Chinese Studies

Open Databases for China Studies Resource Guide - this guide provides an overview of open databases and free resources with primary materials for Chinese Studies research. Included in this guide are:

• National Center for Philosophy & Social Science Documentation 国家哲学社会科学文献中心 (中国社科院) - this page includes nearly 2500 journals (期刊&集刊&辑刊), 20,000 Chinese rare books (high resolution scan but with water marks). (Institutions can request institutional IP based access)
• Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers - This database collects 292 local Republican newspapers covering the period of 1911-1949.
• Old Hong Kong Newspapers - The collection provides digitized images of old Hong Kong newspapers from the library, which are accessible through the Multimedia Information System of Hong Kong Public Libraries.
• East Asian Newspapers and Periodicals 1850-1950 - From Internet Archive, The collections here include 266 East Asian (plus Singapore) newspapers, journals, and magazines published in Chinese, Korean, and Japanese languages from 1850-1950.

・Early Chinese Periodicals Online - This database provides many digitized images of Chinese language periodicals.  [Full-image] 

・East Asia Image Collection at Lafayette College - This digital archive contains photographs, negatives, postcards, rare books and slides that documented the history of imperial Japan (1868-1945), its Asian empire (1895-1945) and occupied Japan (1947-52). Images of Taiwan 台湾, Japan 日本, China 中国, Korea 朝鮮, Manchuria 満洲国, and Indonesia are included. [Full-image] 

・Wilson Center Digital Archive - This digital archive contains several historical documents related to Asia. Examples are: “LOCAL NATIONALISM" IN XINJIANG, 1957-1958," "1988 SEOUL OLYMPIC GAMES," "CHINA AND AFRICA," and "JAPANESE NUCLEAR HISTORY."  [Full-image]