British and U.S. Primary Sources

Based on the American Antiquarian Society's landmark collection, this full-color digital edition offers fully searchable facsimile images of approx. 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.

This collection of digitized manuscripts, works of art, recent American Indian newspapers, rare books, photographs, and maps, drawn from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago, documents American Indian life over four centuries.

Gale Primary Sources is a research platform that allows for cross searching amongst multiple Gale collections. It provides a seamless research experience that enables scholars to search across millions of pages of primary sources in the humanities from the 15th to the 20th centuries. Databases in Artemis include: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century British Newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals, The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2011, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010, The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003, The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926, The Making of the Modern World, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Sabin Americana, 1500-1926, and The Times Digital Archive

Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% of these plays have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

Contains approximately 1,462 plays by 233 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Some 600 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors.

Black Drama, now in its third edition, contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. More than 40 percent of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others

Contains full text and bibliographic information about the black community and its leaders, from the 1700's to present times. Includes monographs, essays, articles, speeches, interviews, and other publications. Contains many never before published materials. Most significant, for the first time in electronic format, newspaper articles from the Black Panther Party publication is made available.

Digitized records of the Board of Trade, the Secretary of State for the Southern Department, and the Secretary of State for the Colonies, who together were responsible for administering British colonies in mainland North America and the Caribbean, covering the period from the 1660s to the 1780s, with some earlier and later material. Records include letters, charters and commissions, orders to officials, court records, maps and building plans, printed pamphlets and newspapers, acts of colonial assemblies, military reports, and shipping lists, among others. They document many aspects of colonial life, including the development of colonial institutions, education, economic and industrial development, relations with Native Americans, warfare, religion, slavery, immigration, and many others.

Access to the full text of congressional publications. Includes: hearings, legislative histories, committee prints and reports, House and Senate documents, Congressional Record, Serial Set, CRS Reports, bills, public laws, regulations...
Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, history, and legal research.

This digital collection contains virtually every books, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period. American History. Contains books, pamphlets, games, periodicals, etc. 17th and 18th Century

Based on the noted American Bibliography, 1801-1819, provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century.

Fully-searchable database of full-text primary resources dating from 1492 to 1969. Includes Exploration journals and logs, correspondence, diaries; official government papers; missionary papers; travel writing; slave papers; maps; marketing posters; photographs; and Illustrations, with many in color.

The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) is a listing of works published between 1473 and 1800. It covers monographs and serials printed before 1801; printed in the British Isles, Colonial America, United States of America (1776-1800), Canada, or territories governed by Britain, in all languages; and printed in any other part of the world, wholly or partly in English or other British vernaculars.

Rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, it comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.

A shared, growing digital repository of millions of books and periodical volumes scanned from major research libraries, including those digitized by institutional effort and by both Google and the Internet Archive. Offers full PDF downloading of works in the public domain.

Latino Literature brings together more than 100,000 pages pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Among the gems of the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays.

LION contains 500,000 primary literary texts spanning the eighth century to the present day. It also contains up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference resources. Contemporary criticism is available through the full text of over 425 literature journals. The literary index, the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), is fully integrated and provides researchers one of the most important bibliographic sources for literature studies. Helpful companions and reference resources from key publishers such as Routledge, Oxford University Press, and Cambridge University Press help provide context to authors and works.

Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Full-text online archive of historical legal treatises from the United States and Great Britain. The collection covers nearly every aspect of law, encompassing a range of analytical, theoretical, and practical literature. Gift of Louis M. Riehl, University of Maryland School of Law Class of 1938.

Very comprehensive and valuable collection for researching the literature of economics and business dating from the last half of the 15th century to the early 20th century. The collection combines two pre-eminent collections: the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, England, and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard University Graduate School of Business Administration. Includes Includes books, serials, pamphlets, and more.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is a growing collection of archives which brings together rare primary source materials monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs and more from the long nineteenth century (1789-1914.) UMD has access to archives 1-12.

Includes personal narratives, in the form of letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Much of the material is previously unpublished. Ellis Island Oral History interviews, indexed and searchable for the first time, are included, along with thousands of political cartoons. The materials begin around 1840 and extend to the present, focusing heavily on the period from 1890 to 1920. People from many countries are represented, including more recent waves of immigrants from Latin America and Asia.

North American Indian Drama contains 244 plays by 48 playwrights. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, and hard to find, representing groups such as Cherokee, M?tis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others. North American Indian Drama allows in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.

This database integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories (in audio and transcript form), personal writings, photographs from the Bureau of Indian Affairs and other collections, and drawings, documenting native American peoples throughout the country.

North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies. Each year we'll add more than 20,000 new records. The collection also includes approximately 10,500 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources.

North American Women's Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. More than 30% of the plays in the collection have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

Electronic collection of womens diaries and correspondence from Colonial times to 1950. Coverage includes: all age groups and life stages, a wide range of ethnicities, many geographical regions, the famous, and the not so famous. More than 1,500 biographies are also included.

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, this fully searchable digital archive is an essential tool for the study of the western hemisphere. It provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and events of the times.

Collection of digitized books, pamphlets, manuscripts, court records, maps, and images documenting many aspects of transatlantic slavery and abolition. Subjects include slavery in the early Americas, the middle passage, religion, resistance and revolt, urban slavery, the underground railroad, the abolition movement, freedmen, education, slavery in the Islamic world, and the legacy and persistence of slavery.

Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 1,905 plays by 419 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. More than 150 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors.

Digitized visual and rare print primary sources materials in three collections: Spiritualism, Sensation, and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; and Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment.

WPrimary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, reviews, pamphlets, personal narratives, advice literature, training guides, interviews and teaching tools. 1600-2000.

Full text of women's writings in English or in English translation from 1400 to 1850. Includes novels, poems, drama, and non-fiction The Renaissance Women Online (RWO) database is a subset of this database.

Full text of more than 2,800 novels published between 1851 and 1875.