ARHU 158: Explorations in Arts and Humanities

Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Multidisciplinary subjects including: social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. 1965- present.

Core American history database now includes unique full-text coverage of nearly 200 journals and 100 books. Information on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 international worldwide. All aspects of historical research. Time span: 1964-present.

Indexes entries at least two pages long in nearly 900 journals and monographic series held in Harvard University's Tozzer Library. These include articles, reports, commentaries, and obituaries. Comprehensive international resource for the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Covers articles published from the late 19th century to the present.

A Comprehensive Resource for Art Information featuring indexing and abstracts from an international array of publications, this database is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more. Over 600 periodicals dating back to 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals Indexing and abstracts of over 13,000 art dissertations Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions. Time span: 1984-present.

Provides indexing, abstracting, and/or full-text of the content, including images, of hundreds of periodicals and books in the areas of art, art history, architecture and architectural history including: archaeology, interior and landscape design, painting, sculpture, printmaking, photography, graphic arts, decorative arts, costume design and antiques. Replaces Art Abstracts (1984-present).

Premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, and including photography. Includes citations and abstracts to English and foreign-language journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and reviews of books and exhibitions. Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art from the late 19th century to the present including painting, drawing, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, performance and installation art, computer and electronic art, conservation and crafts. 1974 to the present, with some entries dating to the late 1960s.

Provides full text and indexing for journals in communication, mass media and other closely-related fields.

Full text database comprised of 175 titles, primarily of the many ongoing periodicals that deal with gender issues, including academic and scholarly journals, regional publications, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, booklets and reports. Subject areas covered include: government, history and politics, lesbian and gay studies, women's studies, and other humanities and social sciences disciplines. Dates of coverage of some publications are 1970 to the present.

Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print archives, and university institutional repositories.
HINT: Search for an important book or article about your research topic in Google Scholar and use the "Cited by" and "Related articles" to locate additional related sources.

Full text for hundreds of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers including The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, and many more. LGBT Life with Full Text also contains many full-text monographs and books including Classics in Lesbian Studies, Gay Science: The Ethics of Sexual Orientation Research, Handbook of Research with Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Populations, Queer Theory & Social Change, and more. Additionally, all relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies is also included. Indexes and abstracts data from more than 80 GLBT-specific core periodicals, over 70 priority periodicals, and over 5,000 select titles. Very multi-disciplinary, with subject areas in social sciences, humanities, and science and medicine. Current coverage of most sources, as well as deep backfiles for key publications.

Indexes journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies published worldwide in the areas of literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore of all countries. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) the database contains millions of citations as well as full text for over 1,000 journals.

The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. This product also contains informative abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals. Further, extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. Contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.

Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Includes journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. Coverage: Covers issues in women's studies including feminist theory and history, family, mental & physical health, prejudice & gender discrimination, law & legislation, employment etc. Time Span:1972 to present; quarterly updates.

Provides coverage of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. International coverage of political science, international relations, law, and public administration and policy. 1975 to the present.