Research Guides: Literary Research in Special Collections: Victorian and Romantic Period

Authors and Poets from the Victorian and Romantic Periods Rare Books Collection

The Rare Books collection in Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Maryland houses many works by authors and poets from the Victorian and Romantic eras. Below is a selection of titles from the Victorian and Romantic Period in literature from Special Collections. Search the catalog for additional works, or contact us with any questions.

The lover’s tale by Alfred Tennyson
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR5566 .L5 1879a
Publication Date: London: C. Kegan Paul, 1879.
Maud: a monodrama by Alfred Tennyson
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR5567 .A1 1893
Publication Date: Hammersmith : Kelmscott Press, 1893.
Ode on the death of the duke of Wellington by Alfred Tennyson
Call Number: Rare Stacks DA68.12.W4 T32
Publication Date: London: Edward Moxon, 1852.
The princess; a medley by Alfred Tennyson
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR5571 .A1 1848
Publication Date: Boston, W. D. Ticknor, 1848.
Goblin market and other poems by Christina Rossetti
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR5237 .G62 186
Publication Date: Cambridge; London :Macmillan, 1862
The collected works of Dante Gabriel Rossetti by Dante Gabriel Rossetti
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks PR5240 .E86
Publication Date: London : Ellis and Scrutton, 1886
Sonnets and lyrical poems by Dante Gabriel Rossetti
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR5242 .E43 1894
Publication Date: Hammersmith : Kelmscott Press, 1894.
The poems of John Keats by John Keats
Call Number: Barnes PR4830 .F06
Publication Date: London, J.M. Dent & co.; New York, E.P. Dutton & co. [1906]
The poems of John Keats by John Keats
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR4830 .E94
Publication Date: Hammersmith: Kelmscott Press, 1894.
The vampyre; a tale by John William Polidori
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR4478 .A12 1819
Publication Date: London, Sherwood, Neely, and Jones, 1819.
Childe Harold’s pilgrimage. A romaunt by Lord Byron
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR4357 .A1 1812b
Publication Date: London, John Murray, 1812.
Manfred, a dramatic poem by Lord Byron
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR4365 .A1 1817d
Publication Date: London, John Murray, 1817.
The works of Lord Byron: including the suppressed poems by Lord Byron
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR4350 .E28
Publication Date: Paris: Published by A. and W. Galignani ..., 1827.
The works of Lord Byron; in verse and prose. Including his letters, journals, etc., with a sketch of his life by Lord Byron
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR4350 .E39
Publication Date: New York, A. V. Blake; Boston, Otis, Broaders, & co.; [etc., etc.] 1839.
Mazeppa : a poem by Lord Byron
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR4372 .M29 1819b
Publication Date: London : J. Murray, 1819.
The bride of Abydos: a Turkish tale by Lord Byron
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR4355 .A1 1813
Publication Date: London: Printed by T. Davison for J. Murray, 1813.
2nd edition.
Poems, chiefly in the Scottish dialect by Robert Burns
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR4300.1787 .L6
Publication Date: London, Printed for A. Strahan [etc.] Edinburgh, W. Creech, 1787.
The poetical works of Robert Burns; with his life by Robert Burns
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR4300 1808.A5
Publication Date: Alnwick, Printed by W. Davison, 1808.
Ornamented with engravings on wood by Mr. Bewick, from original designs by Mr. Thurston.
The works of Robert Burns; with an account of his life, and a criticism on his writings. To which are prefixed, some observation on the character and condition of Scottish peasantry. by Robert Burns
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR4300 1801.P3
Publication Date: Philadelphia, Printed by Budd and Bartram for Thomas Dobson, 1801.
Poems chosen out of the works of Samuel Taylor Coleridge by Samuel Taylor Coleridge
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR4478.A35 E4 1896
Publication Date: Hammersmith : Kelmscott Press, 1896.
The rime of the ancient mariner by Samuel Taylor Coleridge
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR4479 .A1 1858
Publication Date: New York, D. Appleton, 1858.
Halidon Hill: a dramatic sketch from Scottish history by Sir Walter Scott
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR5313 .H3 1822
Publication Date: Edinburgh : Printed for Archibald Constable and Co.; London : Hurst, Robinson, and Co., 1822.
The works of William Blake, poetic, symbolic, and critical by William Blake
Call Number: Rare Stacks ND497.B6 E4
Publication Date: London: B. Quaritch, 1893.
Edited with lithographs of the illustrated "Prophetic books," and a memoir and interpretation by Edwin John Ellis and William Butler Yeats.
The prelude : or, Growth of a poet’s mind. An autobiographical pom by William Wordsworth
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR5864 .A1 1850
Publication Date: New York; D. Appleton, 1850.
The white doe of Rylstone, or, The fate of the Nortons: poem by William Wordsworth
Call Number: Rare Folio PR5868 .A1 1815
Publication Date: London : Longman, Hurst, Rees, Orme, and Brown, 1815.
Poems, in two volumes by William Wordsworth
Call Number: Rare Stacks PR5850 .E07
Publication Date: London : Printed for Longman, Hurst, Rees, and Orme, 1807.
The poetical works of Wordsworth : with memoir, explanatory notes, etc. by William Wordsworth
Call Number: Barnes PR5850 .E00
Publication Date: New York: Hurst & Company, [18--]

