Skip to Main Content
University of Maryland Libraries Logo
RESEARCH GUIDES

Maryland-Delaware-District of Columbia State Plan

This guide helps federal depository libraries coordinate the actions of the individual libraries that make up the Federal Depository Library System of Maryland, Delaware, and the District of Columbia in order to provide better service to our public.

Goal and Purpose

Goal: To meet the legal and program requirements for regional federal depository libraries in the FDLP.

Purpose: The Government Documents Collection of McKeldin Library at the University of Maryland at College Park serves as the regional for 50 selective depositories in two states (Maryland and Delaware) and one "federally-designated geographic area" (District of Columbia). As it serves the Washington, DC locale, it supports the federal agency library selectives clustered in this area. The University of Maryland Libraries provides services and support to selective libraries in its region as set forth in the U.S. Code. The official text of the code states regionals will:

“retain at least one copy of all Government publications either in printed or microfacsimile form (except those authorized to be discarded by the Superintendent of Documents); and within the region served will provide interlibrary loan, reference service, and assistance for depository libraries in the disposal of unwanted Government publications… The libraries designated as regional depositories may permit depository libraries, within the areas served by them, to dispose of Government publications which they have retained for five years after first offering them to other depository libraries within their area, then to other libraries” (44 § 1912).

Info

Collection Management

  • To maintain a regional collection that adheres to the legal requirements as established by the FDLP. 

  • To support the disposal of depository materials by selective federal depository libraries by providing instruction and overseeing the region’s needs and offers.

Support Services

  • To provide support services such as interlibrary loan, advice relating to the depository program and procedures.

  • Copies documents related to the functions of the selective depository library.

To best ensure the quality, ease, and breadth of free public access to well-maintained collections in the region, the Government Documents Collection also:

  • Provides an online LISTSERV, GOVDOC-TALK, to facilitate electronic communication within the region.

  • Provides training to selectives based on selectives’ training needs.

  • Hosts an annual meeting of depository libraries in the region to present and discuss common concerns of the regional community.