Skip to main content

How to use materials in the Gordon W. Prange Collection

This guide shows you how to search and access the materials housed in the Gordon W. Prange Collection

USING MATERIALS IN THE MARYLAND ROOM

the Maryland Room, Hornbake Library North 1st floorThe following materials are available in the Maryland Room on the 1st floor of Hornbake Library North.  For the Maryland Room guidelines, see this page 

  • Books
  • Newspaper microfilms 
  • Magazine microfisches
  • Photographs​
  • The majority of gift collections​
  • Maps and posters
  • ​Reports and Documents

 

USING MATERIALS IN THE MCKELDIN LIBRARY

McKeldin LibraryThe microfilms of the Justin Williams, Sr. PapersCharles L. Kades Papers and John R. Harold Papers are available on a self-serve basis on the 1st floor of McKeldin Library at the University of Maryland. 

USING MATERIALS ONLINE

The Prange Collection children’s books have been digitized are now available online in the Prange Digital Children's Book Collection.  Full-text access to these books is limited to the University of Maryland, College Park campus.  Access is provided to a thumbnail image of the book cover and to the bibliographic data for the book for off-campus visitors to this site. 

 

The Victor E. Delnore Papers and the Albert W. Hilberg ABCC Photographs and Reports are available online in the University of Maryland Digital Collections.  

 

The digitized books and magazines are available in the National Diet Library of Japan Digital Collections.  When accessed offsite, only bibliographic data is viewable

 

 

A selection of the Marlene J. Mayo Oral Histories transcripts are available online in the guide to the Gift Collections in the Gordon W. Prange Collection.

 

 

The Charles L. Kades Papers are available in the Internet Archive.