Research Guides: French Language & Literature: Language Learning and Reference

Please see the following resources for language reference materials and for linguistic research

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
These online bilingual dictionaries presently contain 1.2 million words and phrases (available in French, German, Italian, Spanish, Russian and Chinese). The dictionaries can be searched or browsed, phonetic symbols are explained, and references can be emailed or exported to bibliographical software. Other features include audible pronunciation, grammatical notes, guides to cultural events of each country, and hints for writing in a variety of situations and formats. (3 simultaneous user limit)
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Indexes and summarizes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and book reviews on linguistics and its sub-disciplines. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Oxford Handbooks: Linguistics
Extremely useful reference source providing coverage of major topics in linguistics and second language acquisition, written by the world's leading scholars. The Libraries have purchased the Foundation Collection and 2012-2022. Click on the unlocked availability option on the left hand side to access the available essays

There are many additional resources outside of the library for practicing and learning language skills

I won't vouch for one over the other as there are pluses and minuses to each app/system, but I personally use Babbel to learn grammar (boring, but effective) and Duolingo for vocab. Mostly, however, I find reading in other languages to be the most effective and making sure to stop when I don't understand to learn the words and structures and to figure it out like a puzzle.

Berlitz
Berlitz is a standard language learning and assessment program recognized around the world.
Fluent Forever
Interesting concept for language learning app

Fluent Forever by Gabriel Wyner
ISBN: 9780385348119
Publication Date: 2014-08-05
Very interesting book looking at some very basic principles of language learning that may help understand how to keep some of the lessons floating around your head longer.

Babbel
Another language learning app
Duolingo
Another language app