It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This new volume incorporates all entries from the previous editions by Arthur Wenk, expanding to cover writings drawn from periodicals, theses, dissertations, books, and Festschriften from 1940 to 2000. Over 9,000 references to analyses of works by over 1,000 composers of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries are included.
Comprehensive database of original works written for the standard string quartet during the twentieth century. The sources of information include publishers' list, music reference materials, data from national music information centers, programmes, composers' correspondence and other publicity materials. Lawrence lists countries that have produced string quartets throughout the century, as well as the context of a composer's string-quartet output within the wider range of his/her work. Lawrence's book is a solid, comprehensive basis for investigation, welcome in universities and conservatories, as well as in any music enthusiast's library.
A unique, comprehensive guide to Danish music, this book furnishes an extensive annotated bibliography and a directory of all organizations, institutions, and facilities in the world pertaining to 20th century Danish music. The bibliography includes printed media of composers, music, music theories, musical developments, and general musical life in Denmark in the 20th century with an emphasis on the post-Nielsen era (1931-present). This valuable reference tool encompasses books, reference sources, bibliographies, catalogs, discographies, journals, periodicals and articles in all languages, as well as rare and out-of-print editions of historical significance. The research directory is an annotated register of all organizations connected with Danish concert music, such as information services, research facilities, music organizations, and professional associations. An up-to-date directory and bibliography, this resource on Danish music is an invaluable tool benefitting musicology, ethnomusicology, and Scandinavian studies scholars and professionals as well as musicians and students interested in Danish music. In addition to the resource information provided, the text includes an overview of Danish music and historical background on influential figures and musical developments.
Presenting a view of the 20th-century music avant-garde without resorting to highly specialized jargon, this work offers an exhaustive history and analysis of contemporary music in a social, political, and artistic context. Distinguished contributors from around the world consider specific composers who represent the most progressive musical thinking of their time and place. Editor Larry Sitsky, an eminent Australian composer and teacher, has assembled an accessible, unique, and clearly written collection. Also exploring the links among this diverse group of composers, the guide offers a cross-index of names that will help the researcher formulate a cohesive view of the 20th-century avant-garde. A bibliography and list of selected works round out the volume, which succeeds in demystifying an area that, until now, has been the exclusive province only of the specialist.