Research Guides: SPAN 407- Early Modern US and Early Modern Spain: A Common History: Citing &amp; Preparing Annotated Bibliography

Citing Your Sources

Consult the style manuals below for the most complete information on how to cite your sources. The web pages below may also provide helpful information and examples:

Citation Tools
Includes a link to OWL at Purdue's website which includes guides for the most commonly used styles, including the MLA.
Citation Management Tools
Online bibliographic management program that allows users to create a personal database of references and generate bibliographies in a variety of formats. Users must sign up for an individual account. You can also meet with a citation management specialist. See the "Schedule Consultation" link to schedule an appointment.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) MLA Style
Includes the MLA Formatting and Style Guide.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) APA Style
Includes the APA Formatting and Style Guide.
MLA Style Center:: Works Cited a Quick Guide
A quick guide to the 2016, 8th edition of the MLA Handbook
Annotated Bibliographies
OWL: Purdue Online Writing Lab guide to preparing annotated bibliographies
Organizing Your Research
Strategies and tools from the Research Commons that can help you keep track of high level research.

Print Style Manuals

Ask for copies of these style manuals at the Reference Desk.

The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Staff (Editor)
Call Number: McKeldin Library Reference Desk Z253 .U69 2010 and Ebbok
Publication Date: 2010
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: McKeldin Library Reference Desk LB2369 .G53 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed. by American Psychological Association (APA)
Call Number: McKeldin Library Reference Desk BF76.7 .P83 2010
Publication Date: 2010