Research Guides: High School Visits to McKeldin Library: Databases

Databases

In addition to books, UMD Libraries has access to hundreds of different databases, each with different articles in them. Below are some common library databases for high school students to use. These databases are multidisciplinary, which means they have information about many different topics.

Academic Search Ultimate
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.
JSTOR
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published from volume 1, issue 1. Please note, most journals have a “moving wall” (time lag) of three to five years between the most current issue published and content available on JSTOR. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides fulltext to news, business and legal information. Newspapers date back to the 1970's. Please Note: The Washington Post is no longer included in Nexis Uni.The National Newspapers Core database includes the Washington Post.

Database Searching Help

Top Five Search Strategies
This handout (provided by EBSCO) covers the top 5 strategies to improve search results when using library databases: Boolean operators, truncation, wildcard, field searching, and proximity searching.

Finding Scholarly Sources in Academic Search Ultimate

Quick Tips!

Make sure to use the Permalink when saving the link to your article!
Academic Search Ultimate is an EBSCO database; think of EBSCO as a family of databases. Searching in all EBSCO databases works the same, so if you know how to use Academic Search Ultimate, you know how to use many of our library databases.
- To add other EBSCO databases to your search, click the "Choose Databases" link above the search bars. You can select multiple EBSCO databases using the check boxes to search all at once.

Check out the below resources to help you with searching in JSTOR.

JSTOR Guide
This guide published by JSTOR will walk you through how to conduct a search using the JSTOR Database.
JSTOR Video (6:51)
This video will cover how to conduct a search using the JSTOR Database.