4-H is the largest youth development organization in the United States, with about 6 million participants and over 25 million alumni!
The Maryland 4-H Youth Development Program provides a supportive setting for youth to reach their fullest potential. Children learn beneficial cognitive and life skills through community-focused, research-based, experiential educational programs. Participation is open to all youth ages 5-18. The Clover Program is open to youth ages 5-7 years and the 4-H Program serves 8-18-year-old participants. 4-H values diversity and advocates for the inclusiveness of all children regardless of background or identity.
4-H has an over 100-year tradition of voluntary action through strong public and private partnerships at federal, state, and community levels. Local volunteer leaders and youth practitioners partner with local Extension staff from the University of Maryland to provide direct leadership and educational support to young people in urban, suburban, and rural communities.
The 4-H youth development program is a group of young people engaging in various projects, events, and activities with adult and teen leaders and their families. Regardless of the programs, each 4-H group involves youth, family, and community members working and learning together.
Below are a selection of databases related to the topics in this unit. These databases are a starting point, if you need additional resources, please look at the Database Finder or contact the agriculture librarian.
Around 1,800 journals (full-text) and over 550 books and monographs in the field of Education. Access to conference papers and indexing and abstracts from thousands of journals. Book reviews and article citations (roughly 5 million).
Provides access to information from over 1000 education and education-related journals as well as a variety of non journal materials, or ERIC documents. All aspects and levels of education. 1966- present. Non-journal documents are available via microfiche; they are also online from 1993-present. The database includes an online thesaurus.
Citations to journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics.
Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Designed to teach research methods, design research projects, understand or identify new methods , conduct research, and write up findings. Includes collection of case studies, teaching datasets, and video to offer real world applications and hands-on practice for hundreds of qualitative and quantitate research methods.
The University of Maryland Family & Consumer Sciences (FCS) strives to ensure that all Maryland residents are healthy and economically successful at every stage of life through education, research, and outreach programs. We accomplish this by working with youth and families to prevent and manage chronic diseases through healthy food and physical activity choices, handling food safely, having financial literacy, health insurance literacy, and safe and healthy places to live, work, play, and learn. We help people acquire knowledge, skills, and confidence necessary to make informed decisions that affect their health and economic well-being. We help them identify health risks and then make a plan to reduce those risks. We help people make choices that reduce debt, increase savings for emergencies and long-term goals, and make spending plans based on how much they earn and what their expenses are. We work with adults, young people, schools, organizations, businesses, and communities. We develop partnerships to maximize our expertise and outreach. Our work is based on the latest research from the University of Maryland and other institutions aimed to influence policy, systems, and environmental changes.
Below are a selection of databases related to the topics in this unit. These databases are a starting point, if you need additional resources, please look at the Database Finder or contact the agriculture librarian.
Around 1,800 journals (full-text) and over 550 books and monographs in the field of Education. Access to conference papers and indexing and abstracts from thousands of journals. Book reviews and article citations (roughly 5 million).
Provides access to information from over 1000 education and education-related journals as well as a variety of non journal materials, or ERIC documents. All aspects and levels of education. 1966- present. Non-journal documents are available via microfiche; they are also online from 1993-present. The database includes an online thesaurus.
Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health
Designed to teach research methods, design research projects, understand or identify new methods , conduct research, and write up findings. Includes collection of case studies, teaching datasets, and video to offer real world applications and hands-on practice for hundreds of qualitative and quantitate research methods.
The University of Maryland Agriculture and Food Systems (AgFS) Extension Program serves the leading private industry in the state. In 2017, the market value of Maryland crops and livestock sold exceeded $2.4 billion and contributed $8.25 billion to the Maryland economy. The AgFS Program conducts applied research and provides educational programs for the production and marketing of grains, oilseeds, horticulture, floriculture, poultry, dairy and beef cattle, sheep and goats, equine, and other livestock, helping producers adopt new technologies and practices to improve profitability. As an example, Maryland agriculture has worked to conserve resources and improve water quality through new management practices such as cover crops and nutrient management planning.
Below are a selection of databases related to the topics in this unit. These databases are a starting point, if you need additional resources, please look at the Database Finder or contact the agriculture librarian.
