Research Guides: Theatre & Performance Studies Research Guide: Costume

Journals & Databases

TD&T (Theatre Design and Technology)
USITT Publication
Go to Image Databases via UMD Libraries
This includes image databases ranging from specific topics to general collections.

A list of bibliographies created in WorldCat UM for costuming resources available in the UM Libraries.

Cornell Costume & Textile Collection
Costumer's Manifesto
Free website devoted to costume craft - good resource for educational and community theatres.
Drexel Digital Museum Project: Historic Costume Collection
"A searchable database of archival data and detailed graphics for the Drexel Historic Costume Collection, housed in the Antoinette Westphal College of Media Arts & Design, Drexel University."
Textile Museum & Library (DC)
Victoria & Albert: Textile & Fashion Collection
Direct link to the Textile & Fashion catalog.
The MET's Costume Institute
The Costume Institute's collection of more than thirty-three thousand objects represents seven centuries of fashionable dress and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.

Costume Society of America
OISTAT Costume Working Group
International Organization of Scenographers, Theatre Architects and Technicians (OISTAT)
USITT
United States Institute for Theatre Technology
IATSE
International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees - a stage workers union
Prague Quadrennial
Prague Quadrennial of Performance Design and Space

Relevant Library of Congress Subject Headings for Costuming:

Clothing and dress (works on the utilitarian aspects of clothing, including works on how to dress)
Costume (works on clothing treated as an artistic object, as well as works on clothing created for the stage, screen, or special events)
Costume design
Costume designers
Dressmaking
Pattern design
Patterns
Fashion
Tailoring