Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chinese Studies

This guide describes resources available at the UMD Libraries for research in Chinese Studies.

Find newspaper articles - ONLINE

China Daily Online(中国日报网) - China Daily is the national English-language newspaper and is one of the most authoritative newspapers in the country. It serves as a key reference point for overseas media and society. The newspaper has an average daily circulation of more than 400,000 in 150 countries and regions. Two-thirds of China Daily’s readers are government officials, think tanks and decision-makers as well as top executives from multinational corporations. [Full-text] [Chinese/English]

People's Daily Online(人民网) - The People's Daily, published worldwide with a circulation of 3 to 4 million is one of china's daily news paper. This paper is an organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China. People's daily provides direct information on the policies and viewpoints of China.  Available in Chinese, English, Japanese, French, Spanish, Russian, Arabic, and Korean. [Full-text] [Chinese/English]

Factiva - Full-text access to over 8,000 business sources including national and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites and industry (trade) sources. The example newspapers are: The Wall Street Journal Chinese edition, Dow Jones Newswires in Chinese. [Full-text] [Chinese/English] 

Historic newspapers published in China available Open Access online:  This work-in-progress website lists up Open Access newspapers published in China.  Each newspaper has a link that gives you an access to full-text images. [Full-text] [Chinese/English]

Hong Kong Old Newspaper Themed Collection - A collection of major old newspapers from Hong Kong to the present.  The example newspapers are: 香港工商日報, 香港華字日報, and Hong Kong Daily Press. [Full-text] [Chinese/English]

Late Qing and Republican-era Chinese newspapers - The Late Qing and Republican-era Chinese newspapers collection provides invaluable perspective on this critical period. The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century.  [Full-text] [Chinese] 

Nexis Uni - Nexis Uni provides full-text to news, business, and legal information. Newspapers date back to the 1970s.  Example newspapers that may be useful for Chinese Studies are: China Insight, China Law & Practice, China Pictorial, The China Post, China Today, and Asia Times - China.  [Full-text] [English]