Citations to journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics.
This free archive of full text articles in agricultural and applied economics includes archived copies of many important journals in the field (often with archival, not current, coverage).
Statistics on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns. Agricultural Statistics is published each year to meet the diverse need for a reliable reference book on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns. Time Span:1994 - present
Business Source Complete
EconLit
Designed to teach research methods, design research projects, understand or identify new methods , conduct research, and write up findings. Includes collection of case studies, teaching datasets, and video to offer real world applications and hands-on practice for hundreds of qualitative and quantitate research methods.
Peer-reviewed, full text database containing electronic book and journal titles covering the fields of science, technology and medicine. In addition to keyword searches, the image search and value added content associated with the publication can be found in the form of audio, video and datasets. Extensive coverage of the physical and biological sciences, significant numbers of journals in the social sciences, and some journals in the humanities. Dates of abstracting and indexing vary.
Web of Science Core Collection
The Web of Science Core Collection provides comprehensive coverage of the sciences, social sciences, and arts, and humanities across journals, books and conference proceedings. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. The best database for finding what papers have cited other papers. Cited references can be traced forward in time. Web of Science Training Materials available here.
Maryland’s diverse environment ranges from the mountains of the west to the shorelines along the east, and from large urban landscapes to rural forests and lakes. UME’s Environment, Natural Resources, and Sea Grant programs provide educational and technical support to residents who live, work, and play in these areas.
Balancing the economic potential and value of these vastly diverse resources with the need to conserve and protect our natural resources for today and into the future is accomplished through a mix of Extension programs such as Woodlands Stewards, Master Gardener, Master Naturalist, Master Watershed Stewards, Master Loggers, and Chesapeake Bay Landscape Professional program graduates. In addition, residents benefit from forestry, home horticulture, environmental landscaping, wildlife, energy, climate, watershed, aquaculture, and seafood expertise at strategic campus, regional, and county locations.
Below are a selection of databases related to the topics in this unit. These databases are a starting point, if you need additional resources, please look at the Database Finder or contact the agriculture librarian.
Citations to journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics.
Statistics on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns. Agricultural Statistics is published each year to meet the diverse need for a reliable reference book on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns. Time Span:1994 - present
Designed to teach research methods, design research projects, understand or identify new methods , conduct research, and write up findings. Includes collection of case studies, teaching datasets, and video to offer real world applications and hands-on practice for hundreds of qualitative and quantitate research methods.
Peer-reviewed, full text database containing electronic book and journal titles covering the fields of science, technology and medicine. In addition to keyword searches, the image search and value added content associated with the publication can be found in the form of audio, video and datasets. Extensive coverage of the physical and biological sciences, significant numbers of journals in the social sciences, and some journals in the humanities. Dates of abstracting and indexing vary.
Web of Science Core Collection
The Web of Science Core Collection provides comprehensive coverage of the sciences, social sciences, and arts, and humanities across journals, books and conference proceedings. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. The best database for finding what papers have cited other papers. Cited references can be traced forward in time. Web of Science Training Materials available here.
Each year, Forest Service scientists collaborate with one another, scientists from partner institutions, and with resource managers to write and publish thousands of peer reviewed publications in hundreds of scientific journals plus books, conference proceedings, and Forest Service reports. Research Stations also produce a variety of science synthesis publications that provide plain-language topic summaries and pathways to in-depth research. Each of these scholarly publications are available for free in the Treesearch collection of publications, now offering nearly 60,000 full text documents.
We connect Maryland residents to trusted, science-based resources to grow healthy gardens, landscapes, and communities. Send us your questions, view gardening resources, and connect with the Master Gardener Program for local classes and other learning opportunities in person. All are welcome!
Below are a selection of databases related to the topics in this unit. These databases are a starting point, if you need additional resources, please look at the Database Finder or contact the agriculture librarian.
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index
Web of Science Core Collection
The Web of Science Core Collection provides comprehensive coverage of the sciences, social sciences, and arts, and humanities across journals, books and conference proceedings. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. The best database for finding what papers have cited other papers. Cited references can be traced forward in time. Web of Science Training Materials available here.
