It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides fulltext to news, business and legal information. Newspapers date back to the 1970's. Please Note: The Washington Post is no longer included in Nexis Uni.The National Newspapers Core database includes the Washington Post.
Full text articles from the Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times, The Sun (Baltimore), and The Washington Post. Covers national, international and local news. The NYT provides text of important speeches and documents; WSJ reports on international finance; and WP offers strong political reporting, editorials and columnists.
Because Nexis Uni is a full-text database, using - and - between concepts will, in most cases produce too many results and they will not be relevant.
The goal is to get the words closer together and there are several ways to do this.
In addition, use the same search strategies as for other databases, place phrases in quotes, use the * for truncation, use -or- for synonyms.
1. Limit words to the headline and first couple of paragraphs = hlead(...) (you can use the - and - here within the parenthesis)
hlead(housing and "wealth gap")
hlead(housing and ("right of first refusal" or "tenant opportunity to purchase act"))
hlead("fair housing"and (race or racial or minorit*))
2. Limit words to the same paragraph = /p or same sentence = /s
eviction* /p (coronavirus or "covid-19") /p (policy or policies or strategy or strategies or prevention or intervention or program*)
welfare /p "work requirement*" /p (legislation or laws or regulation* or policy or policies)
("affordable housing" or "subsidized housing") /s (school* or education)
Refine the search using the filters on the left:
After you choose Publication Type and then Newspapers, you will see the individual newspaper titles.
National Newspapers Core
Once in the database, the first step is to click on Advanced Search
Bring the words closer together:
NEAR/ or N/ and add a number:
eviction* NEAR/5 (coronavirus or "covid-19") NEAR/5 (policy or policies or strategy or strategies or prevention or intervention or program*)