Skip to main content

Literary Research in Special Collections

This guide provides an introduction to conducting literary research using materials in Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Maryland Libraries.

Works by LGBT Authors and Poets

Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Maryland houses many works by LGBT authors and poets, including Djuna Barnes, James Baldwin, Gertrude Stein, D.H. Lawrence, and more.

Use the University of Maryland classic catalog to search for titles in the rare book collection by date of publication, author, or keyword. Select Advanced Search and select Marylandia and Rare Books to search the rare book collection in Special Collections and University Archives.

All rare books can be requested online and viewed in the Maryland Room, located in Hornbake Library at the University of Maryland College Park. For more information about requesting rare books, visit the guide to Using Special Collections and University Archives.

Below is a selection of titles from LGBT authors and poets available in Special Collections. Search the catalog for addition works, or contact us with any questions.

Paperback Pulps Collection

A small selection of modern paperbacks on LGBT topics and human sexuality is housed in Special Collections and University Archives. Published in the mid-20th century, these titles offer a glimpse into LGBT attitudes and studies during that period in history. Contact us with any questions about this collection.

Below is a selection of titles from this collection.