Skip to main content

How to use materials in the Gordon W. Prange Collection

This guide shows you how to search and access the materials housed in the Gordon W. Prange Collection

NEWSPAPERS IN THE PRANGE COLLECTION

There are 18,047 newspaper titles in the Prange Collection, including 36 wall newspaper titles, some of which are hand-painted. The entire newspaper collection has been microfilmed.  In addition, there are approximately 15,000 Censored Newspaper Articles (CNA)  that date primarily from 1947 and 1948, with a limited number of articles from 1945, 1946, and 1949. The CNA have been digitized

Kumamoto Shimbun Kodomo OsakaKodomo Manga Shimbun

 

How to SEARCH the Newspapers

Database: Visit the 20th Century Media Information Database.  Created and maintained by the Institute of Intelligence Studies, Japan, it includes a portion of the Prange newspapers. The newspapers can be searched at the article level.  NOTE:  The database is fee-based. 

 

 

Online Catalog: Visit the National Diet Library of Japan(NDL) Research Navi for instructions on how to search for newspapers via NDL's OPAC.  All Prange newspaper titles are included.  This is a title-level catalog.

 

 

Print Finding Aid: "Guide to the Gordon W. Prange Newspaper Collection/メリーランド大学図書館所蔵ゴードン・W・プランゲ文庫新聞目録."  This print finding aid is available onsite in the Prange Collection, at NDL and at many universities in both the United States and Japan.  

 

 

 

An inventory of the Censored Newspaper Articles is available: Part 1, part 2part 3part 4part 5part 6part 7part 8part 9

How to ACCESS the Newspapers

The microfilms of the newspapers are available in the Maryland Room on the 1st Floor of Hornbake Library North, University of Maryland.  For instructions on how to request them, see this page.  For a list of other institutions that also hold a set of the microfilm, see the Collection Holdings/ Newspapers page on the Prange Collection website. 

The Censored Newspaper Articles are also available in digital form in the Maryland Room, or onsite at the National Diet Library of Japan in their Digital Collections