Research Guides: Agriculture and Natural Resources: Environmental Science

Top Resources for Environmental Science

Already consulted some of the Core Scientific Databases on the Home page and didn't find the information you need? Try consulting one of these options - these databases are especially well suited for research in Environmental Science.

GreenFile
Collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Web of Science Core Collection
The Web of Science Core Collection provides comprehensive coverage of the sciences, social sciences, and arts, and humanities across journals, books and conference proceedings. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. The best database for finding what papers have cited other papers. Cited references can be traced forward in time. Web of Science Training Materials available here: http://wokinfo.com/training_support/training/web-of-science
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database with over 80 million records and 1.8 billion cited references that date back to 1970. Includes over 27 thousand serial titles and 249 thousand monographs in the social, physical, life and health sciences, as well as over 44 million patent records. More information on using Scopus is available at: https://elsevier.libguides.com/Scopus.
Academic Search Ultimate
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.

Environmental News Sources

ClimateWire
ClimateWire covers the debate over climate policy and its effects on business, the environment and society. It covers in-depth every day the key issues that surround the debate over climate change. It deliver news-breaking coverage to the people who make, influence or will be affected by climate policy. Federal agency programs, legislation, policies and funding; State program development and implementation; International agency activities; Corporate/multi- national response to climate concerns; Kyoto implementation and Post-Kyoto negotiations; and more. Time span: 2009 to the present. Updated daily at 8 am.
Greenwire
Comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy, includes summaries of important energy and environmental policy coverage from hundreds of print, broadcast and online sources, including editorials. Greenwire's archive of key documents provides direct links to reports, analyses, memos, court cases and over 30,000 Greenwire stories. Includes new video and transcripts. State, national, and international coverage of environmental and energy-related politics, news, policy, and markets. 1996 to the present. Updated daily.

Additional Resources for Environmental Science

Looking for more information on your topic? Try expanding your search to include some of the databases listed below.

BioOne
This BioOne bibliographic database is an indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts that link to the fulltext articles available from the BioOne organization. BioOne provides a unique aggregation of over 82 high-impact bioscience research journals from more than 66 publishers.
Congressional Publications
Access to the full text of congressional publications. Includes: hearings, legislative histories, committee prints and reports, House and Senate documents, Congressional Record, Serial Set, CRS Reports, bills, public laws, regulations...
Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, history, and legal research.
Knovel
Knovel's collection includes over 2,000 leading reference works and databases from over 70 leading technical publishers and professional societies including AIAA, AIChE, ASME and NACE. Content collection includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines.
Materials Science & Engineering Database
Materials Science & Engineering Database covers topics such as metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials and deals with areas such as corrosion, molding and casting, treatment, recycling, testing, finishing, welding, and forming. In addition to scholarly publications, this resource includes patents, conference proceedings, government reports, and more.
Nexis Uni
Legal and regulatory information covering environmental sciences as part of broader collection of legal information.
Public Health
This database delivers core public health literature with centralized access to journals, dissertations, videos, news, trade publications, reports, and more. Journal results are indexed from core literature collected from a variety of publishers using appropriate public-health terminology. Covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences and biological sciences to business.
TRID
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide. 1960-present (but there is some material from the 1950s included) The PATH Database, the largest bibliographic database on intelligent transportation systems (ITS), is now available as part of TRIS.

DOSE Dictionary of Substances and Their Effects
A single source of all relevant data for the accurate assessment of the risks associated with the use of over 4, 100 chemicals of environmental concern. The information in DOSE is fully referenced and is presented in concise, easy-to-read summaries. Data include physical properties, occupational exposure limits, mammalian and avian toxicity, genotoxicity, ecotoxicity, environmental fate, plus regulatory requirements including risk and safety phrases.
ETDE World Energy Base
Information on the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy R&D; energy policy; nuclear, coal, hydrocarbon and renewable energy technologies and more. Includes over 953,500 bibliographic records from early 1995 forward. A product of the Energy Technology Data Exchange (ETDE), a program of the International Energy Agency.
Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America
This guide presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service. Arranged taxonomically, entries include introductory information with an image of the species; a summary section detailing information on each species; a concluding summary of recovery efforts; and a bibliography of contacts for further information.

International Encyclopedia of Public Health by Stella R. Quah; Kristian Heggenhougen
An authoritative and comprehensive guide to the major issues, challenges, methods, and approaches of global public health. This encyclopedia will cover all dimensions of the field, from details of specific diseases to the organization of social insurance agencies. A significant percentage of the articles will cover public health aspects of diseases and conditions. Other articles will survey aging, diet, injuries, ethical and legal subjects in public health, measurement and modeling, consumerism, anthropology and sociology, economics, the history of public health, and global issues. Edited and written by a distinguished international group of editors and contributors Heavily illustrated and abundantly cross-referenced Via ScienceDirect platform, multimedia files will provide an enhanced online experience Includes 'Further Reading' lists at the end of each article A complete subject index contained in one volume