Research Guides: Agriculture and Natural Resources: Goeringer AREC 430

Databases & Useful Websites

AgEcon Search
This free archive of full text articles in agricultural and applied economics includes archived copies of many important journals in the field (often with archival, not current, coverage). Most of these journals are indexed in Econlit.
Congressional Publications
Access to the full text of congressional publications. Includes: hearings, legislative histories, committee prints and reports, House and Senate documents, Congressional Record, Serial Set, CRS Reports, bills, public laws, regulations...
Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, history, and legal research.
GreenFile
Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
HeinOnline
All HeinOnline Databases
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides fulltext to news, business and legal information. Newspapers date back to the 1970's. Please Note: The Washington Post is no longer included in Nexis Uni.The National Newspapers Core database includes the Washington Post.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database with over 80 million records and 1.8 billion cited references that date back to 1970. Includes over 27 thousand serial titles and 249 thousand monographs in the social, physical, life and health sciences, as well as over 44 million patent records. More information on using Scopus is available at: https://elsevier.libguides.com/Scopus.
Web of Science Core Collection
The Web of Science Core Collection provides comprehensive coverage of the sciences, social sciences, and arts, and humanities across journals, books and conference proceedings. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. The best database for finding what papers have cited other papers. Cited references can be traced forward in time. Web of Science Training Materials available here: http://wokinfo.com/training_support/training/web-of-science

National Agricultural Law Center
The Law Center Serves as the nation’s leading source of objective, scholarly, and authoritative agricultural and food law research and information, serving public and private sector stakeholders – producers, federal and state lawmakers, policymakers, land grant university faculty and academics, attorneys, and others — throughout the United States. It is the only agricultural and food law research and information facility that is independent, national in scope, and directly connected to the national agricultural information network. Check out the Research by Topic pages.
United States Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition, and Forestry Library
This webpage is for the library compilations which contain the current text of agricultural laws.

ZoteroBib
Use this website to create a short list of citations to copy to your reference list.
Zotero
Use Zotero to create a saved library of citations for multiple research projects. Zotero can also connect with Word or Google Docs to create both in-text citations and a reference list, directly in your paper.

Some of you may choose to make a video or an audio recording for your assignment. You should still create and provide a full reference list along with your video or recording, written in the correct citation style. However, in-text citations are a little different for oral formats than written papers. To orally cite something, you will need to give sufficient information about the source to your audience. Typically, this is the author, title, and date of a source. By including this information, you allow your listeners to find your original sources, as well as allow them to hear that your sources are recent and are credible.

Examples:

"The recent 2013 Law & Human Behavior article by Kahn, Byrd, and Pardini, shows that young men who have high callous-unemotional traits, such as a lack of empathy, are more likely to be arrested for serious crimes."
"In an February 25 interview with Jon Stewart on The Daily Show, Michio Kaku notes that memories can currently be uploaded into mice, and eventually this could be used to help sufferers of Alzheimer's disease."