This section seeks to provide some guidance one of many effective ways of getting started on your research into medieval studies. The method used here takes full advantage of the databases available to you through the University Library. Hopefully these resources will prove helpful in formulating your own research plan.
Step 1: Finding an area to research through Oxford Bibliographies.
This is probably the best source to go to for getting started on a research topic. Oxford bibliographies provides a comprehensive but still usable list of secondary sources for a broad array of different subcategories of medieval topics. These bibliographic lists are arranged alphabetically by subject. I would advise going to this database first when initially looking for scholarship, as it will provide some of the more important sources available for a given topic.
Example of Use: After looking for the Hundred Years War on Oxford Bibliographies you decide to write your paper on the origins of the war, you find Clifford Rogers, War Cruel and Sharp: English Strategy under Edward III, 1327-1360, under the section on the Origins of the War in the bibliography as well as some other texts. With these, you have a good group of books that provide an overview on the topic.
Step 2: Use the University Library to find the books and articles you need and acquire them. Between the Library's collection and InterLibrary Loan most of the sources you need can be found.
Step 3: Fill out your research with the specific articles and books you still want to find through the International Medieval Bibliography.
This is a more complicated and comprehensive database for the medieval period. Unlike the oxford bibliography, which provides valuable ways to get started on understanding a particular topic, International Medieval bibliography is ideal for searching out articles on a wider range of topics to round out your research. It has a very robust search engine that, while more complicated to use than Oxford Bibliographies, allows you to narrow your search to find just what you want.
Example of use: With the information you found in Oxford bibliographies you now need very specific information about certain individuals and events. You could then come to International Medieval Bibliography and conduct a search on the different succession laws and find articles that provide those details.
