Research Guides: BSST 630: Motivations and Intents of Terrorists and Terrorist Groups: Core Databases

Databases

There are many databases you can use that provide access to journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other types of publications related to terrorists and motivation.

Since you will be using many different databases and search strategies, save time by keeping track of what you are doing! Keep a record of what database/s and search strategies you are using and any revisions.

Make sure to search the Ebsco databases together to remove duplicates. Get into one database (the Academic Search Ultimate database is linked below) and then click on - Choose Databases - and add the others. Please see the Tab labeled Searching Multiple Databases.

Academic Search Ultimate
APA PsycArticles
APA PsycInfo
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
America. History and Life Full Text
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Business Source Complete
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Criminal Justice Abstracts
eBook Collection
eBook Comprehensive Academic Collection
International Political Science Abstracts
Military and Government Collection
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
SocINDEX with Full Text

Depending on the focus, other databases to add include:
Atla Religion Database
Women's Studies International
Family and Society Studies Worldwide

Make sure to search the Proquest databases together to remove duplicates. Get into one database (the PAIS database is linked below) and then click on - Change Databases - and add the others. Please see the tab labeled Searching Multiple Databases.
PAIS
Ethnic Newswatch
GenderWatch
Sociological Abstracts
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Additional non-Ebsco or Proquest databases are listed below

Congressional Publications
Access to the full text of congressional publications. Includes: hearings, legislative histories, committee prints and reports, House and Senate documents, Congressional Record, Serial Set, CRS Reports, bills, public laws, regulations...
Congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, history, and legal research.
Academic Search Ultimate
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. Ebscohost database.
PAIS Index
All aspects of public policy. Proquest database.
JSTOR
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published PRIOR to the MOST CURRENT FIVE YEARS.
Project Muse
Full text of recent issues of over 240 journals from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literary studies, history, the visual & performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many other arts and humanities and social science disciplines.
Web of Science Core Collection
The Web of Science Core Collection provides comprehensive coverage of the sciences, social sciences, and arts, and humanities across journals, books and conference proceedings. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. The best database for finding what papers have cited other papers. Cited references can be traced forward in time. Web of Science Training Materials available here: http://wokinfo.com/training_support/training/web-of-science
Oxford Handbooks: Political science
Extremely useful reference source providing coverage of major topics in political science written by the world's leading scholars. Features include abstracts and keyword searching, reference linking from bibliographies, and footnotes to available online content. The Libraries have purchased the 2012-2022. Click on the unlocked availability option on the left hand side to access the available essays.