French Language & Literature

Database of most imprints (books, pamphlets, and broadsides) published in English anywhere or published in any language in English-speaking countries, appearing from 1473 to 1700. One can search the full ASCII text of selected* documents and view both the text and the corresponding original page images. Useful for research in all subject areas during the early modern period. Also helpful to study the history of books and printing.

The Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Parts I and II) is a full-text searchable digital database of over 180,00 English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of works from the Americas. It includes a variety of materials, from books and directories, Bibles and sheet music to sermons and advertisements, Includes both well-known and lesser-known authors and canonical titles of the period as well as contemporary works that analyze and debate those same titles.

LION contains 500,000 primary literary texts spanning the eighth century to the present day. It also contains up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference resources. Contemporary criticism is available through the full text of over 425 literature journals. The literary index, the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), is fully integrated and provides researchers one of the most important bibliographic sources for literature studies. Helpful companions and reference resources from key publishers such as Routledge, Oxford University Press, and Cambridge University Press help provide context to authors and works. Works of English and American literature, literary criticism and biographies. 8th century to the present. Only 25 simultaneous users allowed.

Rare printed journals, periodicals and newspapers of the long Eighteenth century (1680-1820) from the Bodleian Library at Oxford, the British Library, and other prominent collections. All items are full-text searchable.

A comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed Open Access books and other types of scholarly content from a variety of sources. Content in the language originally published.

UMD has access, no need to Sign In once on the Oxford page. Accessing remotely? Follow regular remote sign in procedures for databases. Oxford Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of The Grove Dictionary of Art with quarterly additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links and all the sophisticated search advantages possible with an online reference source.

Oxford Scholarship Online offers access to thousands of academic works from the celebrated scholarly list of Oxford University Press. Titles available in this collection are from the 2019 front list in the areas of Classical Studies, History, Linguistics, Literature, and Music.

Extremely useful reference source providing coverage of major topics in literary studies written by the world's leading scholars. The Libraries have purchased the Foundation Collection and 2012-2022. Click on the unlocked availability option on the left hand side to access the available essays.

Ebrary is a collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas. In order to view, copy, or print you will need to install the ebrary Reader software. Links to download the reader are available from the main page after you connect. Truncation is not supported. Searches in ISSN, ISBN, and Year are done as Text searches. All searches report 'Hits were found' rather than the number of hits. Boolean NOT and OR searches are not supported.