Skip to main content

Microfilm in the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library

Figuring out microfilm in the Performing Arts Library

Our Theatre Microforms

We have 9 collections of microfilm for theatre. You can find them in the catalog by clicking the "Find it at UMD!" links below the collection names.

Performance sites of the ancient world: a photographic survey - by Clifford Ashby
Find it at UMD!

Drama on the world stage: prompt books and performance records. Series one, The Folger Shakespeare Library, Washington, D.C.
Microfilm reprint of original NON-Shakespeare prompt books published between 1608 and ca. 1930.
Find it at UMD!

American theatre periodicals of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries
Features the most complete runs available of selected periodicals dating from 1805 to 1929, and issued from Baltimore, Boston, New York, Philadelphia, and St. Louis.
Find it at UMD!

Nineteenth century theatre periodicals
Part one "covers theatre periodicals from 1800 to 1897 housed in the British Library, London. Part two ... periodicals issued from 1880, from the British Library Newspaper Library at Colindale. The third part supplies nearly fifty titles from the holdings of the Theatre Museum, London, and the Bodleian, Oxford" --Publisher’s note
Find it at UMD!

The popular stage: drama in nineteenth century England : the Frank Pettingell collection of plays in the Library of the University of Kent at Canterbury.
Series 1. Manuscript and typescript. 
Series 2. Pantomimes. 
Series 3. Printed plays. 

Find it at UMD!

The Meyerhold Theatre, 1920-1938: from the holdings of Russian State Archive of Literature and Art, Moscow, Russia
A collection of finding aids and records documenting the history of the Meyerhold Theatre, 1920-1938 from the holdings of Russian State Archive of Literature and Art in Moscow.
Find it at UMD!

The Free Southern Theater records, 1963-1978
Includes: Administrative series (boxes 1-50), Theater production series (boxes 51-98), General correspondence series (boxes 99-102), Financial records series (boxes 103-156), Oversized material (9 boxes).
Find it at UMD!

A woman’s view of drama, 1790-1830: the diaries of Anna Margaretta Larpent in the Huntington Library.
English Drama
Find it at UMD!

Exhibition of I. Modern French and Russian designs for costume and scenery [and] II. Playbills and prints ; selected examples from the Gabrielle Enthoven Collection.- Victoria and Albert Museum (London, 1948)
Find it at UMD!