Skip to main content

Literary Research in Special Collections

This guide provides an introduction to conducting literary research using materials in Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Maryland Libraries.

Works by Modernist Writers

Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Maryland houses many works by modernist authors, including T.S. Eliot, James Joyce, Djuna Barnes, D.H. Lawrence, William Faulkner and more. Among the highlights of the collections is a first edition of Ulysses by James Joyce, printed in 1922, as well as the literary first appearance of Ulysses, first serialized in parts in the American journal The Little Review in 1918.

Use the University of Maryland classic catalog to search for titles in the rare book collection by date of publication, author, or keyword. Select Advanced Search and select Marylandia and Rare Books to search the rare book collection in Special Collections and University Archives.

All rare books can be requested online and viewed in the Maryland Room, located in Hornbake Library at the University of Maryland College Park. For more information about requesting rare books, visit the guide to Using Special Collections and University Archives.

Below is a selection of works by Modernist authors available in Special Collections. Contact us with any questions.

Literary First Appearances

Literary first appearances are the first appearances in print of an author's work in a periodical. An author will often publish portions of a work serially in a magazine prior to being published in full book form.

A poem, story, or article may appear in a magazine before it is published in book form, A story may first appear in print in a periodical and later be expanded or adapted and published in book form, or a chapter or excerpt of a work may be first published in a periodical before the publication of the entire work.

Browse the collections below to discover literary first appearances available in Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Maryland. 

Related Guides