Research Guides: Literature Review: Urban and Regional Planning and Design PhD: Statistics

Demographics and Economic/Trade

SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics contains extensive data including demographic, historic census, business, health, real estate, housing, employment, consumer spending, and marketing (over 70,000 variables total). Users can create customized maps and reports; data is down to the census tract level. Click on "Sign in as a guest" to use database. data is available at the State, County, City, ZIP Code, Census Tract and Block Group level as well as custom trade area and the entire United States. Access limited to 5 concurrent users.
Policy Map
Policy Map provides access to over 15,000 indicators related to housing, crime mortgages, health, jobs, demographics, and education from more than 150 authoritative public and proprietary sources \. Data is cleaned and standardized , and updated regularly. the database basic GIS tools to create reports and maps.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
UM members have access to political and social research data through OACS and its membership in ICPSR. ICPSR gathers and stores data for use in research and educational environments. Faculty and students of the University of Maryland may use ICPSR data to support their UM-related research and work.
The Dataverse Network Project

National Wetlands Inventory
United Nations Environment Programme
The Environmental Data Explorer is the authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments.

VBIC
VBIC is a web site that contains a comprehensive collection of electronic and print business resources intended to provide research support to the Robert H. Smith School of Business and general users seeking authoritative business information. This site include links to Internet resources with substantial free offerings and fee-based commercial services that are available to University of Maryland faculty, students and staff through the University of Maryland libraries as well as pointers to print sources available in the University of Maryland libraries. Please note that some resources are limited to University of Maryland students, staff, and faculty.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete contains articles from thousands of newspapers, trade publications, such as the Harvard Business Review and other major key business magazines in all disciplines of business, including economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.