There are 13,799 magazine titles in the Prange Collection. The entire magazine collection has been microfilmed, and they are available at several locations, including the National Diet Library of Japan (NDL). For a list of other institutions that also hold a set of the microfiche, see this page.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Visit this page for searching and accessing the magazines.
The inventory below was created by the Prange Collection staff. NOTE: The list is not complete and is subject to change without notice. The copyright of the inventory remains to the Prange Collection. The inventory may be used for research purpose only. If you have any questions, please contact us.
Children's News (Volume #1), 
어린이 通信 (Orini tsushin), 子ども 通信, Call No. O120)
Holdings: 1巻1号(1946年7月)-1巻8号(1946年10月)
Published by Central Headquarters of the Korean Residents' Federation in Japan, 在日本朝鮮人連盟中央総本部
Children's News is a Korean-published magazine intended for Korean children who lived in Japan during the Post-World War 2 period. This magazine was published by the Central Headquarters of the Korean Residents' Federation in Japan, and issued educational articles written by various Zainichi Korean authors in Japan.
The very first volume of Children's News magazine was printed on June 25th, 1946. It was then published shortly after on July 1st, 1946 and began to issue future volumes twice per month (1st and 15th day of each month). for the first volume, the magazine included a total of eleven publications from different authors. Several articles discuss the urgent need for the Korean people (both living in the mainland and abroad) to unite and modernize its society in order to compete with other developed countries at the time. Other articles describe the Korean people's emotions of remorse (for how their nationality was suppressed by Japan, but also jubilation because Korean residents of Japan can now freely voice their opinions in media and society. Lastly, the magazine contains publications about educational topics such as biology (internal structure of cells) and the traditional Korean story of Chunhyang (춘향전).
Volumes #2 to #6 of Children's News (available in the Prange Collection) also introduce similar topics of patriotism and educational topics to the Korean children living in Japan during the Post-World War 2 era.
Our Friend (Volume #16), 우리 동무 (Uri Tong-mu), 私たちの 仲間, Call No. U78
Holdings: No.16 (1949年1月) - 21号 (1949年7月)
Published by The Lives of Joseon's People (Chosun Shin-Min Seng-Sa), 조선 신민 생사, 朝鮮 神民 生死
Our Friend is a Korean-published magazine that covers a variety of educational subjects for young children who lived in Japan during the Post-War Occupation era. Our Friend Volume #16 was released in January 1949 and discusses several topics related to Korean culture. For example, the first writing-piece describes traditional activities during the Korean New Year such as paying respects to elders, children flying kites in the sky, and girls playing seesaw-board jumping.
Our Friend Volume #16 also discusses educational subjects related to other cultures from around the world. In another writing-piece, the reader is introduced to different types of modern-architecture from different countries such as China, Egypt, Antarctica, and the United States of America. Another article explains the scientific concept of star constellations, including how to identify constellations and where they can be viewed across the world. This magazine also provides instructions for daily chores that children should know, such as learning how to set-up a charcoal furnace to cook food and heat-up their homes. In conclusion, Our Friend magazine covers many important social and educational topics (culture, science, classic stories) that Korean children should know in order to become happy and successful later in their lives.
Volumes #17 to #21 of Our Friend (available in the Prange Collection) also introduce similar topics of social, cultural and educational topics to the Korean children living in Japan during the Post-World War 2 era.
Watch Fire, 봉화 (Bong-hwa), 奉化 , Call No. P52)
Holdings: 1号(1949年6月)
Published by Korean Literary Society in Japan, 在日本 朝鮮 文学会
Watch Fire is a Korean-published magazine that discusses important social-political topics that were on-going during the Occupied Japan period (specifically, between 1948 and 1949). There are several articles that were either heavily censored or deleted from the magazine. In this summary, we will briefly explore two articles that provide background information about controversial subjects related to social dynamics between Korea, Japan and the United States.
From pages 7 to 9, the censored article, "New Economic Agreement" (신 경제 協定, Shin Kyung-Jeh Kyōtei) examines the trade relations between the Republic of Korea and the United States of America. From the anonymous author's perspective, the political leaders of Korea's national assembly are considered as "Rats" by the United States Government, who is viewed as the "New Master" of Korea. In his article, the author believes the United States intentionally forced the Republic of Korea to only purchase foreign goods from the United States, and that American citizens were granted unrestricted access to travel and conduct business throughout Korea. Furthermore, the Republic of Korea would not be allowed to sell any important goods to other countries if they were required by the United States. In the author's direct words, he believes the United States has the power to force this unequal treaty because the Republic of Korea is a "backward nation and has no outstanding products of its own." In return, the United States would provide the Korean government with weapons to bring order to the country by purging "communists" and "anarchists" who seek to undermine the United States government. Hence, the author states that by signing this agreement, the Republic of Korea has now become America's "slave".
The primary reason why New Economic Agreement was heavily censored by the CCD is because the United States government was ultimately portrayed as the enemy who does not care about Korea's independence and unification. After World War 2, the United States was considered as "Protector of the Free World." However, because the author believes Korea will never be truly free under the U.S. government, New Economic Agreement was heavily censored in order to prevent "rebellion" and "unrest" amongst the Korean people.
From pages 43 to 46, the article, "The Crowd" (군중, Khoon-Joong) was written by Park Won-Joon (박원준, 樸元俊), and discusses what happened during the aftermath of the Hanshin Education Incident. In both Osaka Prefecture and Kobe Prefecture, many Zainichi Korean students organized protests against the closing of private Korean-ethnic schools in Japan. The Protests occurred from April 10th to April 24th (1948), shortly after the United States and Japanese governments decided to close the Korean-ethnic schools due to the fear of North Korean communists having already infiltrated these schools and spreading "rebellion" within the local Korean communities. In his article, Park Won-Joon explains that despite the Korean students' struggle to protect their national language and culture, many Koreans were being "arrested and cross-examined by the Japanese police." Furthermore, Koreans were no longer allowed to enter the city of Kobe, and Korean residents of Kobe were prohibited to meet each other in group settings. According to newspaper sources, Park Won-Joon stresses that at least 1,700 Koreans were arrested in Kobe, and other Koreans were arrested in other cities including Osaka and Kyoto. The author concludes by stating that Korean spies (who report to the Japanese police) are only giving power to the "international fascist power" and therefore, hindering the Korean people from gaining true independence for their homeland.
The Crowd was censored by the CCD because during the time when this article was published (1949), the Korean people were yearning for reunification between South and North Korea, which were occupied by American and Soviet military forces at the time. The Crowd sheds light on the unfair conditions of how Korean student protestors were treated after being imprisoned by the Japanese police and American military. Although this article explains the chaotic situation after the student protests, the U.S. government did not want the Korean residents of Japan to harbor hatred towards America (and therefore, join the North Korean Communist Party).
Choren bunka/朝聯文化 (Call No. C156)
Holdings: 1巻1号(1946年4月)-2輯(1946年10月)
Published by 在日本朝鮮人連盟中央総本部文化部
Hakumin/白民 (Call No. H123.1)
Holdings: 2巻1号(1948年2月)
Published by 白民社 (Hakuminsha)
Korai Bungei/高麗文芸 (Call No. K1695)
Holdings: 9,10号(1946年7月)
Published by 高麗文芸社 (Korai Bungeisha)
Other example magazines titles are : 自由朝鮮, 経済文化, 青年, 朝聯文化, 朝鮮新民報
