Research Guides: Literature Review: Urban and Regional Planning and Design PhD: Census Resources & Data

FDLP

This is a guide to census information and data collected and produced by the U.S. Federal government. The emphasis is on material available in the University of Maryland Libraries' collections, but some additional sources are also included.

Click one of the tabs above to get started!

Other Sources

SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics contains extensive data including demographic, historic census, business, health, real estate, housing, employment, consumer spending, and marketing (over 70,000 variables total). Users can create customized maps and reports; data is down to the census tract level. Click on "Sign in as a guest" to use database. data is available at the State, County, City, ZIP Code, Census Tract and Block Group level as well as custom trade area and the entire United States. Access limited to 5 concurrent users.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides access to demographic information about the United States from 1790 to the most current dataset. Available data includes census data, data from the public Use Microdata Sample (PUMS), and American Community Survey (ACS) data. The database includes basic GIS tools to create reports, maps, and slide shows.

American Community Survey The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing survey that collects detailed data from people in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico. Years: 2005 - Present
Economic Census
more... less...

The economic census provides a detailed portrait of the United States' economy once every five years, from the national to the local level.

The 2007 Economic Census covers most of the U.S. economy in its basic collection of establishment statistics. There also are several related programs, including statistics on minority- and women-owned businesses. Censuses of agriculture and governments are conducted at the same time.
U.S. Census Bureau Interactive Maps
Interactive mapping tools from the U.S. Census Bureau, including Census Business Builder.
Nonemployer Statistics (NES)
Nonemployer Statistics is an annual series that provides subnational economic data for businesses that have no paid employees and are subject to federal income tax. The data consist of the number of businesses and total receipts by industry. Most nonemployers are self-employed individuals operating unincorporated businesses (known as sole proprietorships), which may or may not be the owner's principal source of income.
Statistics of U.S. Businesses
more... less...

Statistics of U.S. Businesses (SUSB) is an annual series that provides national and subnational data on the distribution of economic data by enterprise size and industry. SUSB covers most of the country's economic activity. The series excludes data on nonemployer businesses, private households, railroads, agricultural production, and most government entities.

Tabulations providing data by employment size of enterprise have been assembled as far back as 1989. The comparability of data over time may be affected by definitional changes in establishments, activity status, and industrial classifications. For more details on these changes, see the section ''Comparability With Other Data.''

These data were developed in cooperation with, and partially funded by, the Office of Advocacy of the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA)
Census of Agriculture
The Census of Agriculture is a complete count of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. The Census of Agriculture, taken only once every five years, looks at land use and ownership, operator characteristics, production practices, income and expenditures.
Measuring America
Cartographic boundary files
Census Geographies
Here you will find most of the Census Bureau's geographic products including maps and geospatial data for legal and statistical boundaries.
National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
Census Bureau History
History of the U.S. Census Bureau, including history of the decennial census, includes info on innovations, good background on the different censuses
2010 SF1 documentation
2010 SF2 documentation

About the Census

Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census by Anderson, Margo J., ed.
Call Number: HA37.U55 C66 2000 (US Government Information Reference)

ISBN: 1568024282

In addition to the decennial census publications, the Census Bureau publishes special subject analyses using decennial census data or reports from other surveys taken in-between decennial censuses. These publications can be identified through the Libraries' Catalog, searching for your topic using "census" as a keyword or limiting to "Bureau of the Census" as author. Many can be found on the 4th floor of McKeldin Library at U.S. Government Information SU Docs C 3.2: and some are available online on the Census Bureau's Special Collections page.

Your Guide to the Federal Census for Genealogists, Researchers, and Family Historians by Hinckley, Kathleen W.
Call Number: HA37.U6 H556 2002 (US Government Information Reference)

ISBN: 1558705880
The History and Growth of the United States Census, Prepared for the Senate Committee on the Census by Wright, Carroll D.
Call Number: Y 4.C 33/2:H 62

Census Tables Explained

Census Tables Explained

Literature Review: Urban and Regional Planning and Design PhD

FDLP

Other Sources

About the Census

Census Tables Explained

Economic Indicators