Skip to main content

How to use materials in the Gordon W. Prange Collection

This guide shows you how to search and access the materials housed in the Gordon W. Prange Collection

GIFT COLLECTIONS IN THE PRANGE COLLECTION

In addition to the Japanese print publications, the Prange Collection contains personal collections of Americans who served (or accompanied those who served) in the Allied Occupation of Japan.  These gift collections include manuscripts, photographs, oral histories, color slides, letters, and other documents.  A number of the collections are unprocessed and are only available onsite in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North.

How to SEARCH and ACCESS the Gift Collections

Lois Beno Photographs and Oral History

Available onsite

  • 32 photographs
  • Interview

Search & Access: Contact us.

Mark M. Biegel Photograph Album 

Digitized

  • Photo album

Search & Access: Contact us

The Emerson Chapin Photographs and Slides

​Available onsite

  • 404 slides
  • 236 photographs

Search & Access: Contact us

Kenneth E. Colton Papers

Available onsite

  • Documents

Search: See this page for the inventory. 

Access: Contact us

Owen Cunninham Papers 

Available onsite

  • Documents

Search & Access: Contact us.

Victor E. Delnore Papers

​Digitized

  • Photo album
  • Scrapbook
  • Others

Search & Access: Digital Collections at the University of Maryland

John R. Harold Papers

​Microfilmed

  • Documents
  • Newspaper articles
  • Pamplets
  • Others

Search: See this page for the inventory. 

Access: The microfilms are available in McKeldin Library

Albert W. Hilberg ABCC Photographs and Reports

​Digitized

  • Photographs

Search & Access: Digital Collections at the University of Maryland

Charles L. Kades Papers

Digitized

  • Documents

Search: See this page for the inventory.

Access: Full text is available in the Internet Archive.  The microfilms are available in McKeldin Library.

Mead Smith Karras Papers

Available onsite

  • 11 posters
  • 27 lettters
  • 154 qustionaries
  • 2,200 photographs
  • 3 kamishibai
  • Others

Search & Access: Contact us.

Mary Koehler Slides

Available onsite

  • 540 color slides
  • Narrations

Search & Access: Contact us

Marlene Mayo Oral Histories

Digitized

  • Interviews

Search & Access: Guide for Gift Collections in the Gordon W. Prange Collection 

Robert P. Schuster Photographs

Available onsite

  • 738 photographs

Search: See this page for the inventory.

Access: Contact us.

Leora Smith Photographs and Oral History

Available onsite

  • 46 photographs

Search & Access: Contact us.

*The Picture is Ms. Leora Smith and Professor Marlene Mayo (right) during the interview. 

Justin WIlliams, Sr. Papers

Microfilmed

  • Documents

Search: Justin Williams, Sr. Papers: Microfilm Index

Access: The microfilms are available in McKeldin Library.