It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a guide to American and British primary source material from ca. 1500 to the 20th century available electronically, on microform and in the Special Collections at the University of Maryland Libraries
17th and 18th Century Nichols Collection Newspapers Part of the British Library Newspapers collection, 17th and 18th Century Nichols Collection Newspapers is full text, fully searchable digital archive of newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom.
Part of the British Library Newspapers collection, 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers is a full-text, fully searchable digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom.
Two of a five-series periodical collection covering British life in the Victorian age. Series 1: New Readerships includes a wide variety of periodicals that reflect the changes and influences in political and rural life, children's literature and leisure. Series II: Empire covers the expansion of the Empire, addressing economic as well as non-mercantile aspects of British expansionism. The two series, which can be searched separately or together, draw from the collections of the British Library, National Library of Scotland, National Library of Australia and National Library of South Africa.
Artemis Primary Sources is a research platform that allows for cross searching amongst multiple Gale collections. It provides a seamless research experience that enables scholars to search across millions of pages of primary sources in the humanities from the 15th to the 20th centuries. Databases in Artemis include: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 17th and 18th Century Nichols Collection Newspapers, British Library Newspapers (Parts I-IV), 19th Century UK Periodicals, The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2011, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010, The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003, The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926, The Making of the Modern World, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Sabin Americana, 1500-1926, The Times Digital Archive, and The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archives.
The British Library Newspapers collection feature London national newspapers, English regional papers, and newspapers from Scotland, Northern Ireland, and Wales. It includes the following four collections which can be searched separately or together: Part I: 47 publications from 1800-1900; Part II: 22 publications from 1800-1900; Part III: 35 publications from 1741-1950; and Part IV: 23 publications from 1732-1950.
British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
Rare printed journals, periodicals and newspapers of the long Eighteenth century (1680-1820) from the Bodleian Library at Oxford, the British Library, and other prominent collections. All items are full-text searchable.
NOTE: Download of full book PDF files may require login with University ID. A shared, growing digital repository of millions of books and periodical volumes scanned from major research libraries, including those digitized by institutional effort and by both Google and the Internet Archive. Offers full-text searching and advanced bibliographic search capabilities (such as author, title, publisher, language, etc.), and full PDF downloading of works in the public domain. One feature includes the ability to select and place items from the database into a tailor made collection that may be kept private to the user or shared publicly with others. Items that are saved to collections can be searched independently of the rest of the repository, allowing users to perform focused searches on subsets of HathiTrust materials.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 provides access to the entire run of the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper. High-quality color facsimile images bring to life more than 150 years of social, political and cultural history for researchers. Areas covered include politics, social history, fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising and graphic design, as well as genealogy.
Digitized runs of at least 20 consecutive years of the following 18th and 19th century journals: Gentleman's Magazine, The Annual Register, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, Notes and Queries, The Builder, and Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine.
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published from volume 1, issue 1. Please note, most journals have a “moving wall” (time lag) of three to five years between the most current issue published and content available on JSTOR. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
This is the most comprehensive and valuable collection in existence for researching the literature of economics and business dating from the last half of the 15th century to the early 20th century. The collection combines two pre-eminent collections: the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, England, and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard University Graduate School of Business Administration.
Searching for ISSNs or ISBNs is not supported. Truncation in author names is not supported.
Digital editions of culturally significant magazines from 1890 to 1922 with magazines at its core the MJP also offers a range of genres that extends to the digital publication of books directly connected to modernist periodicals and other supporting materials for periodical study.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides fulltext to news, business and legal information. Newspapers date back to the 1970's. Please Note: The Washington Post is no longer included in Nexis Uni.The National Newspapers Core database includes the Washington Post.
With Nexis Uni, you can:
- Self-register for an ID and password, allowing for a more personalized
research experience including Alerts set-up, saved searches, and more.
- Search across all content at once and use results visualization to
identify key concepts quickly.
- Take advantage of discipline pages for a quick, at-a-glance view of
relevant sources, searches, and topics.
- Share documents and folders in a collaborative workspace for group
- Use a range of preferred tech devices—laptop, tablet or mobile—thanks
to a responsive site design.
Fully searchable online editions (both full-page facsimiles and textual transcripts) of the following nineteenth-century periodicals and newspapers: Monthly Repository (1806-1837), Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833), Northern Star (1838-1852), Leader (1850-1860), English Woman's Journal (1858-1864), Tomahawk (1867-1870), and Publishers' Circular (1880-1890).
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is a growing collection of archives which brings together rare primary source materials monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs and more from the long nineteenth century (1789-1914.) The UM Libraries have purchased four of the archives which can be searched together or separately: British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, Literature: High and Popular Culture; Photography: The World Through The Lens; and Women: Transnational Networks.
An online archive of digitized, full-image journal articles, Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) provides access to hundreds of scholarly journals. Coverage includes U.S. and international scholarly journal literature in the arts, humanities and social sciences disciplines with date coverage ranging from 1802 to 2000. NOTE: Current journal issues are not included in PAO but may be covered in other journal collections (use Find It).
The Times Digital Archive is a full-image online archive of every page published by The Times [London] from 1785-1985. The text within the images is fully searchable at the article level. Users can easily search news articles, obituaries, advertising and classifieds — virtually everything that appeared in the newspaper.
Includes the complete run of the Times Literary Supplement from 1902-2012, with over 300,000 reviews ,letters, poems and articles . Provides contemporary criticism searchable by article type,date,editor and translator.