It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. It is the online equivalent of the print Garland Encyclopedia, which has been the preeminent general reference work for research in ethnomusicology since its publication in 1997, with articles written by acknowledged experts in the field. The print version of the Garland Encyclopedia is available in the Performing Arts Library reference collection.
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published from volume 1, issue 1. Please note, most journals have a “moving wall” (time lag) of three to five years between the most current issue published and content available on JSTOR. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Full-text access to the following standard reference sources: The New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. (11 simultaneous users.) All of these are also available in print in the reference section of the Performing Arts Library. Oxford Music Online is an excellent complement to Classical Music Reference Library (also available through ResearchPort) and the two resources should be used in tandem.
The New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. All of these are also available in print in the reference section of the Performing Arts Library. Oxford Music Online is an excellent complement to Classical Music Reference Library (also available through Database Finder), and the two resources should be used in tandem.
An international bibliography of nearly 500,000 scholarly writings on music and related disciplines in 140 languages. RILM indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, festchriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings and videos, reviews and more.
Encompasses historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, criticism, music therapy, and interdisciplinary studies on music and various other fields, including literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, acoustics, aesthetics, anthropology, sociology, linguistics and semiotics, mathematics, philosophy, physiology, psychology, and physics. 1967 - present.
ISBNs are not part of a searchable field in this database.
Do not attempt to search on authors by truncating the first name. Last, F? will often result in zero hits. Try searching on Last or Last, First
RIPM is the primary research tool for accessing 19th- and early 20th- century periodical literature on music. The resource provides an annotated index to over 135 important journals, with more than half being available as full-text. New titles are added every 6 months. The journals covered are in 14 different languages and originate chiefly from Europe and North America.
Why is This Important?
Online sources with integrity can be very helpful for your research. You can find a variety of recent information in journal articles and you can also use larger sources that are subject specific like Garland World Music.