Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The 120 Initiative

Resource guide from the University of Maryland Libraries in to support the University's initiative to combat gun violence

Databases - Journal Articles

There are several databases that are part of the EbscoHost platform useful for locating articles on solutions to gun violence:
Academic Search Ultimate
Criminal Justice Abstracts
MasterFILE Premier
Medline
National Criminal Justice Service Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts
You will want to search the databases together to remove duplicates. 
Get into one database such as Academic Search Ultimate (Linked below) and then once in, click on - choose databases - and add the others. See screen shot below

Once in the databases, try this search:
"gun violence"
and
solution* or prevention or reduce or reduction

 

Too many hits?
Refine the search:
Left Hand side:
Peer Reviewed
Date
Language
Document Type

Search Boxes:
Change the Search Field from - Select a Field - to - Ab Abstract

 

EbscoHost Choose Databases

There are several databases that are part of the ProQuest platform useful for locating articles on solutions to gun violence:
PAIS
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Public Health Database
Sociological Abstracts

You will want to search the databases together to remove duplicates. 
Get into one database such as PAIS (Linked below) and then once in, click on - change  databases - and add the others. See screen shot below

Once in the databases, try this search:
"gun violence"
and
solution* or prevention or reduce or reduction

Too many hits?
Refine the search:
Left Hand side:
Peer Reviewed
Source Type
Date
Language

Search Boxes
Change the search box from - Anywhere- to either Anywhere except full text - NOFT OR Abstract - AB

ProQuest Change Databases