It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a comprehensive guide to research on the American composer Elliott Carter (b. 1908), widely acknowledged as one of the greatest composers of the twentieth century. It contains a chronology, complete list of works, detailed discography, and fully annotated bibliography of over 1,000 books, articles, interviews, video recordings, and Carter's own writings. This essential reference book covers the most significant works in English, French, German, and Italian, from the 1940s-when Carter's music first began to attract attention-to the 1990s.
Aaron Copland (1900-1990) is generally considered the most popular and well-known composer of American art music, and yet little scholarly attention has been paid to Copland since the 1950s. This volume begins with a portrait of the composer and an evaluation of significant research trends which is intended to fill a void and to suggest directions for further research. The guide also provides a section discussing Copland's interdisciplinary interests, such as ballet and film work, as well as a comprehensive bibliography of writings about Copland and his music.
Paul Hindemith never accepted the complete engagement with social issues suggested in the writings of Brecht, but he developed many of his ideas regarding the place of an artist in the thirties and forties, his music eventually gaining official disapproval. His strong opinions about musical composition make him a particularly interesting subject and this research guide will provide a complete bibliography of works to guide the scholar and student.
This is a comprehensively annotated guide to all the significant literature on the American composer Charles Ives (1874-1954). It includes English and foreign-language books, monographs, articles, chapters, dissertations and masters' theses.
This is a guide to research on the great composer, Maurice Ravel. It includes over 2000 annotated entries of the scholarly literature on Ravel, including catalogues, facsimilies of autographs, music editions, textual criticism, bibliographies, monographs, articles, and dissertations covering his life and music.
The online guide to the Roger Reynolds Collection at the Library of Congress describes works of a composer whose creative life continues in the 21st century.