Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PLCY 306: Public Policy Analysis in Action: Housing Policy

Guide to resources for PLCY 306 assignments.

Core Databases

There are many databases you can use that provide access to journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other types of publications related to your topics.

Since you will be using many different databases and search strategies, save time by keeping track of what you are doing! Keep a record of what database/s and search strategies you are using and any revisions.


Make sure to search the databases in EbscoHost together and the databases in Proquest together to remove duplicates. Get into one database (the Ebsco Academic Search Ultimate database and the Proquest PAIS database are linked below) and then click on - Choose Databases (Ebsco) - Change Databases (Proquest) and add the others. Please see the Tab labeled Searching Multiple Databases Together.

EbscoHost Databases
Academic Search Ultimate - everyone can use
Then, depending on your topic, add others such as:

Business: 
Business Source Complete
EconLit
Regional Business News

Education:
Education Source
ERIC

Environmental
GreenFILE

Family:
Family Studies Abstracts

Health
Health Source - Consumer Edition
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition
MEDLINE

 Political
International Political Science Abstracts

Psychology / Social
PsycINFO
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Race Relations Abstracts
SocINDEX with Full Text
Urban Studies Abstracts

eBooks
Ebsco eBook Academic Comprehensive Collection
Ebsco eBook Collection


Proquest Databases
PAIS
Coronavirus Research Database
Ebook Central
Ethnic Newswatch
GenderWatch
Sociological Abstracts
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

 

Web of Science

Get into one database - click on - choose databases - add the others

 

Adding databases in Ebscohost

 

 

Adding databases in Ebscohost

                Proquest change databases

 

Proquest Change Databases List

There are several ways to filter or change search results in the ebsco databases:
1. LImit document type
2. Limit years
3. Limit language

4. Change search field, try AB Abstract or SU Subject

 

Ebsco Search Select A Field

Ebsco Search Abstract

 

If using the fulltext databases (gender watch, ethnic newswatch, ebooks, dissertations) you might need to change the search field from Anywhere to either:
Anywhere Except Full Text
OR
Abstract

Try different searches


Proquest Search ANywhere except Full Text