Skip to main content

Literary Research in Special Collections

This guide provides an introduction to conducting literary research using materials in Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Maryland Libraries.

Early Modern Literature, Medieval, and Classical Literature

Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Maryland houses many works of the early classical, medieval, modern period. Texts are in various languages, with a large portion of the collections printed in France, Spain, and England. Many of these early works vary between editions, making them ideal for examining the transmission of a text over time. The highlight of the Shakespeare-related holdings is a three volume 2nd folio of his works, published in 1632. 

Use the University of Maryland classic catalog to search for titles in the rare book collection by date of publication, author, or keyword. Select Advanced Search and select Marylandia and Rare Books to search the rare book collection in Special Collections and University Archives.

All rare books can be requested online and viewed in the Maryland Room, located in Hornbake Library at the University of Maryland College Park. For more information about requesting rare books, visit the guide to Using Special Collections and University Archives.

See below for select titles on the following topics: Works by Shakespeare, Modern Editions of Shakespeare, Early Modern Works, Works of Medieval Literature, and Classical Works. Contact us with any questions.

Works by Shakespeare

Modern Editions of Shakespeare

Early Modern Works

Works of Medieval Literature

Classical Works

Related Resource Guides