There are approximately 71,000 book titles in the Prange Collection. THe UMD Libraries, in partnership with the National Diet Libary of Japan, currently digitizing the entire book collection.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Visit this page for searching and accessing the books.
The inventory was created by the Prange Collection staff. NOTE: The list is not complete and is subject to change without notice. The copyright of the inventory remains to the Prange Collection. The inventory may be used for research purpose only.
Primary Geography of Korea, 초등한국지리: 완성, 初等朝鮮地理: 全 (Shoto Chosen Chiri: Zen), Call No. 301-0040
Published by Central Headquarters of the Korean Residents' Federation in Japan, 在日本朝鮮人聯盟中央總本部 (재일본조선인민연합 중앙본부에서), (1946)
Primary Geography of Korea is an elementary school-level textbook that was published by the Culture Department for the League of Koreans in Japan (a Korean cultural organization that advocated for the Zainichi Korean community from 1945 to 1949. The main purpose of this textbook is to educate Korean children (especially Zainichi Koreans living in Japan) about Korea's land and geographical features throughout history.
Primary Geography of Korea explores the history of Korea's wide range of climates and geographical features across its numerous cities and provinces since its founding to Post-World War 2 era. This textbook also discusses how Korea's land and infrastructure changed considerably during the Japanese occupation period (1910-1945), but managed to preserve its cultural identity despite such changes. Towards the end of this textbook, the author discusses the possibility of a new, unified Korea that would embrace the future by further developing its industrial economies through the love and support of its people.
Primary Geography of Korea (CENSORED), 초등한국지리: 완성 (검열됨), 初等朝鮮地理: 全 (Shoto Chosen Chiri: Zen), Call No. 301-0040g This is the censored galley-proof of the item above (Call No.#301-0040).
Published by Central Headquarters of the Korean Residents' Federation in Japan, 在日本朝鮮人聯盟中央總本部 (재일본조선인민연합 중앙본부에서), (1946)
This is the draft version of Primary Geography of Korea, which was censored by the Civil Censorship Detachment (CCD) during the Post-World War 2 occupation of Japan (1945-1952). Quite similar to the official published version of Primary Geography of Korea, this draft version describes the history of Korea's climates and geographical features throughout its many cities and provinces, and how they changed during the Japanese occupation period (1910-1945).
There are several factors why this draft version of Primary Geography of Korea was ultimately censored by the CCD. Throughout this textbook, the author discusses how the Korean working class was often exploited and never properly compensated for their work by both the Korean and Japanese elite, who dominated Korea's economy by selling food and merchandise to the Korean working class at extremely high prices. Furthermore, the author explains that during this time period (1946), South Korea was constantly monitored and controlled by the United States government, while North Korea was managed less strictly by the Soviet Union (who allowed the North Korean people to directly participate in their country's politics. Due to both South Korea and North Korea lacking many essential resources that were only produced in each other's territories, the author strongly believes the country must be re-united soon in order to pave the future for a new Korea one day. In conclusion, this elementary school textbook was censored by the CCD (and United States government) in order to prevent the spread of communism throughout East Asia, which underwent much political and social changes during the Post-World War 2 era.
Aesop's Fables, 이소브 이야기 (Isobu iyagi), Call No. 301-0047
Published by Central Headquarters of the Korean Residents' Federation in Japan, 在日本朝鮮人聯盟中央總本部文敎部 (재일본조선인민단 중앙본부 문화교육부에서), (1946)
This novel is a Korean-translated version of Aesop's Fables, and was published by the Korean Federation of Education and Culture in Japan. Described In the foreword, Aesop was a Greek slave born in 620AD. Due to his incredible wisdom and talent in storytelling, Aesop was granted freedom by his masters. After being freed, Aesop traveled around the world telling stories about people and animals, and included a moral lesson for each story.
The translator explains that her intention for translating Aesop's Fables is for future generations of Korean children to learn how to read and understand Korean correctly, and genuinely appreciate this timeless collection of stories. The novel contains a total of 80 stories (the majority of stories are original versions from Aesop's Fables, but several stories are about Korean idioms and folklore, such as "Three-inch Tongue" (세치의 혀). This translated version of Aesop's Fables was proofread by Mr. Chae Jeong-geun (채정근), and illustrated by Mr. Han Hong-taek (한홍택).
Model Writing Collection for Elementary School Students, 소학생모범작문집 (Sohak-seng Mo-bum Jak-moon-jib) Call No. 301-0060
Published by 在日本朝鮮人聯盟中央總本部文敎部 (재일본조선인민단 중앙본부 문화교육부에서), 1946
This anthology showcases exemplary narratives and other writing pieces by Korean elementary school students shortly after the end of World War 2. The students' writing pieces all focus on different topics, but mostly relate to their personal lives and experiences of growing up in Korea (as well as Japan and China).
The first narrative, "The Homeland that I Longed For," is written by a 6th grade student named Lee Moon-Yong (이문용). He was born in Seoul and lived there for three years. From Age 3 to 6, Lee Moon-Yong lived in the Chinese city of Tianjin, which was occupied by the Empire of Japan from 1937 to 1945. When he attended the local Japanese elementary school, Lee Moon-Yong was lonely because there were only two other Korean students in his classroom, and he was often bullied by other classmates. After World War 2 ended, Lee Moon-Yong was overjoyed that his home country was now liberated. Shortly after liberation, his family moved to the Itaewon district of Seoul, and began attending middle school. At the end of his narrative, Lee Mun-Yong wished for Korea to be re-united so that he can meet his grandparents once again.
Another narrative is titled "Rose of Sharon" (목근화), named after Korea's national flower (and symbol of resistance to Japanese colonial rule). In this narrative, the student who wrote this narrative reminisces about her teacher, Mr. Ko, who died in prison for teaching his students about the Rose of Sharon and other nationalist topics. However, the student mentions that her teacher was one of many heroes who died for their country's liberation, which has finally been achieved. In this anthology, there are many other narratives that discuss similar themes including liberation, unification, and their hometowns.
Elementary Korean: Grade 1, 초등국어 (Cho-doong Kook-heo), Call No. 301-0062
Published by the Training and Education Bureau, 조련문교국 (1947)
Elementary Korean: Grade 1 is an elementary school workbook for 1st grade Korean students. Although this workbook does not include any stories, the "setting" takes place in the Korean elementary school, by which the audience (1st grade students) is introduced to the everyday lives and routines of elementary school students. The workbook extensively reviews vocabulary words that are fundamental and age-appropriate for the 1st grade curriculum.
Elementary Korean: Grade 1 is highly reminiscent to modern-day Korean language workbooks for elementary school students. The workbook contains many detailed illustrations that accompany each vocabulary word. Furthermore, the workbook provides a variety of exercises (word-sorts, sentence recitations) that help students learn basic Korean vocabulary, grammar and sentence structure. Elementary Korean: Grade 1 is one of many workbooks that were intended to promote the teaching of Hangul (Korean language alphabet) in Zainichi Korean schools throughout Japan.