Books About the Victorian and Romantic Period

A dream of order : the medieval ideal in nineteenth-century English literature by Alice Chandler
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks PR457 .C35 1971
Publication Date: London : Routledge & K. Paul, 1971, c1970.
The Englishman and his books in the early nineteenth century by Amy Cruse
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks PR457 .C72
Publication Date: New York, Thomas Y. Cowell Co., n.d.
Forces in modern British literature, 1885-1956 by William York Tindall
Call Number: Barnes PR471 .T5 1956
Publication Date: New York, Vintage Books, 1956
Four Victorian poets; a study of Clough, Arnold, Rossetti, Morris, with an introduction on the course of poetry from 1822-1852 by Stopford A. Brooke
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks PR593 .B7 1908
Publication Date: New York and London, G. P. Putnam’s Sons, 1908
The great Victorians by H. J. Massingham
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks DA562 .M3 1932
Publication Date: London, I. Nicholson & Watson, [1932]
The house of Blackwood : author-publisher relations in the Victorian era by David Finkelstein
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks Z325.W58 F36 2002
Publication Date: University Park : Pennsylvania State University Press, c2002
The last Pre-Raphaelite : Edward Burne-Jones and the Victorian imagination by Fiona MacCarthy
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks ND497.B8 M33 2012
Publication Date: Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 2012
Pre-Raphaelites : Victorian art and design by Tim Barringer, Jason Rosenfeld, Alison Smith
Call Number: Special Collections Folio N6767.5.P7 B37 2013
Publication Date: New Haven, [Conn.] ; London : Yale University Press, 2012
The romantic ’90s by Richard Le Gallienne
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks PR107 .L4 1926
Publication Date: London, New York : Putnam, 1926
Victorian people and ideas : a companion for the modern reader of Victorian literature by Richard D. Altick
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks DA533 .A55 1973
Publication Date: New York : Norton, 1973
Victorian publishing : the economics of book production for a mass market, 1836-1916 by Alexis Weedon
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks Z325 .W425 2003
Publication Date: Aldershot, England ; Burlington, VT : Ashgate, c2003
A Victorian rebel; the life of William Morris by Lloyd Wendell Eshleman
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks PR5083 .E75
Publication Date: New York, C. Scribner’s Sons, 1940
The Victorians and after, 1830-1914 by Guy Chapman
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks PR461 .B3 1962
Publication Date: London, Cresset, 1962.
Victorians and the machine; the literary response to technology by Herbert L. Sussman
Call Number: Special Collections Stacks PR468.T4 S8
Publication Date: Cambridge, Mass., Harvard University Press, 1968

Related Guides

William Morris and the Kelmscott Press
A guide to resources on William Morris available in Special Collections at Hornbake Library.

Search the UMD Catalog for Items in Special Collections

Use the University of Maryland classic catalog to search for titles in the rare book collection by date of publication, author, or keyword. Select Advanced Search and select Marylandia and Rare Books to search for works housed in Special Collections and University Archives.

Contact us with any questions about locating books in Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Maryland.

All rare books can be requested online and viewed in the Maryland Room, located in Hornbake Library at the University of Maryland College Park.