It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Top Resources for Animal Science, Veterinary Medicine, & Zoology
Already consulted some of the Core Scientific Databases on the Home page and didn't find the information you need? Try consulting one of these options - these databases are especially well suited for research in Animal Sciences.
The National Library of Medicine's Medline database that provides abstracts and indexing for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries, and includes additional older citations and out of scope citations from Medline journals.
The world's oldest continuing database of animal biology. It is considered the world's leading taxonomic reference, and with coverage back to 1864, has long acted as the world's unofficial register of animal names.
Additional Resources for Animal Science, Veterinary Medicine, & Zoology Databases
This BioOne bibliographic database is an indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts that link to the fulltext articles available from the BioOne organization. BioOne provides a unique aggregation of over 82 high-impact bioscience research journals from more than 66 publishers.
This encyclopedia covers the full range of life sciences research, highlighting structures, processes, methods, systems and applications. Its scope includes the molecular and cellular as well as the organismal level.
A completely revised and updated version of the original work published in Germany in 1960, this edition incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community.
MedlinePlus, is a goldmine of good health information from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine. Health professionals and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is authoritative and up to date. MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 650 diseases and conditions.
You must first create an account using your @umd.edu email address to use the web version. Unlimited simultaneous users. SciFinder Scholar is published by the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) and gives you access to current high-quality scientific information in chemistry and related sciences. Content at a Glance: searching MEDLINE and Chemical Abstracts (CAPLUS) individually or at the same time; more than 15 million reactions; more than 1 billion predicted property values; more than 2 million experimental properties; the CAS REGISTRY database is updated daily; patent records from the major patent offices are available online within 2 days of the patents' issuance; sequences combined from CAS and GenBank databases, which are indexed and linked to scientific journal and patent literature.
SpringerProtocols (coverage from 1980-2015) is the largest electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols, with over 25,000 reproducible laboratory protocols in biomedical and life sciences. Based on tried and tested resources, including the essential series Methods in Molecular Biology, it covers 15 comprehensive subject collections and offers researchers access to nearly thirty years' worth of easily reproducible, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their lab. Written by renowned experts in the field and reviewed and approved by the prestigous editorial board for clarity, accuracy, and consistency, Springer Protocols is an invaluable resource for the modern research laboratory.
Covers all areas of toxicology Including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmetal pollutants, mutagens & teratogens. Covers: bibliographic citations, journals, books, tech. Reports, theses, letters, meetings, proceedings. Produced by U.S. Nat'l Lib. of Medicine.
The MDA Animal Health Program prevents and controls infectious and contagious diseases in Maryland livestock and poultry with particular emphasis on those diseases that threaten public health, endanger food supplies or threaten the economic security of the animal industries. Find information by livestock type including policies, regulations and other guidance.