Research Guides: Fearless Teaching in the UMD Libraries: Teaching Resources

Teaching Resources

ABL Connect
From Harvard University, ABL Connect is a database of interactive lesson plans for college students. The lesson plans are divided by activity type, learning goal, and subject area.
ACRL Inclusive Pedagogy Toolkit
Created by the ALA Emerging Leaders Class of 2022, these are resources to promote understanding and adoption of inclusive pedagogy.
ACRL Sandbox
From ACRL, the ACRL Sandbox is an open access database of lesson plans and activities related to the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy.
CORA (Community of Online Research Assignments)
Open access database for lesson plans and teaching resources for college students.
MERLOT
A curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder web pages, together with associated comments, and personal collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.
PRIMO (Peer-Reviewed Instructional Materials Online Database)
Open access database including tutorials, lesson plans, and other tools from libraries.
UMD Libraries' Information Literacy Toolkit
This guide is intended to support University of Maryland faculty, instructors, and teaching assistants in incorporating information literacy into their courses.

ClassroomQ
Online tool for students to submit questions in real-time to a queue.
Google for Education
Learn about how to utilize the tools in the Google Suite for education purposes.
GoSoapBox
Web-based clicker tool with features such as a confusion barometer, real-time polls, and formative assessment.
H5P
Online interactive content that can be embedded into Canvas; content types include interactive presentations, branching scenarios, drag-the-words, and more.
Kahoot!
Online game-based learning platform; great for in-class knowledge checks or quizzes.
Mentimeter
Online polling software; great for in-class temperature checks and in-class polls.
Mindmup
Online concept mapping tool.
Padlet
Online collaborative bulletin board software.
Quizizz
Gamified quizzes and interactive content such as image hotspots, multiple choice, and drag and drop.

Slides

Canva
Online graphic design platform to create flyers, slides, and more.
SlidesCarnival
Free PowerPoint templates and Google Slides.
Slidesgo
Free PowerPoint templates and Google Slides.

Images

Smithsonian Open Access
Free, open access images from the Smithsonian.
Unsplash
Free, high-resolution, open source images.

ACRL Information Literacy in the Disciplines Guide
Guide published by ACRL with links and citations to information literacy standards and resources about providing information literacy instruction for the discplines.
ACRLog
Blog for academic and research librarians published by ACRL.
Active Learning Library
List of different active learning activities to use in class. Activities are filterable by difficulty, prep time required, class size, and more.
Chronicle of Higher Education
A news organization dedicated to news in higher education. Articles include current issues in higher education and teaching tips.
Cult of Pedagogy
Website and blog about teaching. While mostly geared toward K-12 education, many of the blog posts and resources are applicable to higher education.
Ditch That Textbook
Website and blog about how to use technology tools in the classroom. Many free resources available on the website.
Faculty Focus
Website with higher education teaching strategies and teaching resources.
Free Technology for Teachers
Blog by Richard Byrne highlighting new tools in education technology.
Information Literacy Weblog
Curation of information literacy articles and stories by Sheila Webber.
Instructional Technologies Tips and Trends
Created by the ACRL Instructional Technologies Committee, Tips and Trends discusses technology which can be applied in the library instruction setting.
Teaching and Learning Toolbox
Blog and resources about teaching and learning for college students. The resources list includes various Ed-Tech tools.

The Librarian's Guide to Teaching
Podcast by two instruction librarians sharing their experiences teaching information literacy, discussing current trends, and having meaningful conversations about librarianship.
LibVoices
Librarians of color speak to the fullness of their careers including successes, challenges, and achievements.
Teaching in Higher Education Podcast
Hosted by Bonni Stachowiak, The Teaching in Higher Education Podcast is a weekly podcast focusing on topics such as excellence in teaching, instructional design, open education, diversity and inclusion, productivity, creativity in teaching, educational technology, and blended learning.

Library Juice Academy
Online professional development courses for librarians, archivists, and other staff, focusing on practical topics to build new skills.
UMD TLTC
The University of Maryland Teaching & Learning Transformation Center hosts regular workshops for instructors about different topics in teaching and learning.

Pedagogy

Critical Library Instruction by Emily Drabinski (Editor); Alana Kumbier (Editor); Maria Accardi (Editor)
ISBN: 1936117010
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Feminist Pedagogy for Library Instruction by Maria Accardi
ISBN: 193611755X
Publication Date: 2015-02-15

Teaching Practice

Curriculum-Based Library Instruction: From Cultivating Faculty Relationships to Assessment by Amy Blevins (Editor); Megan Inman (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781442231665
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Fundamentals of Library Instruction by Monty L. McAdoo
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780838994153
Publication Date: 2012-04-09
The Library Instruction Cookbook by Ryan Sittler; Douglas Cook
Call Number: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks - Z711.25.C65 L53 2009
ISBN: 9780838985113
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
Maximizing the One-Shot: Connecting Library Instruction with the Curriculum by Jill Markgraf, Kate Hinnant, Eric Jennings, Hans Kishel
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781442238671
Publication Date: 2015
The One-Shot Library Instruction Survival Guide by Heidi E. Buchanan; Beth A. McDonough
ISBN: 9780838949979
Publication Date: 2014
Transforming Academic Library Instruction: Shifting Teaching Practices to Reflect Changed Perspectives by Amanda Nichols Hess
Call Number: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks - Z711.25.C65 H47 2018
ISBN: 9781538110522
Publication Date: 2018-09-25
Creating Online Tutorials: A Practical Guide for Librarians by Hannah Gascho Rempel; Maribeth Slebodnik
ISBN: 9781538177884
Publication Date: 2024-03-15

Carterette Series Webinars
Part of the Georgia Library Association, the Carterette Series Webinars highlighting trends, innovation, and best practices in libraries.
LILi - Lifelong Information Literacy
A group of librarians, library staff, and information professionals from various types of libraries, investigating information literacy definitions, standards, and instruction, in order to craft effective models of lifelong, sequential information literacy instruction; offers regular show-and-tell webinars on library instruction and other information literacy concepts.
LIS Pedagogy Chat
A community of practice for faculty and practitioners who teach in LIS. LIS Pedagogy Chat meets online on alternate Fridays for informal discussion and idea sharing.