Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chinese Studies

This guide describes resources available at the UMD Libraries for research in Chinese Studies.

Find journal articles in these databases [CHINESE]

Academic Journals Database Taiwan University [臺灣大學學術期刊資料庫]

It offers full-texts journal articles published by various academic research units of National Taiwan University. [Full-text] [Chinese/English

China Academic Journals (CAJ) Full-text Database 

CAJ is the most comprehensive full-text database of Chinese journals in the world. CAJ Series F, G, H, and J contain more than 4,400 journals. You can search the database to retrieve article titles and abstracts in English by clicking the drop-down on the top right and selecting "English," although all full text is in Chinese. The collection allows cross-searching multiple databases in the following subject areas: literature/history/philosophy (Series F), economics/politics/law (Series G), education/social sciences (Series H), and economics/management (Series J). [Full-text] [Chinese] 

Hong Kong Journals Online

A full-text database for academic and professional journals in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong. [Full-text] [Chinese]

Hong Kong Macau Periodicals Network - It provides an index data on Chinese and English periodical articles published in Hong Kong and Macau. [Index] [Chinese] 

National Social Sciences Database

This database contains over 2000 core academic journal titles in social sciences issued in China from 1921 to present. [Full-text] [Chinese]

Qi kan wen xian zi xun wang: PerioPath: Index to Chinese Periodical Literature

PerioPath is an online index and a periodical article delivery service. It contains the article information of approximately 2,600 titles of Chinese and Western language periodicals published in Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macau from 1991. [Index] [Chinese] 

Zhongguo zi xun hang: CyberMedia Network

China Infobank is one of the most authoritative sources of China related information and currently comprises over 7 million business reports and articles - a figure which is increasing daily. It provides a range of economic, business, scientific and governmental data to the business and research community. There are three main categories of content: the Business Database, Financial Express, and the News Channel, which are based upon over 1,000 newspaper magazines and trade journals and over sixty other content providers. [Full-text] [Chinese]

Find journal articles in these databases [ENGLISH]

Academic Search Ultimate - Multi-disciplinary and one of the biggest databases subscribed at UMD.  It provides peer-reviewed full-text journal articles as well as magazines, newspapers, and books. [Full-text]     

Asia-Studies - Asia-Studies.com brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 53 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues.  [Full-text]     

Asia-Studies Humanities - Section of the Asia-Studies Full-text Online database that focuses on the traditional Humanities aspects of Asian Studies: Arts, Culture, History, Language, Literature, Philosophy, Religion. Includes peer reviewed journals, peer reviewed e-journals, scholarly institutional publishers, working papers. [Full-text]    

Bibliography of Asian Studies - References Western-language books, journal articles, and conference proceedings, including citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in Asian Studies. [Full-text and Index]     

Historical Abstracts with Full-Text - Core international history database now includes unique full-text coverage of nearly 200 journals and 100 books. It also provides indexing for over 1700 journals from 1964 to the present. [Full-text and Index]     

JSTOR - Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published from volume 1, issue 1. Most journals have a “moving wall” (time lag) of three to five years between the most current issue published and content available on JSTOR. [Full-text]    

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text - Indexes journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies published worldwide in the areas of literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore of all countries. Covers over 1,000 journals.

Project Muse - Full text of recent issues of over 240 journals from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literary studies, history, the visual & performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many other arts and humanities and social science disciplines.  The majority of the journals coverage is from 1997 to the present. [Full-text]