Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

British and U.S. Primary Sources

This is a guide to American and British primary source material from ca. 1500 to the 20th century available electronically, on microform and in the Special Collections at the University of Maryland Libraries

English and American Literature Microforms

English and American Literature Microform Collections

This is a partial list of major literature collections in microfilm, microfiche, microcard and microprint format in the UMCP Libraries.  All of these collections are held in McKeldin Library and can be found in McKeldin's Periodicals Room.

There are multiple ways to use this guide. The resources are listed alphabetically. Clicking on the call number will open a link to the full catalog record in Worldcat. Clicking on the 'Full Description' will expand the text for an overview of that collection. Print and online indexes and finding aids, as well as digitized versions of the collections, are listed when available. Some of these are outside links not maintained by the University. 

Bodleian Manuscripts

British Literary Manuscripts from Bodleian Library, Oxford Series one, The English Renaissance, c. 1500-c.1700

Location & Call Number: Microfilm PR418.M34B7 (43 Reels)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Cambridge Manuscripts

British Literary Manuscripts from Cambridge University Library Series Two: The English Renaissance, c. 1500-c. 1700

Location & Call Number: McK Microfilm PR1120.B75 1984 (35 Reels)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Folger Manuscripts

British Literary Manuscripts from the Folger Shakespeare Library, Washington D.C. The English Renaissance Literature from the Tudor Period to the Restoration c. 1500-c. 1700.

Location & Call Number: McK Microfilm PR1121.B75 part 1 (reels 3,4,9,10,14) and part 2 (reel 21) [6 Reels]

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Chaucer Society Publications

Chaucer Society, London. Publications. First Series, v. 1-99, 1869-1912. Series 2, v. 1-56, 1869-1917.

Location Code & Call Number: MCR-PER M-CARD (523 Cards)

Click to show the full description

Colonial Discourses

Colonial Discourses: Series One: Women, Travel, and Empire, 1660-1914. Part 1: Early Travel Accounts by Women and Women's Experiences in India, Africa, Australasia, and Canada.

Location  Code & Call Number MCK-PER PR778.T72 1999 (25 Reels)

Click for publisher's description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Early Periodicals

Early British Periodicals

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-FILM AP4 .E2 (902 Reels)

Click to show the full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Emily Dickinson Manuscripts

The Emily Dickinson Manuscripts, 1844-ca. 1892

Location & Call Number: McK Microfilm PS1541.A1 1844A (3 Reels)

Click to show the full description

Ladies of Llangollen

Ladies of Llangollen : letters and journals of Lady Eleanor Butler (1739-1829) and Sarah Ponsonby (1755-1831) from the National Library of Wales.

Call Number: DA745.L79 L33 1997 (5 Reels)

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Print Listing and Guide to the Collection

Medieval and early modern women

Medieval and early modern women. Part 1, Manuscripts from the British Library, London AND Part 2, Household books, correspondence, and manuscripts owned by women from the British Library, London 

Call Number: HQ1143 .M42 2000 (26 Reels)

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Online reel guide

"Michael Field" & fin-de-siècle culture and society

"Michael Field" & fin-de-siècle culture and society : the journals, 1868-1914, and the correspondence of Katharine Bradley and Edith Cooper

Call Number: PR4699.F5 Z46 2003 (13 Reels)

Click to see full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

The Nineteenth Century

The Nineteenth Century: General Collection.

 

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-FICHE D351.N56 1986

Click to show fill description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

The Nineteenth Century: Women Writers: Specialist Collection.

 

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-FICHE PR1143.W65 1988

Click to show the full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Nineteenth century literary manuscripts

Nineteenth Century Literary Manuscripts Part 1

Call Number: PR1301.N56 1996 pt. 1 (20 Reels)

Click to show full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Nineteenth Century Literary Manuscripts Part 2

Call Number: PR1301.N56 1996 pt.2 (7 Reels)

Click to show the full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Popular Literature in Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century Britain: The Robert White Collection of Chapbooks

Popular Literature in Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century Britain: The Robert White Collection of Chapbooks from the University Library, Newcastle Upon Tyne.

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-FILM PR973.U55 1985 (16 Reels)

Click to show the full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

British Library Commonplace Books

Renaissance commonplace books from the British Library, London

Location Code & Call Number: MCR-PER M-FILM PN6245 .R462 2002 (15 Reels)

Click for publisher's description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Huntington Commonplace Books

Renaissance commonplace books from the Huntington Library

Location Code & Call Number: MCR-PER M-FILM PN6245 .R46 1994 (4 Reels)

Click for publisher's description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Sloane Commonplace Books

Renaissance commonplace books from the Sloane Collection at the British Library

Location Code & Call Number: MCR-PER M-FILM PN6244 .R46 2006 (21 Reels)

Click for publisher's description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Shakespeare in Context

Shakespeare in Context.

Location Code & Call Number: MCK-PER M-FILM PR2893.S35 1982 (8 Reels)

Click to show the full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection:

Washington Irving Papers

The Washington Irving Papers, 1759-1898

 

Location & Call Number:  Mck Microfilm PS2080.5.A6 1759a  (4 Reels)

Click to show the full description

The following source provides more detailed information about the contents of each microfilm reel in the collection: