the Gilded Age. This resource includes the personal and business papers of key industrialists, records of rail, steel, and oil corporations, material on labor disputes, politics and progressivism, and rich visual content on fashion, material culture, and architecture.
Focuses on the history of fifteen significant global commodities: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, oil, opium, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits.
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our cases go into the 20th century because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery. The collection has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it, or simply analyzing it. Includes English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere. Includes more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century, word-searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880, and modern law reviews.
Once in ProQuest click on Databases link at top; click on Select all to de-select the entire list of databases; scroll down to ProQquest Historical Newspapers and select the titles of interest; return to top and click on Use selected databases.
Online full-text of: Chicago Defender (1909-1975); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991); Norfolk Journal & Guide (1921-2003); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001).
Covers the investigations made by the Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) during the immigration wave of 1880-1930. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930, and European immigration. Also includes files on the INS’s regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens.
A module in the ProQuest History Vault - this resource provides documentation on the growth and transformation of four major labor organizations. It includes the papers of Terence V. Powderly and John W. Hayes (Knights of Labor), American Federation of Labor (AFL) records on strikes and boycotts, antitrust laws and AFL membership, and Congress of Industrial Organizations (CIO) Minutes of the Executive Board of the CIO and the papers of Adolph Germer, a longtime member of the United Mine Workers and a leader in the formation of the CIO. Records that document the AFL-CIO in this module also include State Labor Proceedings for 1885-1974 with the 1955-1974 portion of the records pertaining to the AFL-CIO.
Primary source documents derived from reports gathered between the early 1940s and 1996 by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA, including translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government documents. Provides local perspectives and global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century. Covers issues such as ethnic friction and xenophobia, religious movements, border issues, the treatment of refugees and more.
More than 50 womens periodicals mostly published in American and Britain with a few German and French titles. Subjects include housekeeping and family, fashion, religion, sex and birth control, eugenics, suffrage, and business
An Indispensable resource for all those interested in understanding and exploring the history of Jewish communities in America from their first arrival in New York in 1654 to the integral part that they pay today It makes available to scholars some of the American Jewish Historical Society's most important and valuable archival collections.
Documents 100 years of advertising, consumer and cultural history chronicled in the J Walter Thompson Company Archives. Covers the research and creative processes behind the creation of advertisements, including many of the world’s biggest and best-known brands. Provides an insider account of life within an advertising agency throughout the twentieth century, documenting changes such as the growing role of women in the industry.
Documents 100 years of advertising, consumer and cultural history chronicled in the J Walter Thompson Company Archives. Covers the research and creative processes behind the creation of advertisements, including many of the world’s biggest and best-known brands. Provides an insider account of life within an advertising agency throughout the twentieth century, documenting changes such as the growing role of women in the industry.
A broad range of sources, from journals and memoirs to ships’ logs and court records, offers a unique opportunity to research the lives of seafarers. From ordinary seamen and ships’ captains serving on merchant and naval vessels, to whalers and pirates, this resource offers new insights into the Anglo-American maritime world 1600-1900.
The Federal Writers Project (FWP) was part of the New Deal Work Projects Administration. This collection reproduces some 450 plays, works of poetry, and reports published by FWP writers 1933-1943. The collection is strong in local history and description, though the well-known state guides are not included. Some of the works were reproduced for limited circulation by mimeograph. Overall, the works offer a wide-ranging view of Depression America.
Drawn from the holdings of the Lilly Library, this collection focuses on issues facing 19th century Victorian London, includng working-class culture, street literature, popular music, urban topography, ‘slumming’, prostitution, the Contagious Diseases Act, the Temperance Movement, social reform, Toynbee Hall, police, and criminality. Includes Tallis' Street views and Swell's Guides.
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
The Making of the Modern World covers the history of European political economy from the 1450s onward. It traces the development of nations, capital, global trade, empire, industrialization, and corporations. It also covers the rise of the modern labor movement, slavery and abolition, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, and gender. It features rare books, monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches, surveys, and other primary source materials. The collection also captures non-mainstream materials including pamphlets, flyers, broadsheets, and other ephemera that are rarely preserved in libraries.
Searching for ISSNs or ISBNs is not supported.
Truncation in author names is not supported.
The Maryland Map Collection is a comprehensive collection of more than 2,500 maps depicting Maryland, the Chesapeake Bay, and the surrounding region from 1590 to the present. The collection contains many rare early maps of Maryland as well as more modern maps produced by state, and local governments.
Contains full color images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise the Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor, and Armburgh letter collections, along with full text searchable transcripts from the printed editions. They are Britain’s first surviving records of private correspondence, describing everyday life in East Anglia during the Wars of the Roses.
The National Farm Worker Ministry dates from 1920 and began as a charity aimed at helping farm workers procure food, clothing, and medical care. Under the influence of Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers, it became more overtly political in seeking more fundamental improvements for farm workers in the 1960s. This collection reproduces correspondence, reports, speeches, and minutes documenting poverty programs, Braceros, labor camps, the United Farm Workers Union, and the Delano Grape Strike (1965-1970).
Provides access to a collection of 400 U.S. newspapers, with over 1.7 million pages of content. Coverage includes a cross-section of publications from political party papers, illustrated papers, as well as major papers and African American, Native American, women's rights and labor group publications.
This collection of primary sources, including letters, diaries, autobiographies, and oral histories, documents the experience of immigrants to the United States from 1840 to the present, with special emphasis on the period 1890 to 1920. Immigrants from all over the world are included.
Documents the interactions between government policy and public philanthropy in Victorian and early twentieth-century society, tracing developments in welfare reform and the social tensions surrounding poverty.
Collection of digitized books, pamphlets, manuscripts, court records, maps, and images documenting many aspects of transatlantic slavery and abolition. Subjects include slavery in the early Americas, the middle passage, religion, resistance and revolt, urban slavery, the underground railroad, the abolition movement, freedmen, education, slavery in the Islamic world, and the legacy and persistence of slavery.
Four-part full-text resource consisting of more than five million pages from books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, court records, and maps covering slavery and abolition issues from multiple perspectives. In four parts. Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition - focuses on the abolitionist movement. Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World - focuses on the rise of slavery in Africa and its impact on the United States, Caribbean, and Latin America. Part III: The Institution of Slavery - Focuses on slavery from 1492 to 1888, including the Shong Massacre and the Dememara insurrection. Part IV: Age of Emancipation - Focusing on emancipation efforts in the United States, Latin America, and the Caribbean.
Providing a counterpoint to Western perceptions of communist states and their actions, this collection of films illuminates how socialist countries saw themselves and the world around them during the major political and social events of the twentieth century.
This collection presents a wealth of highly visual trade catalogs, cards, and marketing ephemera, tracing the rise of the ‘American dream’ and evolution of commerce throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Primary sources including legislation, executive orders, Congressional Research Service reports, hearings, Government Accountability Office reports, data from the annual reports and the Statistical Yearbook of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, newspaper articles, and press releases. Resources are organized by topic, with a brief summary of how the issue has developed over time and a timeline showing important events.
These records, covering the period 1893-1994, include three kinds of documents: 1) time and motion studies for the garment industry (used to determine piecework rates); 2) minutes of the General Executive Board of the United Garment Workers of America, documenting, in its early years, immigration, sick benefits, and the nine-hour workday, and, in later years, financial struggles and decline of membership; and 3) card files recording information about union locals.
